Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
infinitecrisis Reviewed Buffy on March 31, 2017 11:09pm

What a bitc.. this Buffy.. 

Author's Response on April 02, 2017 11:18pm

:)

[Report This]
DeamonQueen Reviewed Buffy on May 23, 2016 11:49am

This is so turning out like what happened at season 6 only Buffy is mean because she doesn't remember Spike. Again, can't wait for this to turn to the good. gonna read the next one now to find out.

Author's Response on May 24, 2016 04:57pm

Well, maybe not *quite* like S6...   Thanks!  :)

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Buffy on December 07, 2015 02:14am Liked

Three cheers for Dawn! o/

And wow, look at Lindsey being the swell guy he very rarely is, or how did that go. :)

Author's Response on December 10, 2015 03:57am

Lindsey gets so many chances.  Chance after chance to get it right..  Thanks!  :)

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Buffy on November 08, 2015 04:59am

Sure are making me not have much sympathy for this I'm scared so fuck you all Buffy - great story!

Author's Response on November 20, 2015 01:24am

Thank you! :D

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Buffy on October 13, 2015 01:03am Liked

I was wondering about the past couple of references of Buffy materializing out of the corner. It looks like the magic ink tattoos are pseudo-invisibility cloaks. Handy. Lindsey mentioned in the past that when he was done with her, he'd let her know to get rid of the tattoos, and he didn't do that. I'm guessing he's not done with her yet. 

Author's Response on October 13, 2015 03:43pm

Hiding in the corner is a nifty trick.  :)  As to Lindsey... will he ever learn?  Thanks! :)

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Buffy on October 07, 2015 12:54pm Liked

I like it! I'm glad that Dawn stood up for Spike. 

Author's Response on October 07, 2015 04:07pm

Dawn standing up for Spike does seem to be a crowd pleaser.  Thanks!  :)

[Report This]
relurker Reviewed Buffy on September 01, 2015 07:57am

Lindsay just left? Thinking I don't get (or trust) it! And where are the stupid tattoos hidden, on her scalp?

Halleluia for Dawn standing by Spike's side, it warmed my heart. 

Wow, this is making hard for me to go to work on my day...

Author's Response on September 02, 2015 04:47am

Sometimes I think Lindsey isn't even sure what he's doing.

Dawn & Spike seems to make everybody happy. :)

I hope you had a good day at work!  Thanks!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Buffy on July 30, 2015 01:49am Liked

Good on Dawn standing up for Spike. So glad she did that. Confused about Lindsey part of me is pleased that he's being all white hat and doing the good but he still has Buffy tattooed and suppressed and he left her although I'm glad because it gives Dawm and Spike a chance to reaquaint Buffy to them without hopefully the angst although Buffy is still being a black and white person without any grey.

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 07:21pm

Lindsey really likes to keep all his options open.  He struggles with that whole morals thing.  Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Buffy on July 24, 2015 03:13pm

after I read #18 I was having dark terrible thoughts about how this is going to end; then I read chapter 19 and saw a gllmmer of hope again. I truly have no idea how this is going to end, and kudos for keeping me guessing!

In some ways the buffy chapters are my least favorites but I had to read the Willow chapter to understand why - because as a reader I AM Willow, basically; I'm looking for "my Buffy", and she isn't there - except when she is. I'm confused by this girl but I dare say that's the point. This Buffy is probably more confused by herself than anyone. As Spike told Dawn earlier, she doesn't have a framework for her reactions to things except what she remembers Lindsay telling her.  Her outright terror at being found one moment, then going to Dawn the next; making the decision to leave the gang and run away with Lindsey in the first place, but feeling simultaneously guilty for it - she's an enigma wrapped in a mystery at this point. But she doesn't seem to have any idea what she does or why either.

How much of her behavior is magically induced/ the outcome of her amnesia and Lindsey's magic, and how much is her subconscious trying to squirm through?

Poor Dawnie. I probably should feel more sorry for Spike but at least he has 100plus years of experience behind him, including in being rejected; Dawn doesn't. She's been in this world, what, five years? And only has constant abandonment as her life experience.

In the next chapter Dawn refers to Buffy as a scared animal, but in some ways, Buffy reminds me of a baby duckling because she imprinted upon Lindsey. It's not quite stockholm syndrome because it's been magically imposed. She also reminds me of Buffybot, with her one-track mind, the fact that she's been built and programmed by Lindsey for one thing and one thing only; but there's also a bit of Kendra and Wishverse Buffy here, Buffy's only darker sides that Lindsey has taken advantage of.

I'm surprised people didn't react more strongly to the scene in Phoenix with the vampires. It's a reminder that Buffy wasn't just a mindless killer in canon; but here, she's truly La Belle Sans Dame Merci.

After I read this chapter I thought it was really negative about Buffy's character - she's using Dawn here, right? Rejects her until she's been abandoned then goes running to her for comfort.  But then after I read Chapter 19, the bright side occured to me: Buffy didn't have to seek out Dawn when Lindsey left, she could have pulled another runner herself, she could have gone after him.  

So is there a part of Buffy deep down that remembers loving Dawn and is responding to that? Or was Lindsey's kiss another sort of spell, an "invisible tattoo" if you will, blocking Buffy from following him? (Or is kiss bind her to him emotionally so she won't betray him?)

That's the other thing, I don't understand Lindsey's actions here either so I'm really trying to guess what's going on. Rebcake usually has good ideas in her reviews. Does he think he'll be less likely to be caught without the vessel in tow and is traveling light?

Is he bored with Buffy and bored with her single-minded insistence on killing vamps and demons? Just like Spike becaame disgusted with the Buffybot - his own creation - is Lindsey bored by this single-minded killing machine he's created? If she'd kissed him in that earlier scene, would he have stayed with her? Questions, questions.

Does Buffy not have the least curiosity as to her invisibility at certain times or does she assume that comes with the Slayer package perhaps? She knows Lindsey has tattoos. It's frustrating to read every character here be "so close and yet so far" when it comes to figuring out the mystery.

Oh and now that you've told me where Buffy got the money to go shopping, thank you! (and here I was thinking Lindsey was taking money off their vampire victims) I'm wondering about the rent on the apartment and how she's able to stay in it with Lindsey gone. I wouldn't have thought he'd get a long term lease, more like a week to week or month-to-month type of thing.  (Well, I guess if she has Dawn and Spike move in with her, it can go on Giles' dime, assuming they don't leave before the end of the month. Yeah, I fret about stuff like that. silly me.)

Author's Response on July 24, 2015 05:35pm

Hmm.  Now I'm wondering if the inability to connect with Buffy is a failure on my part, or inevitable because she *is* disconnected from who she is.  It's hard to say, because I'm 'in her head' so to speak, and am used to what's going on in there. 

On the other hand, the baby duckling imprinting is exactly the analogy I was going with.  So.  I guess that came across.  :)

And, exactly.  Buffy could've just run off on her own.  She tells herself (and us) that's she's there to use to Dawn to make herself feel safer, and it comes across as very selfish.  But  Buffy doesn't always tell the truth about how she feels, even to herself.  Also, the Phoenix vamps?  Maybe not Big Bads, but still definitely killers.  If that makes you feel better.

Lindsey is... complex.  He wants power, and later, revenge, and thinks he's willing to do anything to get it.  But he has a conscience he can't quite shake, either.  And he has been shown to love and fall in love (though not wisely), and to act on behalf of the person he loves.  As to his motivations, use that knowledge to make of them what you will. 

Oh, Buffy's curious about that ability, and knows it isn't normal.  But she's action girl.  Nobody seems to have an explanation for her, but it's cool, and it's useful, so eh.  Whatever. 

Heh, yes.  We're the only ones who know all the pieces so far.  :)

Who knows where Lindsey actually gets the money.  But he was a lawyer, and a rising star with I assume a hefty salary.  I'm sure he set some safety nets up before he left. 

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Buffy on July 22, 2015 02:46pm

It's not easy to like this Buffy, but it's not her fault. She has been this new version for some time now, so even if the memories return, some part of the changes will remain. Something must have happened fast if Lindsey just run away like that, Buffy was already suspicious about him, so he have a lot to explain when she sees him next. Buffy will try to spend time with Dawn, that's good. Also good how Dawn didn't even think about giving up Spike, they are becoming close again. 

Author's Response on July 22, 2015 05:45pm

Heh, yes, Lindsey does not want to be doing any explaining any time soon, I think. 

Dawn is good at fierce, isn't she?  Thanks!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Buffy on July 22, 2015 01:53pm Liked

And Lyndsey does the noble thing for once. Or is it? Perhaps he just wants to be free agent as he evades the Shamaya, leaving Buffy behind as decoy... Assuming that she is the 'vessel' they want to destroy.

It's really past time that someone should try harder to figure out how to restore Buffy's memories! Otherwise, I foresee Bad Things happening.

Author's Response on July 22, 2015 05:43pm

I'm guessing a bit of both, with Lindsey.

Yeah, it's time to solve the mystery of the missing memories.  Any chapter now.  :)

Thanks!

[Report This]
Aderyn Du Reviewed Buffy on July 22, 2015 02:37am

LOVE the She-Ra comment! Between the ages of four and seven, I wanted to be She-Ra... When I was fifteen, I wanted to be Buffy. I mean, who wouldn't want to be a quippy, super-powered badass in a miniskirt (at least at five and fifteen)?

Great chapter, in any case.

Author's Response on July 22, 2015 05:42pm

Ahaha, you just totally carbon-dated yourself.  ;)  It's nice to know somebody else knows who they're talking about!  And, yes, She-Ra and Buffy rule!

Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Buffy on July 22, 2015 02:01am

Oh DAMN woman are you TRYING to give the Buffy-haters more ammunition? Are you trying to kill me?

Author's Response on July 22, 2015 05:38pm

I'm just telling a story, I promise!  :)

[Report This]
nepalichik Reviewed Buffy on July 22, 2015 12:16am Liked

oooo...it's getting good!!

Author's Response on July 22, 2015 05:38pm

Thank you!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Buffy on July 21, 2015 10:49pm Liked

My God Buffy with a clean slate is a selfish bitch!  Lindsey used the raw material to bring out her worst.

Well I can but hope that spending time with Dawn and Spike will help that attitude a bit.  

So Lindsey gat her a good-bye kiss but somehow I doubt it's good-bye.  If SHE is this vessel he won't stay gone.  At least Spike never had any personal hatred toward Lindsey unlike Angel.

I'd love to see at least a glimmer of the better side of Buffy...it's in there.

This has to be killing Spike (and Buffy will be so sad when she is whole again).

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 22, 2015 05:38pm

Well, she's pretty good at hiding how she feels, even with herself.  What she tells herself (and us) might not be the whole truth...  Time with Dawn may help, indeed. 

I suspect Spike might feel a bit more strongly about Lindsey than in canon.  Especially if he thinks something is going on between Lindsey and Buffy. 

Thanks!

[Report This]
Rebcake Reviewed Buffy on July 21, 2015 08:21pm

I didn't see that — Lindsey doing a runner — coming! Though he's a slippery one, so why not? Maybe he thinks he'll get a longer run if he's not physically with the vessel? That the monks might let him live if they don't get both him and it? Or is he really trying to do some small thing in Buffy's best interest? Little of both, I suspect. Not without leaving Spike with even more doubts, however, that little weasel. That kiss seems like a way to keep Spike from getting physically close enough to discover any hidden tattoos...and they must be in a very intimate place indeed, if even Buffy hasn't found them.

Good for Dawn for standing up for Spike. And wanting to stay in school. I like to think of Dawn as very clear on her own stuff and not easily swayed — the incident of kicking Buffy out notwithstanding.

 Oh hey, is the incident in Phoenix going to come back to bite Buffy? I get the impression that the clan was more like Roland's than the Master's...and too many of those kinds of tricks and her good reputation will be ruined. She may not care now, but it might be a problem later.

So much to wonder about! Thanks again for this fascinating story!

Author's Response on July 22, 2015 05:24pm

I think a little of both too.  Lindsey does sort of care about Buffy, but he can't seem to shake his need for power. 

You know, that's an interesting idea about there being payback for the Phoenix vamps.  Now I wish I'd thought of it.  On the other hand, there's nobody left to tell the tale.  :)

Thank *you*!

[Report This]
Amayuscula Reviewed Buffy on July 21, 2015 07:41pm Liked

Applause When is Buffy going to stop being so stupid? I'm mad at her at this moment. I want Spuffy love. Flowers

Author's Response on July 22, 2015 05:13pm

Patience, patience.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.