Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
rogueshadow Reviewed Buffy on September 24, 2017 02:28pm

Just finished reading the whole thing. Loved it. Excellent characterization for everyone. I did enjoy her essentially going on all "Winter Soldier" at first. Even if there was no Captain America to help regain get memories, lol. Although technically I suppose that was a bit of a group effort that required laser removal than just slowly gaining all the memories back. But still! I loved this plot! Thank you for writing and sharing it.

I really enjoyed the fact Buffy wasn't getting better right away and had to slowly figure things out for herself and what she wanted. And the fact there was never any improvement on her memories was really interesting aspect. Loved the different POVs for each chapter, was great to see different perspectives on everything. The reunion between Buffy and Spike was perfect for this story. It's emotionally hard but very very real. But what I really enjoyed about this story was how Buffy started a fairly normal life (with added vampire slaying), and decided to go to college but still has no idea what to do with herself. Even after getting get memories back, she kept that and graduated. It's not stated explicitly but throughout the story she's not needed for being the Slayer (exception being the battle in Los Angeles aside) because there are other slayers, and that's just what she deserves, to have that normal life even if it includes the occasional late night patrol. So I really enjoyed her getting a slice of normalcy in her life. It's so very hopeful at the end.

[Report This]
Jhill Reviewed Buffy on August 15, 2017 07:34am Liked

I sooo love this. I feel like this is the first time I've read a story where Buffy got to discover herself. I love the journey and the different perspectives and especially loved the happy ending. 

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Buffy on June 21, 2017 04:26am

 Absolutely great reading your story again - wonderful treatment on all the characters and the events from the series.  Lindsey was a difficult character to feel much sympathy for but he was true to his character in the series and he did eventually do the right thing with his self-sacrifice.  All in All a wonderful post Sunnydale story - 

[Report This]
infinitecrisis Reviewed Buffy on April 01, 2017 01:01am

 I am surprised.. I was thinking about bitter Buffy and Spike ending.. Thank you for not doing that.. 

Author's Response on April 02, 2017 11:19pm

Thanks.  :)

[Report This]
LavenderBlue Reviewed Buffy on August 29, 2016 12:41am Liked

flowers 

Author's Response on March 16, 2017 05:34am

Thank you (belatedly)! :)

[Report This]
gello5440 Reviewed Buffy on August 07, 2016 03:20pm Liked

Such a well told story. I admire your  writing and well constructed plots. Very much enjoyed.

Author's Response on March 16, 2017 05:34am

*is super behind on reviews*

Thank you so very much!  :)

[Report This]
DeamonQueen Reviewed Buffy on May 23, 2016 03:39pm Liked

Beautiful end to a very interesting fic! I loved happy endings and I am glad that thi one had such an ending! Great job! and again thank you for sharing this fic!

Author's Response on May 24, 2016 05:13pm

Thank you so much!  I'm glad you enjoyed.  :)  And thank you for all the reviews along the way!!!

[Report This]
Texdoc Reviewed Buffy on January 30, 2016 09:42pm

You know it's a good story when you don't want it to end. Telling the story from the the point of view of different characters was nicely done. I like the way you slowly develop relationships. It feels more authentic. Your use of Lindsey was fantastic. He is an interesting, if somewhat flawed, character. I also enjoyed the relationship between Angel and Spike. Their interaction in the final season of Angel was some of the best moments. Thank you for sharing your very entertaining stories!

Author's Response on February 01, 2016 05:55am

I had a lot of fun learning to write from all different POVs, hard though it was, so I'm glad it came across well.  Slow and authentic is important to me.  And I really learned to love Lindsey while writing this; I hadn't thought about him much beforehand.

Spangel tried hard to take over the story, but I managed to rein them in.  :)  Thanks so much!

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Buffy on December 07, 2015 06:30pm Liked

Aww. :))

Author's Response on December 10, 2015 04:01am

Yay!  Thanks for reading, and thanks for reviewing just about every chapter!  You've definitely earned your reviewer badge this month!  I very much appreciated hearing your thoughts along the way.  :)

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Buffy on November 08, 2015 01:18pm

Wonderful story and use of Lindsey and the events post the destruction of the Hellmouth and Sunnydale and the Angel take down of the CoTBT - your depiction of Lindsey was excellent.  He was fundamentally the powerful ambitious and selfish man who could occassionally find that sliver of good that was left in him that could change his life patterns for a limited time. 

I thought your treatment of Spike was also very good - I like the restrained quality you used for him - we know that he is feeling huge amounts of pain with Buffy's altered perceptions of him but his emotional responses were mostly kept under control and away from public display.  I liked that treatment for Spike it was an effective contrast to Buffy's more public display of her extreme emotional trauma and her "run now" way of dealing with her loss of memories and past life. 

Look forward to reading more of your works. 

Author's Response on November 20, 2015 01:29am

I was always ambivalent about Lindsey, but fell in love with him while writing this story.  I know if even Lorne condemned him as irredeemable, he probably was (in canon), but it's so hard to accept in a show whose theme is redemption.

Spike got to have some time to mature and deal with his issues before having to interact with Buffy and hers, so that was beneficial for both of them.  Poor Buffy, always getting traumatized by somebody.  :(

Thank you!

[Report This]
Marie516 Reviewed Buffy on October 24, 2015 07:19pm Liked

Loved this story!!

Author's Response on October 24, 2015 05:10pm

Thank you so much! :)

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Buffy on October 13, 2015 08:24pm Liked

And here we are at the end Cry. I like how Buffy still needs to discover herself even though she knows who she is now. 

I know your goal was to explore characterization through the different POVs, and I think you definitely succeeded there. I think this story was at its best when we learned something new based on one character's experience. It was fun to see how different things could be just based on perception.

I don't know how people write long, drawn out reviews. I'm pretty much tapped out with occasional snark and random thoughts. If nothing else, at least I got to be#300 :). 

Author's Response on October 13, 2015 05:48pm

Yeah, I really didn't think Buffy would know who she was just because she had her memories back.  She actually made the most progress towards that without them, which I thought was neat (not like I planned it that way or anything).

I love love love it when characters see things differently.  As the author, you know everything, so it's easy to forget that the characters don't.  And that's not how real life works either.  It was another thing I really wanted to work on, so I'm glad you enjoyed it!

I'm terrible at reviews, so I understand.  I'm just happy to know people are reading.  And yay #300.  And #330, that sort of nice and even-ish.  (If you hurry you can be #100 on Heart Clogging! :))

Thank you!!!!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Buffy on October 08, 2015 10:21am Liked

Applause

I liked very much this story! All the characters are very very well written! And the happy ending was perfect! 

Author's Response on October 08, 2015 03:55pm

Getting the character voices right was my main goal, so thank you!  I'm glad you enjoyed the ending.

Thanks for reviewing along the way; it's wonderful to get so many reviews after the story is over!  :D

[Report This]
kerry220 Reviewed Buffy on September 29, 2015 01:38am Liked

That was an excellent read. Great use of minor character and I just loved the Monks! I really liked the alternating POV's  too. Might have to read Anaross again :-)

Congrats too on managing to give everyone the time they deserved. I'm not much of a fan of character bashing, so it's refreshing to see none. Even Lindsey came out a bit of a lopsided hero. Well done.

id have loved to see Buffy's last visit to Angel fleshed out a bit. It's a big ask, in my opinion, for Buffy to actually move on from him and I'm always fascinated to see how authors handle it. But this is a minor thing and you gave enough so the reasoning held up.

thanks for sharing.

Author's Response on October 04, 2015 09:48pm

One should *always* read Anaross again, in my opinion.  ;)

I love well-rounded, 3D characters, and my primary goal when writing is always characterization, so thank you.  It's my favorite thing to hear - makes all those hours of agonizing over it worth it!

Heh, I really, really don't enjoy writing "Buffy leaves Angel" scenes.  They always get glossed over!  :)

Thanks so much!  :D

[Report This]
SoaringClaws Reviewed Buffy on September 13, 2015 05:24pm

Excellent story! Some of the middle chapters were a bit slow, since things were being re-shown from a different character's POV when I just really wanted to know what was happening with Buffy, but that was just impatience on my part and I liked getting a view into everyone's crazy brains. So many feels for Dawn! I nearly cried when Buffy finally decided to stick with her and rebuild their sisterly bond again.

The amnesia was interesting, because it broke down all of the built up conceptions of Buffy and what she would do after Sunnydale, and gave us the raw bits of her personality twisted up with new experiences. I think you nailed it. She's a bit stubborn and judgemental and flees when things get emotional, but she's also compassionate and introspective and willing to change her mind about people. I loved seeing her rebuild her life and reconnect with people before her memories were restored. 

Author's Response on September 15, 2015 05:28pm

I'd meant this story to be more action-y plot, but as always, it turned into character exploration and development.  One of these days I'll figure out how to write an action-based plot.  :)

Buffy is definitely all those things.  She's very reserved and reluctant to take people into her heart.  But once she does, there's nothing she won't do.  

Thanks so much!

[Report This]
spuffy forever Reviewed Buffy on August 27, 2015 04:53am

Hello, i loved this story with all its up and downs in the spuffy relationship. Even without her memorys Buffy falls in love with Spike all over again.

Very good caracterisation of Lindsey with his morality issues, he can't be good, because in all his actions there has to be something in it for him and he can't be the big bad, because of his pesky conscience.

Nice original character with Roland

Author's Response on August 27, 2015 06:00pm

Yes, that's pretty much what I was going for with Lindsey!  And I'm glad you liked Roland - he wouldn't go away, no matter how much I tried to ignore him.  :)

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

[Report This]
CupcakeCute Reviewed Buffy on August 22, 2015 05:27am

And I am finished! Sorry I didn't stop to review, this was a page turner :) I loved this story and how unique it was. I've never read an amnesia fic like it. The slow burn and the realistic development was amazing. Thanks for sharing this!

Author's Response on August 22, 2015 04:40am

My goal was to write something different, so yay!  :)  Thank you!

[Report This]
pinkbox Reviewed Buffy on August 17, 2015 11:30am

I wasn't as into the first few chapters after Sunnydale collapsed. Probably because I didn't really follow AtS. But I persevered because I really likeD the premise of the story and I am so glad I did. I really felt Buffy''s struggle in trying to reconcile amnesiac!Buffy with the buffy everyone else remembers. Spike as usual is awesome. Steadfast, loyal but still 5he Big bad. Great work! :)

Author's Response on August 17, 2015 04:45pm

I'm glad you were able to stick with it.  It was something I enjoyed exploring.  Thank you!  :D

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Buffy on August 16, 2015 02:47am Liked

So glad that everything worked out. And I love that it was Buffy, who had to pursue and re-convince Spike. Not that spike was too hard to convince, but still glad he made her work for it at leat a bit.

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:48pm

Thank you! :)

[Report This]
badgervamp Reviewed Buffy on August 15, 2015 12:54pm Liked

Thanks to one of my favourite authors for once again providing us with such an original, fascinating, enjoyable and eminently satisfying read.  As usual, the plot and characterisation were both strong, with the slow, steady reveals keeping us intrigued and engaged along the way.  Loved the ending - it really rounded out Buffy's journey thus far.  Thank you xxx

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:45pm

Aw!  *blushes*  Thank you! 

[Report This]
Piper057 Reviewed Buffy on August 14, 2015 09:05pm

Noooo, I'm so sad this fascinating story is over!

Perfect ending, indeed.

Always hope for something new:)

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:45pm

Nothing (long) in the works right now, but maybe.  :)   Thanks you!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Buffy on August 14, 2015 01:00pm Liked

Perfect conclusion. Bow

The best endings always the first step towards a new beginning.   Squee

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:44pm

Very true.  Thank you!  And thanks for being my beta! :)

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Buffy on August 14, 2015 12:01pm

It was good to see Buffy's thoughts, how she had to understand who she was after all the different memories. How she started to reconnect with her friends even if they had grown apart. Her normal issues had returned and made her scared to talk with Spike. I'm glad he didn't started to talk, but forced Buffy to say her things. 

A good ending and a glimps into what looks oike a good near future.

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:43pm

Thanks, Magnus!  :)

[Report This]
Amayuscula Reviewed Buffy on August 14, 2015 10:00am Liked

ApplauseApplause

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:42pm

Thank you! :D

[Report This]
the_moonmoth Reviewed Buffy on August 14, 2015 08:54am Liked

Waaah, I can't believe it's over! Just a great story and such a lovely ending.

Her body had climbed out of that crater.

But she hadn't.

Talk about a gut punch.

Returning home to Dawn after her panicked flight to Sunnydale had been emotional, but simple. Like slipping a favorite jacket over a cute new top, and finding the combination was even better than as separates.

Lovely.

The three of them had grown apart, even Willow from Xander, and it was painful to realize that the new distance between them was a much a part of growing up as it was the result of her memory loss. 

 

And again. This story asked the question, who are they without Buffy? and here is the answer. It happens to everyone, of course, but here it is esp poignant.

"Spike is many things," Buffy said. "But I don't think he's ever been just Spike." 

<3

One of the things I've enjoyed most about this story is the character voices, and how they reveal each character's flaws and biases. Poor Spike, I really felt sorry for him that Buffy didn't really seem to realise what a mangle she'd put him through the last few weeks, but of course that's totally IC, and resulted in him making her say everything out loud which is good for both of them. I like that Buffy felt no more resolved about her life post-memories as pre, that felt realistic abd in keeping with the tone of the story as a whole. Spike was right, that's how life is, but when you're sure about something you have to take it, and he's the one thing she's sure of, and she did :)

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 03:02pm

The bits about reconnecting with Dawn and Scoobs got expanded on a fair bit before I posted.  I'm always happy when edited bits get quoted - makes me feel like I was right to edit.  :)  

I think what's interesting is that in the end, other than moving to where Buffy's not, nobody's very different without her.  The impact she had on all of them is firmly in place.  But *they* maybe got to realize who they were.  

One of my big goals was to learn to explore the different character voices, and write from POVs other than Buffy & Spike.  So I get a thrill whenever somebody says I done good.  :)

Ooh, that's a good way of putting it - the one thing she's sure of is Spike.  I hadn't quite thought of it in those terms, but that's exactly right.

Thank you!  And thanks for reviewing along the way! 

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Buffy on August 14, 2015 06:27am Liked

Very satisfying end.  Buffy has her past all together and her present fairly settled but the future wide open.  The one sure thing is it will include Spike.  

I'm glad she got why Spike was so hurt and equally glad she made him understand why she saved him for last (although it had to hurt knowing she at least tried to build something with Angel even if it was quickly abandoned.)  

Loved the entire story and the way you chose to tell it.  THank you for sharing it with us.  FlowersBowBravo

 

Kahtleen

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:53pm

I think for Spike that little bit of hurt will be better than always wondering if Buffy's always wondering 'what if'.  He needs closure more than she does, probably.  :p

Thanks so much!  And thanks for reviewing along the way!  :D

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Buffy on August 14, 2015 05:30am Liked

Squee

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:42pm

Thank you! :)

[Report This]
fyreburned Reviewed Buffy on August 14, 2015 05:00am Liked

Great ending for a long and incredible journey of discovery. Though I really didn't quite like it at first, and for some time wasn't really sure of the direction in which the story was going, but in the end it was a very good tale. Thanks for such a good read!

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:42pm

Thanks!

[Report This]
nojiri23 Reviewed Buffy on August 14, 2015 02:19am Liked

Awesome!

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:41pm

Thanks! :D

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Buffy on August 14, 2015 01:34am

And it's done - I'll miss this universe!  congratulations hon!  It feels like you finished something momenteous.

 

It was the journey that mattered, not the destination. And her companions along the way were what mattered most of all.

 

Yes, that's all we have really isn't it? Everything would be so much easier if there was a destination but all the careful planning in the world can't save us from the certainty of chaos and uncertainty.  

Now I'm curious what Buffy got her degree in - poetry? that's the only subject i know of that she loves.NOt that's it's a solution to anything ( a college degree doesn't guarantee you jobs, a career, etc) but it's something she wanted to do for herself. Can you get a degree in poetry at King's College? I wonder what the future holds for her - reclaimimg her identity as (Matriarchal) Slayer but on her own terms this time?

 

Joyce would be very proud of both her little girls. *sniffle*

There was something very spare about the scene at the crater, less angsty than I would have imagined and I liked it this way, it felt right. Xander joking about Air Willow was aces.  Spot-on Xander. Part of me wanted that scene to go on longer, wanted more of that interaction. but I know that you made it the right length because there was nothing else to be said. Buffy needed some time to readjust. Hopefully she's learning to balance the need for her loved ones with the need for privacy and time alone - and they're learning to respect those needs too. It sounds like it.  Having lives of their own is a healthy thing.

I wonder what happened to Faith. I'm not surprised she and xander didn't last, I think they were like Willow and kennedy - someone to rebound with.

Now I want to know what Browyn whispered - we never get to see Buffy interact with her, she's just Willow's lover, the way Tara was once just Willow's lover. Your OC's here are marvelous characters who I want to know more about in their own right. (Including Yasamin, who I love just on the basis of her name.)

I loved the dialogue and interactions throughout this chapter.  Dawn was marvelous - she felt as though a bit of S6 Tara had rubbed off on her, or Tara as she was becoming, no-nonsense and slightly maternal. The tables have turnd a bit  Buffy was Dawn's caretaker in S5-7, the one making sure she was fed (even if it meant she didn't take care of herself), so it's nice to see Dawn feeding Buffy and putting her to bed. Summers sisters bonding + Buffy being fed and taken care of is like cocaine squared - highly addictive stuff for me.

Does Buffy tug at the hem of her shirt in the series? I remember her crossing her arms a lot but not the hem-tugging. NOw I feel like a rewatch of the last three seasons is in order to refresh my memory.

 was now at the University of Cyprus studying antiquities.

I can totally see her doing that - and completely shaking up hidebound academia from the inside, just like her sister shook up the hidebound WC. Except with less explosions and destruction.

"An' I'm telling you it was the equivalent of an attendance award. I'll not be disgracing my rep with that, thank you."

*LOL*

Author's Response on August 16, 2015 02:41pm

:)

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.