Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
nmcil Reviewed Lorne on June 20, 2017 04:21pm

Buffy really has gone crackers for Lindsey - WTF?

[Report This]
infinitecrisis Reviewed Lorne on March 31, 2017 10:47pm

Too much angst and I am scanning through the story. Good writing, but too much for me to handle right now lol. Poor Spike.. Buffy is gone as good. 

Author's Response on April 02, 2017 11:17pm

Ah, well, I do warn for angst for a reason.  :)

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Lorne on December 06, 2015 04:51pm Liked

Oh, Lorne. <3

Author's Response on December 10, 2015 03:53am

Lorne is the bestest.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Lorne on October 06, 2015 08:37pm Liked

You are really good at getting inside the perspective of each character! I really liked the chapter. I'm intrigued by the plot.

Author's Response on October 06, 2015 09:32pm

Lorne was *fun* to write.  :)  Intrigued is good.  Thank you!

[Report This]
Chrissel Reviewed Lorne on July 31, 2015 04:07am Liked

"...let out a grunt of surprise when the old man went crazed spinning-Yoda on Lindsey's jean-clad tushie"

LOVED this line!!

Author's Response on August 01, 2015 06:51pm

Ha, I'm glad you liked that.  

Thanks!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Lorne on July 30, 2015 12:11am Liked

I'm very torn about Lindsey, but I'm still hoping Buffy can get him to undo whatever he did and kick his ass for doing it in the first place. I just hope he doesn't weasel all that somewhat good work and steps she made by making them a team. Because NO.

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 07:16pm

It's hard to say which way Lindsey will go at this point...  Thanks!

[Report This]
CupcakeCute Reviewed Lorne on July 24, 2015 05:19pm

Lorne chapter!!!!! Ahem, I kinda adore Lorne (and you write a fantastic Lorne voice btw). I'm happy that he didn't have to kill Lindsey in this reality, and that Lindsey lived as he's pretty much the only help there could be in getting Buffy's memories back. I really love Lindsey's self-aware snarkiness in this chapter too, it was all so spot on. Now to get caught up on the rest of the story!

Author's Response on July 24, 2015 04:49pm

Yay Lorne voice!  He's just fun to write. 

I know, had Angel's plan succeeded... poor Buffy would've been stuck. 

Thanks!

[Report This]
Rebcake Reviewed Lorne on July 13, 2015 06:35am

Oh ho! Lindsey has problems besides Angel or the Senior Partners. You'd think he'd work on making a few more allies in his quest for vengeance. I guess Buffy is sort of one, and formidable at that, but that's a lot of bridges burned, dude. At least he didn't stand by and allow semi-innocent Lorne to be needlessly slaughtered. That's one point in his favor.

Poor Lorne. There really wasn't a good outcome for him in this scenario. Failure might even be the best possible. At least he can pass on the "vessel" tidbit to someone who might be able to follow the clue trail. 

Author's Response on July 14, 2015 04:53pm

Okay, totally off topic and neurotic, but *thank you* for spelling Lindsey right.  Almost nobody does in reviews, and... oh my god.  It's driving me crazy.   Whew.  Now that that's out of the way...

Lindsey has an unpredictable set of mores, which makes him interesting to play with.  But that speech about being part of the team always seemed sincere to me, and Lorne's actions after especially shocking. 

Dun dun dun... more plot!  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Lorne on July 12, 2015 06:57am

First off, ypur Lorne voice is excellent -ok I haven't seen him but for a few minutes for this feels right - and the humor is a nice change from the heavy ansgst of previous chapters (never mind that he nearly gets killed here. That's the buffyverse for you!)

This is the first chapter referencing Ats though that I feel a bit lost here. (the lindsay chapter was so elegantly constructed that I knew I was missing stuff and didn't care. This chapter is more straightforward hence me more aware of my own ignorance.) 

 

Ok Buffy's "the Vessel" What the hell does that mean, even?  This does not sound promising. The plot thickens! (I do not trust that the story mightn't end with Buffy's death.)

Lindsay seems to be the Spike stand-in in this (except the Faith chapter when she picks up the baton) in terms of a lot of fanfiction tropes (and your deconstruction thereof.) The blue eyes and Buffy's immediate (implied) attraction to him in S2, the anti-hero or ambiguous moral status, the fact that he saves Buffy but also violates her, that he says he can change and she doesn't exactly forgive him but she doesn't take his head off, either. (I was wrong when I guessed he'd be in for a tongue lashing or ass kicking.)

And certainly Spike does bad things in canon and we - and Buffy - forgive him, so this story seems to be asking, "When do we chose to forgive a character who does bad or ammoral things? if Spike can be forgiven so shouldn't Lindsay?"

 

One nitpick?  Lorne was not happy. And not unhappy in the 'somebody drank my perfectly chilled Perrier a

That first part sounds weird and I had to re-read "Lorne was not happy. And not unhappy..." at least a couple of times reads like a double-negative, which it isn't, but would "Lorne was unhappy. And not unhappy in the..." be a little less clunky?

Author's Response on July 12, 2015 05:55pm

You aren't not unwrong.  :)  It would make for better parallel construction too.  In my head, Lorne is far more likely to say he's not happy than unhappy, so I guess that's why it never stood out to me. 

Buffy has a very hard time giving up on anybody who shows even a hint of remorse, or potential for redemption.  No matter what they've done to her.  She's far more forgiving than most of us (possibly to a fault).  And, in a sense, this is the first betrayal she's experienced, not one in a loooong list of betrayals.  She's maybe more open to forgiving him than we would expect from canon Buffy.  I don't think Buffy's letting Lindsey off quite so much as there are bigger problems to deal with right now.  But I know it's definitely not what anybody expected...  I'm never quite sure if it's good that my stories take such unexpected turns, or a sign that I Missed Something Important in charcteriztion or plot.  I suspect I wouldn't manage such twists if I were posting as I went; everybody's surety that Buffy would kill Lindsey on sight would've made me hesitant to follow this path.  Even now, I keep going over what's to come, to see if I went wrong somewhere.  But my betas didn't seem to think so, so I guess that's a good sign. 

Yay for more plot!  A fair bit of this is divergent from canon.  Buffy, obviously, but also absolutely everything with Shri Shamaya.  You're not meant to know anything about him, if that helps.

Thanks!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Lorne on July 11, 2015 12:39pm Liked

That's more like it! I was never comfortable either with Angel ordering Lorne to kill Lyndsey or with him doing so.

Now, is Lyndsey ready to restore Buffy's memories? Or not.

And... back to the battle.... 

Author's Response on July 11, 2015 10:37pm

That scene never sat well with me either.  It still shocks me, even when I know what's coming.

Ahaha.  That would be too easy!  Thanks!  :)

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Lorne on July 11, 2015 08:51am

So Angel still planned to have Lindsey killed. That plan always disturbed me. Having him helping out first and then more or less shot him in the back, an evil, plan. Buffy rescued him to get some answers and he seems honest with her. It will be interesting to see what he will say after they check on Eve.

Author's Response on July 11, 2015 10:26pm

That scene still bothers me every time I watch it.  :(

Lindsey tends to be full of surprises (even to himself).  It may be interesting indeed!  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Lorne on July 10, 2015 11:50pm Liked

Oh I really enjoyed this chapter on many levels.  First your Lorne was excellent, really captured his thought process and his conflict over his orders for that matter.

Second the hint with this vessel thing....I sense a bigger plot then when will Buffy get her memories back.

Lindsey is alive but Buffy is on to him so that is good.  I liked that he was fairly (Lindsey style) honest with her this go-round.  He admitted he had lied about a lot of things including the potential for redemption and grey areas.  She needed to hear that from him even though she's been set straight about who he really is.

I'm looking forward to where you take us now that TV canon is largely dealt with.  Virgin territory.

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 11, 2015 10:25pm

Lorne was fun to write.  Coming up with showbiz references is somewhat easier than comic references for me, so that didn't hurt, but he's not a character I've ever written before (that I remember), and certainly not from his POV. 

Yes!  There is More Plot!  Someday I'll manage to write an in-your-face plotty action story (I can dream), but for now, subtle, quietly there plot is the best I can do.  :)

Lindsey has moments where he surprises you (and probably himself), and Buffy seems to bring it out in him. 

Virgin territory.  Sounds naughty.  ;)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Barb C Reviewed Lorne on July 10, 2015 10:51pm

Ooh, now that's an interesting twist!  (I always felt awful sorry for Lorne -- Angel couldn't have found anyone else to do his dirty work?)

Author's Response on July 11, 2015 10:07pm

No matter how I try to fanwank the canon in my mind, it still shocks me every time I see that scene.  I guess it was the person Lindsey would least expect it from... and the character the audience would least expect it from.  Joss does like his twists.

Yay!  A review!  Thank you!  :)

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.