Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
DeamonQueen Reviewed Xander on May 23, 2016 03:14pm Liked

 Nice! I loved sensitive Xander. And I loved the optimism you placed in him! You're Xander is so grown up and I just loe him! Two more chapters to go and my heart is with the pounding becaue I am excited to e how you plan to end this fic! Gonna read th nxt one now! to find out!

Author's Response on May 24, 2016 05:12pm

Xander (along with so many of the other men in BtVS) often gets a bad rap in Spuffy fanfic, which I find disappointing.  If you have to turn other characters into evil parodies of themselves to make your favorite look like the hero, that doesn't say much for your favorite.  Anyhow, I'm glad you like this Xander.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Xander on October 13, 2015 01:25pm Liked

It's good to see Xander maturing, with the helpful supportivness, and not maturing, with the one-eye jokes. At his best, it was easy to see why Xander was the heart of the group (even though he wasn't always at his best), so it's nice to see that here. 

Author's Response on October 13, 2015 04:20pm

Xander is just sort of amazing when you consider his family, his life, his lack of superpowers, and the things he's had to deal with.  He's not perfect, but he's *real*.  Thank you! :)

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Xander on October 08, 2015 08:59am Liked

I like the chapter! Xander has become a wise and understanding man thanks to his experiences. He has always had the potential, but he was too immature and had too many prejudices.

Author's Response on October 08, 2015 03:53pm

Thanks!

[Report This]
kfocht Reviewed Xander on August 10, 2015 08:41pm Liked

Love it more more more please!

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 07:13pm

Soon!  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
bewildered Reviewed Xander on August 09, 2015 10:50pm Liked

Darnit, I was hoping by the time I made it to the end of Chapter 26 you would have had pity on us and posted 27. In any case, I am REALLY enjoying this, love the characterizations and POV especially! It's very hard for me to read post-Chosen fics without getting annoyed by the Scoobies (the writers really went Full Jerk with them in s7) but you kept them both clearly in-canon and still allowed them to grow back into decent human beings, so I really appreciate and enjoy that. I am super excited to read the conclusion, and then imma read it through again before leaving my final thoughts.

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 07:13pm

We'll be complete by the end of this week, I promise (there's actually 28 chapters now because I inserted an extra one along the way).  I'm glad you're enjoying the revolving POVs, and characterization is my raison d'etre, so it's always nice to hear others are appreciating.  :)

Thanks!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Xander on August 09, 2015 09:39pm Liked

That was very cool that little insert of Xander's visit to the gravesite it added more to this chapter and I have to say so very Xander and insightful sometimes the two do meet. 

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 07:08pm

Heh, I wrote that little ficlet long before this story, but it seemed obvious it was part of the same story and had to be included somehow.  :)

Thanks!

[Report This]
Amayuscula Reviewed Xander on August 09, 2015 01:47pm Liked

Applause

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 07:08pm

Woo!  Thanks!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Xander on August 09, 2015 11:20am Liked

I just love Xander being the voice of reason here. Shows how much he has grown up and his true friendship for Buffy.

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 07:07pm

Xander gets lots of those voice-of-reason moments in canon, and it makes me sad when he's relagated to nothing but the petty, jealous jerk in fic.

Thanks!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Xander on August 09, 2015 10:10am

A mature grown up Xander, very good. Xander telling her that she's still Buffy even withoutcher memories was good. How people was always changing over time. That's true, she will never be the "old" Buffy again. She has lived more than 2 years after that. Everything she did and though during this time will be a part of the "new" Buffy that will be created when the "old" and present merge.

Buffy's worries about all this is to be expected.

Afterwards we could see more of the mature Xander. With his understanding that getting the memories back will be hurtful and he will give Buffy the time and space she need. He is also the one who gets where and why she is going. Everyone is of course worried but Xander's reaction is calm and good.

I also liked the oneshot.

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 07:05pm

Seeing it summarized like that make me realize just what a great job Xander did this chapter.  :)

I wrote that little fagends long before this story, but clearly it was part of the same story!  Thanks!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Xander on August 09, 2015 09:23am Liked

Really loved this one and your choice of telling the aftermath from Xande's unique point of view.  

He often said just the right thing and he did the same this time.  

Yes, she would go to Sunnydale and I hope hwe happy memories start coming back too (and her ILY to Spike before he burned).

Everyone was very in character.

Excellent update....off to read the side story.  I love the idea of Spike writing poetry when she was gone and Xander finding it is icing on that cake.

Kathleen

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 07:03pm

Xander gets excellent moments of being a great friend in canon, and it seems such a shame to me when fic ignores that.

I hope her better memories come back to!

Hee, I wrote that fagends long before I started this story, but... it clearly tied in.  :)

Thanks!

[Report This]
the_moonmoth Reviewed Xander on August 09, 2015 07:49am Liked

Argh, I have been so bad at leaving comments while I've been traveling, but I've been reading and loving and flailing. The last few chapters have been spectacular, and I'm dying to know what happens, but I also don't want it to end! 

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 06:50pm

Aw, thank you! :D

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Xander on August 09, 2015 03:36am

I keep finding things to comment about sorry!

"Remember when Willow erased all our memories? I don't know about you, but when I got mine back, it hurt."

Again you surprise me here - I expected Spike to be the one lecturing everyone else, having most recently been through a "have all your memories returned to torture you" experience. (Actualy it was a "have your conscience and your guilt about the awful things you've done and have had done to you" rather than memories per se deal, but simiilar.) ONce again you're twisting the expecations of shippy tropes. YAY!

"Oh, I've got your number, William Wordsworth."

HEE. As much as he played the clown in school he's not dumb at all. Also love me some Xander and Spike bantering, so more yay!

"In so much pain," Dawn said.

It's really clever how the first memories you mentioned last chapter were ignited by seeing the people around her and connected specifically to them; and then the other memories began to unfold (Dad, Mom, heaven). When I read the last chapter my brain unhelpfully supplied so many others: her first death at the hands of the Master, Giles poisoning her, being kicked out of the house twice, the entire Faith debacle including having her body stolen as well as stabbing Faith...the list is pretty freakin' endless, isn't it? No wonder Buffy went batshit crazy and ran away.

 

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 06:49pm

Xander's face when he gets his memories back in "Tabula Rasa" is what made it seem so clear to me that he'd be the one.  He looks like he's been hit just as hard as Buffy has.

It is a bit like the voices in "Earshot".  She's got to get away, before it drives her insane. 

Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Xander on August 09, 2015 03:08am

I love me some Mature Support-o Guy Xander! Nifty moment between the  two of them and how she confirms that she really has been Buffy all along, whether she knows it or not. (And it's the not knowing that's excrutiating, more for her at this point than anyone else.)

Nice callback to Anya's death, I was wondering if that would get another mention in the story. And I love how this continues the "gen-ness" of the story - Angel and Spike bickering over who gets to "be with " Buffy and playing "my dick is bigger than yours" will never not be funny - except when it gets kind of depressing (because it tends to confirm that it's really ALL ABOUT THEM and not about Buffy at all.)

Meanwhile Xander shows them both up as the real adult among the guys here. VERY WELL PLAYED, m'dear.

and while he'd never stop offering, he couldn't force her to reciprocate.

And wow is that really meta - and not just about Xander. Pretty much all the characters in canon needed to learn that. Even if it's just meant to be about Xander - it's not just about Xander. knowwhatimean?

Interesting contrast then that both Willow and Dawn talk to him as if he's a kid and are a little condescending "sit down, Xander / shut up" although I don't think they intend to be.

"It's okay, you can come out," Buffy said quietly. "I know you're there." She turned to look at him.

 in any other story on EF, she'd be talking to Spike; and I'm fascinated by how you make so many tropes, character beats and plot points that would normally be shippy here gen, and assign them to charactes other than Spike, and they still fit beautifully.

Willow, sweetie, the enthusiasm over being able to resurrect people? LET IT GO.

Ok and I DID NOT see Buffy running off to Heathrow of all places. Did NOT see that coming at all. I figured a somewhat anti-climatic scene where Dawn finds her under a tree on the Oxford campus where they hang out for picnic now and again - someplace that was "neutral" for her, wih no prior baggage or connection to life in Sunnydale;the "quiet place" one of the other interviewers suggested. It never occured to me she'd do the exact opposite.

Which means she's already breaking her promise to Dawn to never leave her (But she nearly broke it when she was ready to sacrifice herself to the monks to save Dawn - that really isn't a promise Buffy, or any of us, can truly keep, but still....) So kudos for surprising me!

But I'm also wondering - she's gonna buy a $1000 airplane ticket with WHAT money, exactly? She can't have grabbed Giles' wallet - nor would she. (That was Faith's bag in the bad old days.) Or is she so crazed she just isn't thinking that far ahead?

Which also has me wondering, how have Buffy and Dawn been supporting themselves and how did they acquire a flat if they have one job below minimum wage job between them? Oxford cannot be a cheap place to live.  

My brain insists that Giles is covering the expenses, his way of making up for abandoning the girls back in S6 and part of his campaign to make things up to Buffy, make sure she's taken care of this time rather than insisting she do it all herself. (And it's canon that's how he deals sometimes - Flooded) Even if he sighs and seems very put upon, he is shelling out a lot of money in this story isn't he? Dear god. he's actually supporting a lot of people no wonder he's sighs whenever someone mentions money. 

But back to the story - HEATHROW? Buffy, get back home. your sister and friends are worried. 

You leave us here? This chapter could have easily have gone on twice as long and I'd have been happy. And we're two chapters to the end? Seriously? You write Xander wonderfully and yes, I read the drabble. Splendid stuff, where have you been hiding this?

FYI my favorite part might just be Xander going on about why he needs cheesy snacks when he's nervous. I think it's repetitions and the "ergo's" that just kill me. 

Or maybe this:

"Good job thinking, little blue engine," Spike said. "Meanwhile, we'll be doing."

This chapter is just incredibly funny.

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 06:47pm

Support-o Guy is the best.  :)

So is Spangel.  Except... yeah.  Being around each other makes both of them sink to new lows, and reverses any of that maturity they've managed to acquire, and that's less funny when you think about it.  

Not being able to force reciprocation is something we all have to learn, not just the Buffyverse characters! 

Xander gets many of those quiet moments with Buffy in canon.  Less so in laters seasons, but Buffy counts on him, just as much as Spike.  It's so diminishing to cast Xander into the role of petty and jealous hanger on.  More than one person (more than one guy, especially) can be important to her. 

Heh, the plane ticket will be answered.  As to the flat - a private two-storey flat, no less - I'm fairly certain Giles is subsidising.  Perhaps he's giving Buffy a token stipend.  And haha, yes, he does have a lot to sigh over. 

Yay for funny!  I have to work harder at funny than at angst.  :0

Thanks!

[Report This]
Barb C Reviewed Xander on August 09, 2015 02:22am

Grown-up Xander is pretty cool.

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 06:36pm

He is, isn't he?  Thanks!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.