Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
nmcil Reviewed Spike on June 20, 2017 03:49pm

Always felt that Angel went for suicide by CoTBT grand exit with his utterly crazy plan to take on the Senior Partners - unfortunately he dragged in all his friends with him.  

[Report This]
DeamonQueen Reviewed Spike on May 22, 2016 11:31am

Ouch! You enjoy making people hurt don't you? I really wish this stupid crazy Buffy remembers soon! I really hope! 

Author's Response on May 24, 2016 04:55pm

Aw, poor Buffster, it's not her fault!  Thanks!  :)

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Spike on December 06, 2015 04:40pm Liked

*deaded* Amazing characterisation wherever I look. How do you even.

Author's Response on December 10, 2015 03:53am

Aw!  Characterization is really important to me, so I try.  Thank you!

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Spike on November 08, 2015 02:01am

Buffy and her Slayer Righteous Fury - Be interesting to see how you develop Angel's part in the LA Apocalypse.  My take on Angel's LA Choice - it was his Grand Exit ala Suicide except that he apparently did not give any thought to all the innocent people he would subject to the demon army.  Unless his last battle was going to be fought in some mystical and magical barrier he was going not only to take down his friends but a lot of LA people as well. 

Author's Response on November 20, 2015 01:23am

Yeah, I don't think either Angel (Watsonian) or the writers (Doylian) thought that one through very well.  Thanks!

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Spike on October 12, 2015 07:56pm Liked

Fun fact: ululated is one of my favorite words ever. 

FYI... I'm not sure if you care at this point, but you have a repeated phrase toward the beginning of the chapter, "The pouring rain had turned to turned to a light drizzle..."

Author's Response on October 13, 2015 03:39pm

Oh, good catch.  I should fix that.  At least on here.  On FF.net, it's such a pain to fix things.  But I feel wrong if I fix something here and not there, and then I don't do it.

Yes, I have OCD issues.  :P

Ululated is the best word.  I try to work it in whenever I can.  :)   Thanks!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Spike on October 06, 2015 07:42pm Liked

Great chapter! I loved it!

Author's Response on October 06, 2015 09:31pm

Thank you!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Spike on July 29, 2015 11:57pm Liked

Wow. Despite lack of memories she didn't kill them when she had a chance. That definitely means something on top of it she had a good reason they were responsible for what happen even if they didn't mean to.

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 07:15pm

Ah, yes.  Much restraint on her part.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Rebcake Reviewed Spike on July 13, 2015 06:30am

Now and then he would catch a glimpse of Buffy as she dashed from house to house, but the memory of the massacre they'd been unable to prevent – worse, had been the cause of – was more than enough to keep Spike focused on the task at hand.

Yeah, not the greatest plan, you guys. Will either of them learn to count the collateral damage before making the big stupid heroic gesture? I can't tell...

Author's Response on July 14, 2015 04:48pm

I don't know about Spike, but you know Angel's going to spend plenty of quality brooding time wondering about just this when it's all over...

Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Spike on July 09, 2015 02:44pm

Chapter 12: I know I've been terrible about reviewing so long story short: MORE PLASE! (And I sent you a present in an email, have you seen it?) I'm working backwards here. And you say you love my insights so baby, be prepared 'cause I'm writing a book here.

BTW, I'm playing a game called Spot the Spuffy Trope that Spuffy_luvr is Deconstructing. 'cause there's all sorts in this story, seamlessly interwoven with your deconstruction/reconstruction of the canon series.  Hell, this is barely a Spuffy story at all - I'd argue that this isn't "spuffy" per se, it's "gen" and I LOVE that about it. It's telling me a story that's not just about "let's get Spike and Buffy in bed for schmoopy/porny sexytimes!" It's not like anything else currently at EF and 

"Got work to do. We can flog ourselves later."

*LOL*  I've read just enough about what goes down in canon to be able to follow this chapter if not understand why Angel thought shut a shitty idea was a good one in the first place. (it sounds shitty to me anyway. I know just enough about NFA to be slightly dangerous but still befuddled. 

You don't mention Wesley Illyria is venting herself on the dragon, so I assume that he is dead here also. Wasn't he researching something related to Lindsay and Buffy, or now that they've got Linday I guess that's done? I also assumed Lorne killing Lindsay at Angel's request doesn't happen here, that wouldn't make sense in your story, would it?  

She was covered with blood and gore, and wounds to match his own, but he thought she'd never been more beautiful.

I do enjoy fics where Spike is admiring her skill and grace - tiny little kink o' mine. Another trope you smash here - Spike and Buffy working side by side in unison, in perfect sync and wordless understanding. (and the author writing about it as breathlessly and with as much purple prose as if it were a sex scene.)

I tend to dislike it when a character is hurt, wounded, dirty, sick and looks horrible but her admirer thinks so anyway just because it's such an overused line. But it does make sense here; she would be beautiful to the warrior and demon sides of Spike. That IS the context of her relationship with Spike and Angel: love, sex and death.

"She can't hate us too much if she's here, eh?"

Oh Spke. once again dude, how wrong can you possibly be? 

"And I'm not seeing it."  / "Get out of my face. I'm not too particular which demons I cut down just now."

Kudos to the Chosen call-back. Righteous anger is righteous. And it's a beautiful thing. You write Buffy very very well here in just a few short lines. Buffy doesn't waste time on a lot of fancy words - when she does speak, when she's moved enough by great emotion, she can really cut to the bone.

In fact, I have no problem imagining a canon Buffy saying a variation of this to her manpires, probably with disappointment in her tone as well. Assuming she said anything at all and didn't just glare at  them. "if looks could stake."  Buffy being angry and handing out a tongue lashing then letting them go is very Buffy to me, the Warrior and the Woman, fierce but also merciful, bitchy and compassionate. Which is probably why you write her so well - you see her with perfect clarity.  

And maybe that's part of the secret to solving the dilemma of Buffy? Even with amnesia she's still standing in plain sight, if only someone looks deeply or carefully enough? It feels like Faith and Xander were getting close to that point in the last chapter, cracking the mystically-imposes shell open a bit. As if Buffy doesn't have enough self-constructed walls 

Buffy's job is to stop apocalypses. Her manpires, who swore she inspired them to do good, who she protected and went to bat for time and again at the risk of her friends' disapproval, have unleashed Hell on earh and in her hometown no less? It makes whatever they've done in the past look like small potatoes. Yeah, she'd be angry and disappointed, to say the very least. 

If anything I'd say the guys are getting off easy here - certainly Xander would say that. Start an apocalypse, cause a massacre, get off with a tongue lashing? Xander would definitely say they're getting off easy, extenuating circumstances or no. 

She was trembling now, one arm wrapped tight around herself, the other brandishing a blood-soaked stake.

Ok, I know that this is a gesture Buffy does do, I had to think about when exactly and remembered Empty Places and Touched specifically, as well as mulitple times in S2, S4, etc.. But I can't think of a time she's done this while holding a weapon (but maybe you do?) It seems like an awkward thing to do here when she's got a stake in one hand. And potentially dangerous. (How do you move your arm to stake a vamp if you're holding your arm against your body, Buffy?) 

But everything and anything in this fic is also a potential clue. And in the earlier chapter you have her prominetly wrapping her arms around herself while in the cage listening to Spike. So twice in his presence she hugs herself. Coincidence or no? Methinks either there's something to do with Lindsay's magic in that gesture or - as usual - I'm totally off base. I've been completly wrong so far, why stop now?

But the fact that the magic is sourced on her very body, on the tattoos - Buffy's body holds a lot of importance in this story and not in the usual shippy fic ways. (Or S8 comics ways.) there's violation here all right but it's not played for laughs.

She gagged, ashen, remembering the horrors inside anew.

This version of Buffy seems to have a bodily remembrance of how to fight beyond the tricks Lindsay taught her, but no conscious memory of the deaths she's already seen (and has she seen anything in show canon approaching this? I don't recall that she does.) So she's not prepared for this level of death and destruction either way. Poor Buffy, Lindsay "recreated" her, as surely as Spike created the Buffybot, Angel created Drusilla, and the WC created the Slayers, with only one thought in mind, one purpose and goal. 

So she's being traumatized now in her current memory-less state; when her memories come back she'll be traumatized yet again - I imagine it would not be unlike Spike and Angel getting their souls back on some level; her mother's death, her entire life come crashing back into her along with the knowledge of the past few months, the hurt she inadvertently caused people she loves (especially Dawn), the way she's been violated and used; that she couldn't / didn't step in to stop Angel's apocalypse sooner.  Buffy is in for a world of more hurt and Lindsay is in for a major ass kicking.

Author's Response on July 10, 2015 07:12am

Yay, a book!

Well, to be fair, I have my own share of how to get Buffy and Spike together stories... :)  Hence the desire to try something more gen and less shippy this time around.

You know you're going to give in and watch AtS S5 any day now.  It's coming.  Although, the next chapter will be the last one to focus on canon (I think).  

This Buffy has zero emotional ties to 'her' vampires (other than perhaps being grateful to Spike for filling her in on Dawn), so she's going to be even less impressed by their grand plan.  I think her not staking them is a testament to how willing she is to give the benefit of the doubt in any situation.  She's often painted as having a very black-and-white view, or being overly righteous, but that's not usually the case.  Now that she's been de-brainwashed at least a little, her usual, more flexible self is starting to show through.  (We could get into a huge discussion on just how much of her personality is innate and unalterable, and how much is formed by her experiences...)

"Palimpsest" is the only time I've deliberately used motifs and symbolism throughout (and either I suck at it and nobody caught them, or nobody commented, so that was the end of that experiment).  So, if Buffy's hugging herself, it's because she's feeling confused and upset, and I'm trying to show, not tell.  Or perhaps subtly call attention to the way her bare arms are tattoo-free (back in the cell).  :p  Or we could get all English class and say she's trying to hold her fractured sense of self together.  :)  I think I put in a lot of things subconsciously, without deliberate planning, or perhaps I do include them on purpose, but by the time I get around to posting, I've forgetten a lot of my thought processes and am pleasantly surprised by the associations others make.   So, yes, clues are there, but maybe not with such brilliant foresight as you're attributing to me.  Oh - wait.  I did it wrong again.  Yes, I *am* brilliant, and I thank you for noticing. :)

Lindsey created a Slayer the Watcher's Council would approve of, that's for sure.  

The good thing about all the insightful reviews from you guys is it makes me have to go back and re-consider themes, and character motivations and, well, everything.  I often go in a different direction than what readers predict, and I have to double check that, yes, it does work despite being nothing like what anybody expected - or fix it until I think it will pass muster.  (I think there are times when real, published fiction would benefit from the same chapter by chapter analysis from fans...)

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Spike on July 08, 2015 04:17pm

Some good interaction between Angel and Spike. It's nice to see them being friendly. Buffy was right about what she said, this was Angel's fault. I suppose that Lindsey still is alive, Angel wouldn't have him killed when they can need him for Buffy.

Author's Response on July 10, 2015 06:40am

Well, I can't promise you anything with regards to Lindsey or Angel.  ;)

Spike and Angel were determined to make this story all about the Spangel... I had to rein them in a number of times.  

Thanks!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Spike on July 08, 2015 01:32pm Liked

Very believable fight scene and confrontation with Buffy. I wonder what it's going to take for somebody to find the forgetting tattoo which Lyndsey gave her?

Author's Response on July 10, 2015 06:38am

Heh, I suspect you know the answer to that.   But, shhhh.... it'll be our little secret.   ;)

Muy gracias!

[Report This]
Amayuscula Reviewed Spike on July 08, 2015 10:01am Liked

Applause

Author's Response on July 10, 2015 06:35am

Gracias!

[Report This]
fyreburned Reviewed Spike on July 08, 2015 03:22am Liked

Definitely a rude awakening for those guys. That probably made Angel see what a monstrous thing he'd done more so than anything else. Poor Spike. Trying to help, to do what's right., or at least what's best; and he's adjudged dirty by affiliation.

Author's Response on July 10, 2015 06:35am

It was a very powerful message and image to end on as a TV finale, but makes less sense when you start thinking about what must've happened after.  On the plus side, that final moment of the show provides an excellent starting point for fanfiction.  :)

Thanks!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Spike on July 08, 2015 03:05am Liked

 

Poor Buffy...still she isn't wrong about the stupidity of Angel starting that particular apacolypse.  If you want to commit suicide don't take all your friends and half the town with you!

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 10, 2015 06:32am

I understand the underlying metaphor they were going with, but the whole 'never giving up no matter the odds and striking a blow against evil no matter the cost' thing doesn't translate well into the in-world universe...  I'm not sure the writers thought that through.  They're not as obsessed as us fans.  ;)

Thanks!

[Report This]
CupcakeCute Reviewed Spike on July 08, 2015 01:17am

At first, I think it could seem like Buffy's being harsh at the end, but really I can see how she would feel that way without any emotional connection to Angel or sympathy for a lot of his team (which includes another vampire who she's heard awful stuff about and an Old One). At the same time, Buffy's such a forgiving person that this new way of seeing things feels incredibly different from how she usually is. It seemed very painful for both Spike and Angel and really emphasizes just how much her experiences shaped her and very interesting to see.

I also felt a lot for Spike this chapter because damn it he loves Buffy so much that it hurts me. Wonderful job, as usual, I look forward to your next update :D

Author's Response on July 10, 2015 06:29am

Buffy's very forgiving indeed, but I think she limits her forgiveness to those who show remorse or a desire to change, neither of which are likely obvious to her from the vampires' actions.  Still, she didn't even try to stake them, which is a huge improvement over the last time she saw them... :)

Thanks!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.