Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
infinitecrisis Reviewed Dawn on March 31, 2017 10:55pm

At least Spike has Dawn and it is a good thing.

Author's Response on April 02, 2017 11:17pm

Everybody loves Spike & Dawn.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
DeamonQueen Reviewed Dawn on May 22, 2016 11:54am

Yehey! Spike and Dawn going after Buffy! I loved it so much! Great job! Gonna reas the next one to find out qhat happens next!

Author's Response on May 24, 2016 04:56pm

Yay!  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Dawn on December 06, 2015 05:25pm Liked

*cheers for Dawn and Spike*

And haha, Spike and Angel ARE so cute! Together. XD

Author's Response on December 10, 2015 03:54am

Dawn and Spike reconcilliation seemed to be a crowd-pleaser.  :)

Spangel tried so hard to take over the story.  They were insistent!  Thanks!

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Dawn on November 08, 2015 03:27am

Wonderful to have Dawn back with showing Spike some love - I hope you keep them together for a while -

Author's Response on November 20, 2015 01:24am

The Dawn and Spike reconnect seemed to be a reader favorite.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Dawn on October 06, 2015 10:42pm Liked

Great chapter! 

  Spike nodded and took the lead, guiding Dawn with a hand to her elbow. "You talking to me again, then?""This doesn't count.""End of the world never does. People say all manner of things they don't necessarily mean.""Spike?" Dawn turned to him, surprised by his melancholic, wistful tone.

Poor Spike! This part is very sad :'(

I liked the interactions Dawn / Angel / Spike. And the reconciliation between Dawn and Spike is sweet and touching.

Author's Response on October 06, 2015 09:35pm

Spike and Angel realllly wanted to turn this story into a Spangel story.  I had a hard time convincing them otherwise.  :)

I'm so glad you liked that part.  Thank you!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Dawn on July 30, 2015 12:54am Liked

Yay! This is the Dawn i enjoyed and loved and wanted to see again. So, super glad you brought her back and doubly happy that Spike and Dawn are going to look for Buffy. Plus, I loved the moment that Dawn asked if there was something between Angel and Spike and their reactions to the suggestion.Bravo

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 07:18pm

Oh, well, I have nothing to do with how they behave.  That's all up to them.  :)

Dawn's only commenting on what's obvious to everybody else.  Out of the mouth of babes, and all.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Dawn on July 16, 2015 06:07pm

I'm so glad you like the banner sweetie!  It looks about 1/4 full size here, did the site's template downsize it or did I not send you the full-size version? 

Now back to your story....I had a feeling this would be a Dawn POV chapter!  (I wonder if you'll ever write a Xander POV? He's the only member of the original Core cast whose POV you haven't done.)

I love the way you write Dawn - she's loyal, angry, foolish, smart, and incredibly brave (esp. considering she has no Slayer or magical powers of her own); and as interesting as any character here.  If she decides she's gonna find Buffy well, then, it's gonna happen. And that her primary focus here is her sister, and Spike is a friend who she's loved and she's been angry with, but the sister bond is primary here (unlike so many other fanfics - another trope bites the dust.)

And damn but that girl endures a truckload of trauma and then some.

It's hilarious that you have Dawn needing to pee, which is a reminder that we rarely see characters needing to go to use the toilet in fiction (aside from gross potty humor in the movies, and the one scene in Kubrick's Eyes Wide Shut.)

Very well played not having Dawn run into Spike's arms when she sees him on the street. It's interesting that they need to have a long sit-down conversation as much as Buffy and Spike do, but as always in the Buffyverse there's no time for that now - there's an apocalypse to stop, a sister to find, a mystery to solve, etc. And that's just part of life in a war zone. But it's also an excuse/reason to not have a long heart-to-heart - skipping over a lot of important steps.

(Also, long conversations where nothing else happens can boring to read and to write, let's be honest.)

What does it say that Angel figured out what Dawn meant by "couple" before Spike did? I would have expected the other way around. (Another trope you're paying with?)

"End of the world never does. People say all manner of things they don't necessarily mean."

Yeah, because Buffy says ILY to people out of gratitude and pity all the damn time.  Just ask Xander how many times she said it to him - oh wait, nevermind. Spike, dude...  (Not that I don't understand why he would feel that way.)



LORNE!  I know this is the probably the last we'll see of him - Angel really wields a path of destruction everywhere he goes, doesn't he? I love Lorne's dialogue here. Is the repeat of "mobody sitting down but me?" bit from an episode of the show? Can't help notice that Angel says "tell me everything" and Lorne offers up the Cliff Notes versioin.

Buffy had cared. Even when she didn't care. Only her sister would do that.

I love how she gets pissed with Giles for trying to circumnavigate her.

Yep, Buffy is still Buffy here in all sorts of big and small ways - but not. It's like an AU Buffy. (Shades of Normal Again.) including writing a rather formal note (Becoming, Touched, Chosen). I wondered why she sent the email to Giles and not Dawn or anyone else but I realized, she'd know that Dawn would be really traumatized seeing that pop in her inbox - best send the letter to someone who could at least deliver the news to everyone else calmly, and that would be Giles.

But damn, poor Dawn! That's painful.

Slayer – Buffy – doesn't know what to do with all these feelings she has. Doesn't know where they're coming from, doesn't have framework to make sense of them, an' it's more'n she can handle just now.

And if anyone would know, it would be Spike, although when he came back from Africa he suffered from too many memories of his past, not too few; but the basic idea still holds.

"I'm not waiting, because you and me? We're going to find her."

 I wanted to cheer when I read that. (also, Spike and Dawn road trip? *lol*)  It feels like, all these incredible resources that everyone should theoretically have at their disposal to figure out what's wrong with Buffy, but everyone is so distracted - by bigger events, by their own emotions that they either can't help Buffy or are hurting her more. But now that Dawn has decided to get some thing done it WILL GET DONE.  And that's why Dawn is a Summers Woman through and through.

(that and the forgiveness.)

  

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 05:14pm

Um... I don't know?  I uploaded what you sent me to Imgur, and then resized with the insert picture tool so it wouldn't be too huge on this page.  And that's the extent of my technical know-how.

I don't think it's too spoilery to say there is one upcoming Xander chapter.  He's not a character that's easy for me to write (I seriously considered asking Sparrow2000 to help; she does such an amazing Xander), so he kind of got put off. 

Poor Dawn.  Out of all the people whose identities are tied in to Buffy's, hers is the tightest.  Without Buffy... who is she?  For Dawn, it goes deeper than being sisters (though I don't know how much she wants to admit that).  She's definitely going to hold on and try the hardest.  She and Spike may have a conversation off-screen.  As you say, less interesting to read and write. 

Stress makes me need to pee.  I think about these things.  :)

Earlier in the story, before Buffy 'came back', Spike did believe she meant it.  But now he's less certain.  As to Angel cottoning on first, there's some speculation in certain corners that he's more into Spike than Spike is into him.  Also, Spike may be very insightful, but he's much less so about his own relationships (which explains both Angel noticing first, and him now doubting Buffy's 'I love you').

The Cliff Notes version is a bit due to how boring it would be for the readers if Lorne *did* give a blow-by-blow.  :)  I don't think the sitting down part came directly from the show (but maybe, and I forgot).  It just felt very Lorne. 

Hmm, I'm not sure that Buffy didn't send an email to everybody, but Giles is the only one at home and with a computer right now.  This was back in the day before smartphones and easy email access.  But I like your version better.  Much more thoughtful of Buffy.  Somebody else reviewed that Buffy is a completely New Person, so it's interesting to see how others think she's still her (I lean to her being still her too). 

Everybody is so looking forward to this Spike and Dawn roadtrip.  Hmm.

Thank you!  And again for the banner!

 

 

RedSatinDoll Replied on July 18, 2015 12:43am

Poor Dawn.  Out of all the people whose identities are tied in to Buffy's, hers is the tightest.  Without Buffy... who is she?  For Dawn, it goes deeper than being sisters

 

Oh defintely, and she KNOWS that. The conversation in Blood Ties, "Summers blood"; being made "of Buffy" (which makes no sense logically but that's how Buffy sees it and it works emotionally. Perhaps it's what Buffy had to tell herself in the wake of Joyce's death. If Joyce hadn't died....)  And carrying the weight of knowing her sister sacrified herself to save her, which is paralleled by Spike sacrificing himself in Chosen and yet is very different. I like that you touch on that here, on her "You know why" to Xander; I'm surprised how many fanfic writers fail to delve into that. they're bonded, but there's of course resentment on both sides, and guilt;

and even with amnesia Buffy felt the weight of wanting to be there for Dawn but failing miserably. I see the Summers family patterns at play, the ones they learned from Joyce and Hank - either polite "we don't talk about things and hope the problem goes away" (Joyce) or yelling, simmering, turning tail when things got too hot (Hank)

Also, Spike may be very insightful, but he's much less so about his own relationships

And here  I  thought I was the only one who held that view!  (People say he's so insighful and he is - when he's not attached to a person or situation. Ergo, he can see what Willow is going through in S4 because he doesn't particularly care about her. He can't seem to understand Buffy in S6 in part because he's too close to the situation, and his own desire cloud his judgement.  It's like the difference between hitting Tara on the nose in Family and punching Buffy in Smashed. In one he's bored more than anything, in the other he's in too deep.)

Somebody else reviewed that Buffy is a completely New Person, so it's interesting to see how others think she's still her (I lean to her being still her too). 

Yeah, I saw that comment and I respectfully agree to disagree.  You're not wrong. In fact that's part of the point of your story.

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Dawn on July 15, 2015 08:25pm Liked

Yes! Good for Dawn! She and Spike will make a great team sarching for Buffy.

Road Trip! Applause

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 04:50pm

Heh.  It's almost like you know what's (not) going to happen.  :D  Thanks!

All4Spike Replied on July 17, 2015 05:06pm

Well, poot. Seems I was getting all excited for nothing. Hopefully, there'll be something else just as exciting to look forward to! Wink

[Report This]
Piper057 Reviewed Dawn on July 15, 2015 04:52pm

Aw, Dawn and Spike!

I love these two together :)

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 04:49pm

Me too!  Thank you!  :)

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Dawn on July 15, 2015 04:33pm

Dawn thinking that Angel and Spike was a couple, that gave me a big smile. 

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 04:48pm

Woo!  I think I mentioned, Spike and Angel reallllly wanted to turn this into a Spangel story.  It's no wonder Dawn picked up on it.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Amayuscula Reviewed Dawn on July 15, 2015 09:52am Liked

Applause

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 04:47pm

Yay!  Thanks! :)

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Dawn on July 15, 2015 03:23am Liked

Bow After the last Dawn chapter I was terrified to read this one, but thank you thank you.

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 03:53pm

Ha!  Thank *you*! :)

[Report This]
Rebcake Reviewed Dawn on July 15, 2015 03:14am

Awww. Spike and Dawn rapprochement is one of my happy places. Especially when she's fierce. 

I don't know how you think you're not a couple.

Hee! You tell 'em, Dawnie! 

Nobody wants to sit? Just me?

I'm glad Lorne stopped by to drop some info, but I sort of feel that he didn't stress the important details enough. I hope there are enough clues for our heroes to do their thing! Namely, to find a monk for tracking purposes...

Consider my nails bitten!

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 05:57pm

Ah, but poor Lorne doesn't know those are important details.  ;)  

She can be so fierce.  It's a family trait.  At least she didn't threaten to set anybody on fire this time!  Thanks.

[Report This]
tshe4323 Reviewed Dawn on July 15, 2015 12:25am Liked

Awe.. Like this chapter 

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 05:55pm

Thank you! :)

[Report This]
ladypeyton Reviewed Dawn on July 14, 2015 11:33pm Liked

See now that? That's what I'm talking about! ;)

Your Dawn voice is amazing. In fact, all your voices are spot on. Turns out I don't need so much Spike/Buffy face time if I can have Spike/Dawn face time!

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 05:55pm

Yay!  We're getting there, one chapter at a time.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Dawn on July 14, 2015 10:57pm Liked

"End of the world never does. People say all manner of things they don't necessarily mean." Poor Spike thinking Buffy didn't mean those words.  Still haunting him, always will.  Current situation with Buffy not helping the matter either.

I was, ready to debut in my first and last performance as Woody Harrelson's father when in comes –" I literally LOL'd this line!  Yes a mob hit man, murderer of Federal judges (who may or may not have helped from the grassy knowl in Dallas November 1963)  GREAT reference.  I can see Lorne using it.

LOL on the slash hint.  Tip of the hat to all those seeing the UST between the two vampires there.

YES!  Dawn and Spike on the hunt.  Exactly as it should be.  Love Xander in this one (and like his with Dawn even in the comics)...could he tag along?

Love this,

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 03:52pm

I know, poor Spike, right?  *sniffle*

Hee, I'm glad you got that one.  I spent some time browsing 'famous hit men' before deciding Mr. Harrelson was the one.  Choosing the right references is half the fun (work?) of writing in the Buffyverse.  I tend to avoid pop culture, so it takes some serious effort for me. 

Spike will be quick to tell you it was just that ONE time.  :)

I suspect things will not go as you are envisioning (and definitely not with Xander tagging along!).  Thanks!

[Report This]
hiker96 Reviewed Dawn on July 14, 2015 10:20pm

Yahoo, Dawn and Spike together, now go get Buffy!

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 03:06pm

Yahoo!  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.