Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Lindsey on December 06, 2015 10:04am Liked

Being not very good at evil, such an interesting idea.

Author's Response on December 10, 2015 03:52am

Heh, Lindsey tries so hard.  And yet he just can't quite get there.  Thank you! :)

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Lindsey on October 12, 2015 02:01am Liked

Oh, Lindsey, you're such an evil jerk. You deserve your Groundhog Day hell. 

So, Lindsey was hiding/controlling Buffy with tattoos. You'd think the gang would have checked Buffy over for those since Lindsey was known to use magic tats on himself. I know they were hidden where the sun don't shine, but I would have thought Buffy would have been given a thoroug once over when she got to England. Perhaps Lindsey used invisible ink, similar to the kind found in those magic ink activity books (it's even called magic ink! I'm on to something). Wait! Now that I think about it, those magic ink pens smell like death. Seriously, have you ever been stuck in a car during a long road trip with 2 kids happily working with those books? They might be quiet, but it's not long untill everyone is hallucinating from the fumes. Perhaps this is why Buffy smells different. I think I'm on to something!

Author's Response on October 12, 2015 03:53pm

Heh, I think you are *definitely* on to something!  :D

Lindsey is amoral and self-serving, but he does have some limits.  And that's all I'll say about the tattoos. 

Thanks!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Lindsey on October 06, 2015 03:36pm Liked

The POV of Lindsey is interesting. He isn't an hero like Spike, he isn't perfect, but he isn't completely evil. He is human. And I think that- because of that- he is the most real character of the show. 

Author's Response on October 06, 2015 04:27pm

I didn't much care about Lindsey one way or the other before, but I fell in love with him while writing this story.  He's truly conflicted, and it always surprised me how he was written off as irredeemable in a show that was all about redemption. 

Thanks!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Lindsey on July 29, 2015 11:26pm Liked

I wonder if Lindsey saw how much Buffy was hurting by what he did to her he might have felt a little bad. I didn't think about the tattoos being someplace they wouldn't have seen. Didn't think he would have had time to do it. Pluse, eh shame on him for doing that to a person when they are unaware. I hope Buffy with the new information she has learned shows up and puts the hurt on her supposedly Watcher Lindsey for what he did to her.

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 07:13pm

Lindsey's pretty morally grey, so... He did hesitate, at least.  Thanks!

[Report This]
nojiri23 Reviewed Lindsey on July 04, 2015 03:38pm Liked

Love the way you tackled this chapter! Applause

Author's Response on July 05, 2015 06:25am

I wasn't sure how well it would be received.  Glad you enjoyed it!  Thanks!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Lindsey on July 04, 2015 09:08am

I thought that Buffy's tattoes would be invisible, but it seems they just areat an hard to see place. Buffy should have seen and wondered about them though. I suppose that something extra is worked in into the memories part, so that she can't remember the tattoes either.

Good use of the pocket universe, that was really creepy on the show.

Author's Response on July 05, 2015 06:22am

There is an answer (and a simple one), but that's the next mystery to be solved.  :)

I wasn't sure how this chapter would turn out with the repetition.  Glad you liked it!  Thanks!

[Report This]
Piper057 Reviewed Lindsey on July 04, 2015 06:47am

God, I just love the way you write.

I love your wonderful language, the way you create a plot, all these little details that make these characters so recognizable.

And I love your freguent updates. :D

Thank you!

 

Author's Response on July 05, 2015 06:18am

Aw, thank you so much!  All things I try to improve with every story, so that's lovely to hear.

I very much prefer writing the story ahead of time and getting it polished before starting to post.  This way you'll never have to wait long, or be left with a WIP.  (Unless I die.  And even then, my betas have my stories!)  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Rebcake Reviewed Lindsey on July 04, 2015 05:41am

In the end, he brands her anyway. He tattoos Buffy with the protection glyphs he dares not use on himself – glyphs not intended for mortals – carefully inking them onto skin unlikely to be bared to others' eyes, at least not until after the Slayer has served his purposes. Even the Powers That Be won't see Buffy coming now.

And then Lindsey adds something more: a set of runes designed to keep her memories from returning.

Whew! The suspense was killing me! Although, it's still pretty amazing that a guy like Lindsey managed to discover such powerful mojo. Now, of course, I'm curious just where these tattoos are, and if perhaps Spike might get close enough to discover them. ;-)

It sickens him that Angel is the one he trusts to ask for help. It sickens him more that Angel gives it. Just like that. Fucking hero.

Cool technique with the memories unfolding, btw. Lindsey being so angry that he is actually able to focus on that under torture...that's some serious rage. Not so much into the self-reflection, our Lindsey.

Author's Response on July 05, 2015 06:13am

Lindsey seems to have picked up some things on his travels.  Nepal seems to be the place for serious mojo (and now I'm wondering if he ran into Oz - there's fic I would like to see).

Wait, what, are you suggesting everything that's happened to Lindsey is NOT all Angel's fault? ;)

Thanks!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Lindsey on July 03, 2015 10:37pm Liked

OH this chapter makes so much sense (not only for your story but why the amulet was sent to Angel in canon and why the Senior Partners had given it to him in the first place!  OF Course they hoped to trap Angel in the amulet!  It makes sense they would pocket it in any event after the use...in canon they had as much to fear with Souled Spike since they didn't know if HE was the one in prophecy!...but back to your wonderful story...)

And then Lindsey adds something more: a set of runes designed to keep her memories from returning.  AH!  Now we see how and why (and how to fix it).  Hope Willow takes a little time to check Buffy for magic.  Kiind of icky that he must have tattooed her where it wouldn't be seen...seems like Lindsey has seen more of Buffy than she would have felt comfortable with had she been asked.

Excellent way you told the story in this chapter.  You managed to show Lindsey undergoing the basement of torture over and over  while exposing new "memories".  Perfect was for expository reveals at the same time conveying a long drawn out process over several sessions.  Bravo!

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 05, 2015 06:02am

The natural assumption is that Lindsey got his creeper on, but I couldn't imagine him actually doing that.  **small spoiler** The answer is much less disturbing than you think.  :)

I'm glad you liked the structure.  Each of my betas' responses was an initial 'WTF is happening? Oh, I get it.'  I didn't know if I should change it or not, but... I couldn't think of a better way to get all the important scenes in with Lindsey without going back to the chronological beginning in 'story' time.  Thanks!

[Report This]
CupcakeCute Reviewed Lindsey on July 03, 2015 09:06pm Liked

THE MYSTERY IS SOLVED! Well, mostly. I don't like the sound of those tattoos and runes being basically undetectable, so that would take a lot of figuring out. I do hope that Buffy gets her memories back. I'm still really curious to see her new impressions of old things thoughts and how it's developed since we last saw her. What will change with such different formative experiences? I can't wait to find out!

I have to say, I do like that Lindsey's plan didn't bring Angel to his knees, because it's so fitting for who he was in S5. He was so wrapped up in Wolfram and Hart. Besides that, Angel really only seemed to think about Buffy when he was competing with Spike. The rest of the time...ehhh, he just didn't really seem to feel about her the way he did, say, six years prior. I think he cared, but she definitely wasn't the center of his universe. So Spike and Angel's reactions to Lindsey mentioning Buffy were just spot on! Kudos to you! I eagerly await your next update :)

Author's Response on July 05, 2015 05:42am

The first mystery, at least.  :)  We'll get back to Buffy in a few chapters.

The problem with Buffy and Angel being on separate shows is that we're being told it's this great love, but not *shown* it because they don't interact, and... Like you said, eh.  Angel and Spike have very different priorities and ways of handling things too.  I'm glad that came through in how they reacted.  Thanks!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.