Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
infinitecrisis Reviewed Giles on March 31, 2017 10:57pm

Giles is a jerk. Good thing, he is different now in Comics and accepting Buffy and Spike relationship.

Author's Response on April 02, 2017 11:18pm

:)

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Giles on December 06, 2015 05:38pm Liked

The Marquis showing up again was a surprise. A nice one.

Gotta love determined, insightful Spike! And jealous Spike, of course. ^^

And aw man, Giles' problems have problems. :(

Author's Response on December 10, 2015 03:55am

I tried to make the Marquis go away - he was never even supposed to exist - but he did not agree with me.  All the Spikes are the best.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Giles on October 07, 2015 09:52am Liked

I like the chapter! I'm glad that Roland isn't dust! :)

Author's Response on October 07, 2015 04:05pm

Roland was never meant to be.  But he showed up, and refused to go away.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Giles on July 30, 2015 01:08am Liked

Maybe that was part of the reason Buffy felt so uncomfortable the lack of closeness and no one really tried to start a fresh relationship to the girl with no memory just pressed her to remember who she was. 

 

And although its bad of me I'm happy that the ponce Roland is still kicking it if for no other reason then to make Spike angry.  

 

I do feel some sympathy for Giles it must really be heard on him and it hurts I'm sure that he lost the closeness to Buffy that was so huge before.

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 07:19pm

Roland seems to be hugely popular.  And to think he wasn't even meant to exist.  But he insisted!  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
fyreburned Reviewed Giles on July 18, 2015 12:58pm Liked

Goox. At this point, he doesn't deserve sleep.

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 06:04pm

Poor, overtired Giles.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Giles on July 18, 2015 12:45pm Liked

Spike should have staked the Europrat. Now you've made me feel sorry for Giles. Didn't expect that under the circumstances. What now?

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 06:03pm

Ahaha, Europrat.  :)  Poor Giles.  They're not responsibilities he ever wanted.  Thanks!

[Report This]
Rebcake Reviewed Giles on July 18, 2015 07:18am

Oh, ouch. I'm glad Giles is being honest with himself, at least. I'm also very glad that Roland is still in the land of the unliving! He's too good a character to waste. Now I am anticipating a Dawn & Spike road trip. So fun.

Another wonderful chapter, m'dear.

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 06:01pm

Roland just refuses to go away.  I think Giles is painfully aware of his failings.  :(  Thanks!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Giles on July 18, 2015 06:34am

It was good to see Roland. We could see Spike's jelousy and there afe some paralells as Giles pointed out. A good talk between Spike and Giles. Spike is only interested in Buffy, but Giles has so much more to worry about, more responsibilities. There is also the bitterness that Buffy chose to go with a known lier instead of going back with them.

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 06:00pm

Giles does have a lot more on his shoulders these days, and not responsibilities he willingly took on either.  (Now I'm imagining him rebelling and turning to Ripper all over again, like the first time he was forced into a role.)  Thanks!  :)

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Giles on July 18, 2015 03:27am

A bitter laugh escaped before Giles could stop himself. "Whatever makes you so certain I sleep?"

Oh that is really a brilliant ending to this chapter!  This is a bit shorter than some others? It feels like it because I raced through it eagerly.  (That wasn't a criticism, that was "more please!")

Yay for the return of Roland! And is he implying that there were more conversations between him and Buffy than what we saw? it certainly sounds like it. I can imagine why - unlike anybody else in England, he had no expectations of her; he knew the legend and he seemed to genuinely enjoy her company, or at least be amused by her.

And Spike being jealous - that is one of his less attractive qualities, souled and unsouled.

Really, both Giles and Spike love her very much, and in ideal circumstances (if they were able to put their difference behind them, the way he and Xander managed to do on occasion, i.e. "Him" in S7) they'd make a crack team.  Spike throws himself into a thing wholeheartedly (or not at all); and the older, world-weary Giles tends to step back and withdraw.  This is NOT the same Giles who ran willy-nilly looking for Buffy the summer between Becoming and Anne, and ignoring the fact that the Scoobies risked danger night after night.

 

If only his father had let him be a grocer. His life would've been so much simpler.

 "I am responsible for thousands of Slayers, for millions of lives. I cannot allow my feelings for Buffy… it is better to remain disconnected, as you say. To keep a distance."

Shades of Touched and the kitchen scene of course but here, I think they are both have valid points. SOMEBODY has to look after the new Slayer organization. Spike has the luxury of being the "free agent", not the one in charge; he can be cranky with Giles (and at other times Buffy and Angel) but I'm not sure if he fully understands what it means to be "the decider", the one who makes the hard decsion and carries the weight of the mistakes.

 

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 06:13pm

This *is* one of the shorter chapters for this story.  So many of them got away from me.  I prefer 2500-3500 words per chapter, but to do that, I would've had to split many chapters into a part one and part two, and I didn't want to do that.

I suspect Roland may be exaggerating how close he and Buffy are.  Those vamps, always so sure their obsession is as into them as they are into her.  :)  But, yeah, pretty sure they talked a few times off-screen.  I'm thinking Roland sought her out, and Buffy would've been curious enough about a 'grey areas' vamp to allow his company.  Not to mention the lack of expectations, as you say.

Giles has so much on his shoulders these days.  I think Buffy would understand where he's coming from (if she had her memories).  But then again, maybe not. She very much understood making the hard decisions, and yet did not forgive Giles for 'making the hard decision' about what to do with trigger-y Spike.    She's sort of in between Giles and Spike.  She'll do what she has to do, in the end, but the people she loves will always come first until the very last possible moment.  

RedSatinDoll Replied on July 18, 2015 10:27pm

 Those vamps, always so sure their obsession is as into them as they are into her.  :)

You're not thinking of anyone in particular, are you? *wicked chuckle*  

 I'm thinking Roland sought her out, and Buffy would've been curious enough about a 'grey areas' vamp to allow his company.  Not to mention the lack of expectations, as you say.

And as with Lindsay, Roland treats her with respect as an equal. That has to feel good in her situation.  

company.  Not to mention the lack of expectations, as you say.

She very much understood making the hard decisions, and yet did not forgive Giles for 'making the hard decision' about what to do with trigger-y Spike.

Didn't she? And yet she returns to the house in End of Days and does not take him to task and in Chosen says she does want his opinion. In the buffyverse, that's basically forgiveness. She doesn't say "I forgive you" at the end of Helpless, but that is certainly understood and I think that's how we're meant to interpret that exchange in Chosen.  

Or are you saying she forgave for getting kicked out but didn't forgive for nearly killing Spike? Given Buffy's situation at the time I'm not sure she'd parse it out like that; it probably all got rolled into one big bundle of "forgive or don't forgive" and Buffy always leans on the side of forgiveness, in actions if not in words. Which is why her decision to not give Lindsey an ass-kicking in this story is extremely in character.

She'll do what she has to do, in the end, but the people she loves will always come first until the very last possible moment.  

Oh yeah, that's one of her defining characteristics. (In the Gift, it was beyond the very last moment unto death.) I don't know why that gets missed so often in fandom - you do not fuck with people Buffy Summers loves - you do not mess with the people she claims as family. Period.  But in this story - she doesn't really love anyone. She has no attachments except to Lindsey and I'm not sure she knows what her feelings for him are exactly. Which in some ways might be good - liberating her from unhealthy relationships - but she's drifted by default into another unhealthy one. She's struggling to locate herself, her innate moral code seeps through but not all the way, so she's lost. And everyone around her - focused on the wrong things, I think.

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Giles on July 18, 2015 02:00am Liked

Flowers

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 05:58pm

Woo!  Thanks!  :)

[Report This]
nojiri23 Reviewed Giles on July 17, 2015 11:57pm Liked

great chapter!  I love the conversation between Giles and Spike - so perfect!  Go team Spike!  Save Buffy!!!

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 05:58pm

I think those two understand each other better than they'd like to admit.  Thanks! :)

[Report This]
Amayuscula Reviewed Giles on July 17, 2015 09:57pm Liked

Applause

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 05:57pm

Thanks! :)

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Giles on July 17, 2015 09:16pm Liked

Love this conversation between Giles and Spike.  They understand wach other so very well and it show (and they both know it too).  

Buffy's French admirer is a delightful character and I kind of want him to stay around.  Maybe his contacts will eventually help in some way.  I had to laugh at the dig Giles gave to Spike on Buffy's history with handsome vampires with murky ties to evil LOL.

Glad they are smart enough to have figured out that a tattoo is quite likely.  If they can catch up with them Spike and Dawn will know to look carefully.

Buffy will be glad that Spike made Dawn finish the term in school.  Once she gets her memories back she won't need to have more Dawn shaped guilt on her conscience (even though it would not be her fault).

Excellent update.

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 06:19pm

Augh!  Totally forgot to include your banner.  Next chapter.  Don't let me forget.  (I won't write a proper answer to this review, and then that will hopefully remind me.)  (And again, THANK YOU!)

pfeifferpack Replied on July 18, 2015 11:05pm

My pleasure.  Glad you liked it but don't stress, it was a gift inspired by the story.

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 19, 2015 04:33pm

Oh, but I wanted to include!  I was just mad at me for forgetting.

Roland is fun to write, which may explain why he kept pushing himself into chapters when I had no plans for him to even exist in the first place.  :)

Spike knows Buffy will be glad of his intervention with Dawn, someday.  And likely Dawn will too, once she doesn't have to repeat a year. 

Thanks!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.