Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
DeamonQueen Reviewed Spike on May 23, 2016 11:38am Liked

squeeYes! They found Buffy! I am so happy! I hope things will finally start looking up! Fingers crossed!

Author's Response on May 24, 2016 04:56pm

One step at a time... :)  Thank you!

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Spike on December 06, 2015 06:54pm Liked

Cool!

Author's Response on December 10, 2015 03:56am

Thank you!

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Spike on October 13, 2015 12:38am Liked

Now we're getting somewhere. I'm interested to see how Buffy can keep justifying staying with Lindsey. Also, did the scoobies ever research to old guy that was pissed about Lindsey desecratin the "vessel"? I know that they don't realize it's important, but with chasing down every lead, you'd think they'd get around to it. 

Author's Response on October 13, 2015 03:43pm

The problem with that offhand mention of Lindsey and the vessel is that it stands out for us because it's one of the things I went out of the way to mention happened.  But for them, a gazillion other things happened that I didn't mention.  So... even less importance.  But maybe they'll get to it anyway.  Thanks! :)

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Spike on October 07, 2015 10:28am Liked

I love the interactions between Spike and Dawn, they are so well written! Good chapter! A year to search Buffy... Spike is fantastic!

Author's Response on October 07, 2015 04:06pm

Once Spike sets his mind to something, he doesn't stop... unless he gets bored, or there's something good on the telly... :)   Thanks!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Spike on July 30, 2015 01:27am Liked

The question has become -- what are they going to do or say to Buffy once they confront her. It's obvious that she doesn't want to be found or brought back so where does that leave them. 

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 07:20pm

There doesn't seem like there will be an easy solution, does there?  Fingers crossed...   Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Spike on July 20, 2015 04:33pm

Kudos to Kathleen for her wonderful banner!  I love the center image of Buffy, fragmented, multiplied, the large image of Dawn at the right, because she really is the emotional heart of this story - I think everyone else would have given up already if not for Dawn.  Dawn still feels the guilt of Buffy's The Gift (and her role in Empty Places as well) very keenly. And as we talked about, Dawn is the only character here who doesn't have a "real" backstory.

Now about the chapter - holy sweet potato pancakes woman, are you TRYING to kill me? More, please, now! The suspense is killing me.

"Not with a kid in tow, it isn't."

So you've done a Spike and Dawn road trip and of course if you're writing it, it's very different from what everyone else writes. NOT a story of Spike the adorable teddy bear and isn't he the sweetest thing ever? Yeah, he's a teddy bear - but this toy has TEETH, baby. Spike and Dawn are so much more real here than the usual - of course they have moments of affection, and teamwork, but of course they also bicker and don't get along. Of course they get on one another's nerves.

Would they be spending this much time togehter if it weren't for their shared mission - find Buffy? The characters of the Buffyverse only seem to be able to get along when they've got someone or something outside themselves to focus on.

"Aw, is she putting a cramp in your style, Spikey?"

*LMAO* Way too funny coming from Angel.  But then I feel sort of sorry for him, drifting aimlessly. See my comment about "needing something to focus on" above. I feel sorry for all these characters really.  You convey the sense of how wearying this entire ordeal is.

"Slayer's got a sort of freedom, these days. She could travel wherever she wants. Make up for the vacations she never got to take before."

Just a regular person now. It's ironic - Spike had sacrifiiced himself so she could be free, so she could "live, for me (you have to go on living, so one of us is ilving.". And now she's - living like a regular person, more or less, free from the shackles of being "the One" - and it's not brought her or anyone else happiness or relief, only more pain. Be careful what you wish for.

Dawn sniffled. "She doesn't remember wanting to go anywhere."

 

OUCH

not to mention smellementary powers"

LOVE Dawn's dialogue throughout this chapter. Having worked in a mall I can't imagine that Buffy's scent would be easy to track even in the best of circumstances. No wafting breeze, a food court, tons of scents from other stores (you mention the perfume counter), cleaning products - it's a wonder he doesn't go into overload. I would have to have smellementary powers at the mall.

And I wonder where Buffy is getting the money to go shopping like that.

Buffy.

His chest seized up, and his hands trembled, imperceptibly, enough only he would notice.

This section confused me a little, because the mention of her name made me think he spotted her; it took me a moment to realize it was just him thinking of her. (I thnk the period at the end of that and the fact that it was it's own line added to the confusion, that there had been a shift in his attention.)  The descriptions of his conflicted feelings before and after were wonderful though. This is really rough on him - never getting to properly mourn.

 

 

"No need." His smile was predatory. "Have a feeling I know exactly where the Slayer's going to be tonight."

 This feels like a bit of the old Spike - fierecely vital. Good.

Knowing that you do not guarantee happy endings, I'm also worried about reaching the end.  *lol*  It's entirely possible that if you're writing this, 1) they'll never find Buffy

2) they will but she'll be horribly damanged by what's been done to her and what she's done

3) Lindsey will die before they figure out the cause and she'll be Amnesia Girl forever (just WHERE THE HELL are those tats, that nobody has seen them?)

4) Echoes of Damanges and Dana - Buffy will attempt to kill Spike and have her hand raised for the killing blow. Spell is broken, amnesia disappears either right in time time for her to be stopped; or just after she's dispatched him. Cue angst and grief either way.

4a) Buffy doesn't get her memory back, kills Spike or someone she loves, has no horror of it. The Slayer, the Hero, is lost forever. 

I certainluy don't expect her to fall into Spike's arms immediately even if all goes well. They never got the talking time they needed after chosen to sort things out. Now you've got a Spike whose lived over a year without her and a Buffy who has in some ways been put on hold, or cryogenically frozen so to speak in terms of her memories. 

OTOH, Spike is the one person in the story who knows every inch of her body and if anyone is going to find those tats - getting a pissed off amnesiac Slayer to consent to being searched is another story *ponders* 

See what you're doing to me? I never spend this much time speculating on stories.  

 

Author's Response on July 20, 2015 05:51pm

I love how both you and Kathleen captured the theme in two different ways.  Creativity is awesome!  :)

Their shared mission is what reconciled them in the first place, so how much time they would spend together without it is a valid question.  Also, despite Spike's affection for Dawn, notice how he quit spending time with her once his true obsession came back, or at least so far as we know from on-screen time (some subscribe to the 'Buffy made him stay away' theory, but I sometimes think she would've welcomed somebody else taking care of Dawn and lifting the burden from her).  He's got a soul now, so hopefully he can manage being a friend better, but... he's never had much practice at it. 

Angel's also spending a fair bit of time flogging himself (and now I'm thinking of some other meaning, and no, I don't mean that way), and with nobody to pull him out of it... yeah.  Angel especially tends to drift without an outside-given purpose.

They're weary, yes.  And I would guess resentful too. 

Ahaha, you've spotted the crux of the problem.  Nobody knows every inch quite like Spike, and, with the exception of Angel, nobody else is less likely to see every inch of this Buffy.  :)

And don't worry, the question of Buffy's spending money will actually be answered in the very next chapter!  It's not that exciting an answer, though.  Sorry.

I think people would kill me if I went with any of your possible endings.  But that doesn't completely rule them out.  :)

Thanks!

RedSatinDoll Replied on July 20, 2015 08:59pm

I saw your response to All4Spike - another chapter ASAP would be awesomesauce in a jar (to quote the magnifiicent Velvewhip).

so how much time they would spend together without it is a valid question. 

notice how he quit spending time with her once his true obsession came back, or at least so far as we know from on-screen time (some subscribe to the 'Buffy made him stay away' theory, but I sometimes think she would've welcomed somebody else taking care of Dawn and lifting the burden from her)

And that gets overlooked by pretty much everybody in Spuffy fandom (except a handful of folks). It's one thing to be pals and sneaking off to see Spike to be rebellious in S5; another thing to have him and his emotional baggage around the house as a full-time babysitter.  It's one thing  to promise "till the end of the world" in a romantic gesture; another thing to be stuck with day to day care of an angry, traumatized teenager. I'm surprised only the fluffy aspects of that relationship are constantly explored and the mututal reseentments, almost never.  (Does Dawn resent Spike for failing up on that tower? We know Spike hates himself for failing - and Dawn's continued existence is a tangible reminder of that failure for both of them. And that scene where he yells at Willow for not fixing Buffybot's programming is very telling. That's not the first time he's llikely to have lashed out.)

he's never had much practice at it. 

Nope - and that's another fandom fantasy, that Spike has superb and effortless socialization skills. But he was an outcast in his own social circles as a human being, and as a vamp, his primary relationships were with Darla, Dru and Angelus. Minions were disposable and Slayers were quarry to be hunted. I admit I have started reading the S10 comics and I like that Spike is being drawn into the circle of Buffy's "chosen family" on several levels - he's developing relationships with Xander, Giles, and Dowling, That's something very new for him.

Angel's also spending a fair bit of time flogging himself

I know how you mean that - but Spike would appreciate the double entendre. (Even in the S10 comics his favorite name for Angel is "wanker" after all.)

Ahaha, you've spotted the crux of the problem.  Nobody knows every inch quite like Spike, and, with the exception of Angel, nobody else is less likely to see every inch of this Buffy.  :)

 

I guessed something right for once?  *SQUEES*  

I'm still curious how thoroughly the gang checked Buffy (Dawn told Giles they didn't see any tats. Surely while she was unconscious they looked further than just her arms and  back?) So just how well hidden are these suckers?

It's not that exciting an answer, though.  Sorry.

That's cool, I don't need exciting on this matter; I just like to know, where are people getting their money from? Of course this is fiction.  (The entire time I watched S7 I wondered, "Are any of these people living in Buffy's house contributing financially?")

I think people would kill me if I went with any of your possible endings.  But that doesn't completely rule them out.  :)

UH-HUH.  I wouldln't put anything past you, dearheart.

 

 

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Spike on July 20, 2015 12:57pm Liked

Oooooh! Next chapter NOW plese!

Author's Response on July 20, 2015 05:01pm

Would tomorrow be okay?  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Spike on July 20, 2015 09:55am

A good way to show the search with Dawn. There were good interaction.

Author's Response on July 20, 2015 05:01pm

Thank you!! :)

[Report This]
Rebcake Reviewed Spike on July 20, 2015 02:28am

Close to a year? All my poor babies! I hope Spike and Rupert find that working not-so-together can help them to make peace. I suspect that Giles is finding himself inclined to better thoughts about Spike, the more he lightens the old Watcher's load. It's also good that Dawn is feeling a bit more settled, as Spike says. But Thing Are Not Right until Buffy is restored, in the opinion of all right-thinking persons, amirite?

I'm all aquiver with anticipation!

Author's Response on July 20, 2015 05:00pm

You, madam, are right!  :)

Because this is not TV-land, I can let problems last more than a week or two... or forty...  Lindsey has gotten verrrry good at not being found. 

Thanks!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Spike on July 20, 2015 12:12am Liked

Wonderful chapter once again.  Poor Spike and Dawn, looking for near on to a year (and Spike hasn't really been with Buffy in so much longer).  As usual your dialog zips and is in complete character.  I particularly liked,  "Zippy the one-eyed wonder carpenter as chaperone".  I think Spike doesn't dislike Xander actually but he will always use dismissive terms when speaking of him...just like Xander would regarding Spike.

Shamrock, Texas  been there long ago.  Not much to remember except flat, hot and dry.  A motel for the night on the way to elsewhere when Amarillo was just a few miles too far.

 Another line so very Spikelike, "providing one hell of a show for the muggles".  Yes I do think he read Harry Potter and likely saw the films too.

 

And Dawn too, "smellementary powers" is so in character, likely with a crinkled nose as she said it.

"I know exactly where the Slayer's going to be tonight."  Yes, I'd betr she is planning to take on the animals attacking at the University.  Buffy might not know Buffy at this point but Spike does.  He knows the part that counts.

Like the addition of Lindsey's family and background.  They never fully fleshed out his character and I thought he had the possibility of being that series version of Spike...evil but not unredeemable, layered. Then they just made him a straight out villain and I think they missed the boat there.  

Getting closer.  I just hope she doesn't run (or try to stake Spike in the fray).  Not time for the happy ending by a long shot but I hope she can see how her leaving hurt others even if she wasn't happy trying to just be Buffy.  There had to be a way to compromise without just abandoning Dawn that way.  Buffy is going to feel SO guilty.  Still this IS part of how she works.  After sending Angel to hell and feeling rejected by her mom she ran off.  After Dawn was taken by Glory she mentally checked out.  After being tossed from her own house she didn't fight back until Spike encouraged her...she just left.  It's in character.  She will fight for the world but not for herself (even to not fighting for the right to pick her own lovers).

Great chapter.  Glad you liked the banner.

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 20, 2015 04:51pm

I suspect there is a mutual grudging respect between Xander and Spike these days, but yeah.  Defnitely not going to pass up the chance for insults!

Wow, somebody's been to Shamrock?  It was a random choice off the map.  I can't remember why I focused on that part of Texas now, but there was a reason that made perfect sense at the time...

I never cared much about Lindsey one way or the other, but I had to get into his background to write him, and he's certainly more interesting than I remembered.  A lot of fear of poverty and powerless-ness.  There are a lot of throw-away lines about his past that are easy to miss.  I never quite got the feeling that he was un-redeemable either (and it seemed to go against the whole theme of AtS to give up on somebody so completely...).

She will fight for the world but not for herself.  Yes.  Very spot on. 

I love the banner.  I have zero art skills, at all, and it's just cool to see what other people can do.  Plus, it was awfully neat to open my email to an unexpected present.  :) 

Thank you!

[Report This]
Amayuscula Reviewed Spike on July 19, 2015 09:56pm Liked

ApplauseApplause

Author's Response on July 20, 2015 04:42pm

Yay! :)

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Spike on July 19, 2015 07:42pm Liked

Squee

Author's Response on July 20, 2015 04:42pm

Woo!  :)

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.