Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
490440 Reviewed Spike on December 15, 2016 07:04pm

Andrews dialogue is hilarious.

Author's Response on March 16, 2017 05:35am

*is very behind on reviews*

Andrew's head was hard for me to get into, so I'm glad you enjoyed it.  Thanks! :)

[Report This]
DeamonQueen Reviewed Spike on May 22, 2016 10:55am

Poor Spike. He wanted Buffy to live and she died anyway. I really feel for him. I hope things in this fic will begin to look up soon and I hope that Buffy will make an appearance too. Anyway, excited to see what happens so I'm gonna go and read the next one now!

Author's Response on May 24, 2016 04:51pm

Poor Spike, finding out his grand gesture was meaningless.  *sniffle*  Thank you!

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Spike on December 05, 2015 05:50am Liked

Oh, wow. And: called it! And: I giggled at Spike calling Angel's team minions. And also: Andrew is his usual adorable self. :D

Author's Response on December 10, 2015 03:48am

Yay!  Thank you!

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Spike on November 07, 2015 06:20pm

Powerful treatment of his memories filtered through his encounter with Dana - 

Author's Response on November 20, 2015 01:21am

Oh, yeah.  Ouch!  Thanks!

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Spike on October 07, 2015 12:55am Liked

Now I wish I'd paid more attention to Angel season 5 :). As far as I can remember, you're sticking pretty closely to the storyline, which means Lindsey is still Doyle. He clearly likes pretending like people he's not so he can manipulate others. However, you now have him smelling like Buffy, so I'd venture a guess that he'd answer to the name Rupert as well. 

Author's Response on October 06, 2015 10:39pm

*zips lips*  I'll never tell!  :)

But, yes, I do stick quite closely to canon AtS S5. 

Thanks!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Spike on October 05, 2015 08:58am Liked

Poor Spike! He is a hero but doesn't know it and that makes him better than Angel. He is believed to be selfish, but all he has ever done has shown the exact opposite. Good chapter!

Author's Response on October 05, 2015 03:42pm

Thank you!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Spike on July 29, 2015 01:39am Liked

So, the Doyle imposter, was also the Giles imposter talk about being a busy ex-lawyer.  I hadn't realized how busy Lindsey's been since Darla. 

 

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 02:26pm

Eh, with no job, he's got a lot of time on his hands.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
relurker Reviewed Spike on July 05, 2015 02:57pm

Another very good chapter: I like it when the story stays within canon but there are elements that make the plot progress.

The Buffy smell on Lindsay: very intriguing.

Author's Response on July 05, 2015 04:01pm

Hey, thanks for following me over here.  Yay!

Changing just a few things but making it still make sense with canon progression takes a lot of work.  Some aspects are easier than straight AU, but some are much harder.  Thanks!

[Report This]
Rebcake Reviewed Spike on June 19, 2015 05:35am Liked

Maybe Sunshine would agree to be his new muse

Harmony might have something to say about that. Another fine chapter, and it makes sense that Spike would come unmoored without any anchor. Angel doesn't count, even if he can be an immovable object. 

Eve and Lindsey such slippery devils. I am very pleased that there is a CLUE, even with all their machinations. Hurrah!

I have a question about Buffy's amnesia. I actually had a bout of same when I was in a car accident, and my memory came back over the course of a few days. So, is Buffy's memory loss a result of trauma or because Lindsey doped her with tincture of amnesia or something? I'm hoping for more from her POV soon!

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:29pm

Heh, Harmony might, indeed.  Poor Harmony. 

I have never met somebody who's actually had amnesia (that I know about, anyhow).  That had to have been scary.  I'm glad it went away!  But, if I answered your question, that would be telling... I don't think it's too spoilery to reveal that we'll get back to Buffy's POV in chapter eight, though.

Thanks!

[Report This]
fyreburned Reviewed Spike on June 19, 2015 02:58am Liked

Great chapter. I almost always find writing situated! during Damages (? epis. title?), including Spike and Dana, pretty moving. There'should just no way around it, even with unique or surprise twists, or even Buffy added to the mix; it's still emotionally moving  about the two of them.

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:25pm

It was a very powerful episode, indeed.  At what point do you stop getting to use the victim card and have to take responibility?  It's something to chew on, for sure.  Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Spike on June 19, 2015 02:43am

Well since I have very little familiarity with AtS - did Dana echo Buffy's words in Damages like this? 

It feels very painful and bitter that Fred is the one who Spike learns of Buffy's death from, and Spike's mourning the loss and "failure" when Fred herself will soon be hollowed out by illyria. I assume that's an intentional parallel on your part. 

His dialogue with Angel is always fascinating throughout this chapter, as is the way you make Angel grouchy and world-weary but you don't "demonize" him as so many Spuffy writers do.  He and Spike are important to one another, just as Buffy is important to both of them; the scene where Spike tries to get Angel to mourn with him is aces.


I can well imagine that Spike would be torn to pieces because he tried to give his life specifically so Buffy could live ("You have to go on living / So one of us is living"), so he would feel like a faiilure, like the one time he was utterly and completely unselfish was still bolloxed up. Perrhaps not unlike the depression and despair Buffy felt in S6 after she was ripped from what she thought was her final rest and everything went pear-shaped.

"No you don't, but thanks for saying it," he says. Not because he doesn't believe her, but because he doesn't want to be tempted. What he is doing is bigger than both of them.

YES. Of course she loves him and of course he knows but has to do something completely unselfish this time.

Not too long to wait for chapter 5 I hope? I wonder whose POV that will be in.

 

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:24pm

No, Dana definitely did not.  Spike got an extra heaping of guilt, this time.

I love Angel.  He's only... well, not human.  But flawed.  Same as every single other Buffyverse character.  And S5 is all about the Spangel.  Those two have great chemistry.  And they wanted to let it out, no matter how much I tried to stop them.

Yeah, he did the right thing, and there was no reward, either in terms of saving the girl or getting to die a Champion.  Poor Spike. 

Thanks!

 

RedSatinDoll Replied on June 20, 2015 12:12am

He's only... well, not human.  But flawed.  Same as every single other Buffyverse character.

Indeed! Expecting perfection or sainthood is utterly foolish - but I do believe that is one of the themes of the Buffyverse, trying to mold oneself to the expectations of others or what one believes others want, hoping to win approval and love (Buffy, Willow, Spike, Anya, Tara). Angel is sort of - well, he wanted to be Buffy's white knight early in btvs but kept cocking it up at every turn; as did Spike in later seasons but in different ways.

And they wanted to let it out, no matter how much I tried to stop them.

gotta go with what the muses demand, right?  (Your Spangel gen conversation in Piece of Cake was one of my favorite things about that story so I know you can handle the chemistry quite well without making it porntastic. Unless you want to of course. *lol*)

Yeah, he did the right thing, and there was no reward, either in terms of saving the girl or getting to die a Champion.

Buffy could have warned him about that one: "Died twice, saved the world a lot and all I got was this lousy headstone (and a cheap tinsel-y umbrella)."

 

 

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Spike on June 18, 2015 05:22pm

Spike's reaction and how he think seems perfectly in character. Without Buffy he will need something else to give him a purpose. Unless this is ment to fool us, it seems like I was right, about Lindsey. I do wonder how he is planning this? He has influence over both Buffy and Spike it seems, but he can't use them the same times, since they will know he's a lier then.

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:18pm

Everybody's so sure it's Lindsey.  Well, except the people who have never seen 'Angel'.  ;)

Thanks!

[Report This]
nojiri23 Reviewed Spike on June 18, 2015 11:12am Liked

whoa.

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:17pm

Thanks!

[Report This]
Dactylgirl Reviewed Spike on June 18, 2015 08:28am Liked

This is intensely good! Like wow, I'm really enjoying it! Fascinated to see where you take this. I haven't watched much of AtS, even s5 but from what I do know of it, this is such a well done take on it, the very slight changes totally in keeping with how the characters would react to a situation like this. Spike's self destructive self loathing is very painfully real here too, just a great job overall.

Also, I got very confused by not Giles (who I'm assuming is that guy with an Angel vendetta whose name I've forgotten) I was like whoa, why is he is so out of character when the rest of the writing is perfect?? Then I got it and I felt stupid.

Looking forward to more ^_^

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:17pm

I was extremely worried that readers who care about characterization would get to the second chapter and be all, 'Welp, her characterization sucks, not reading this'.  Hence the vague note at the beginning.  Glad you pushed through!

The next few chapters will stick with S5 canon, but then we'll spin off again.  Hopefully you won't be too lost.  Thanks!

[Report This]
CupcakeCute Reviewed Spike on June 18, 2015 05:51am

Okay, so I love this so far. I find your meaning behind some of Spike's actions in Season 5 of Angel to make more sense than some of the ones he was given tbh and everything he did was very believable considering the circumstances. Your Spike voice is excellent and this chapter tore at my heart a little bit because wow if Buffy had died it would have made his death feel so pointless to him and even more tragic than it already was. Well done. Also, Lindsey is fake!Giles!!! (I'm pretty sure at least). That puts a lot of what he said in perspective. He's impersonating a lot of people lately, huh? :)

The scene with Dana quoting Buffy was really painful. Especially with Spike thinking Buffy is dead. But Andrew! Spike giving him a little crumb of friendship was actually sweet. Looking forward to the next chapter, I can't wait to see where this goes!

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:12pm

It's a lot easier to spin Spike not going to find Buffy when he thinks there's no Buffy to find.  *sniffle*

Oh, Lindsey.  Whatever have you done to earn everybody's distrust? ;)

I might have gotten a little teary, giving Dana Buffy's lines.  Poor Spike.  He just can't help but give Andrew crumbs, though, can he.  Thanks!

[Report This]
Aderyn Du Reviewed Spike on June 18, 2015 12:29am

Lovelace!! And Lucasta, no less. I'm a lit geek, so of course I sqee'd a bit when you used a quote from one of my favorites. Beautifully written, you've really got Spike's voice dead on in this. Love that he's getting a vague sense of Buffy from "Doyle"; can't wait to see how you turn the plot into a Spuffy pretzel (salty goodness with some serious twists).

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:08pm

Heh, it's been several months since I wrote this, so I was all, 'What?  Huh?  I didn't mean to!'  (and I don't remember names very well, so Lovelace and Lucasta didn't prompt anything...).  But then I remembered.  :)  I aways think of that line in relation to that scene. 

Yay for Spike voice!  Thanks!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Spike on June 17, 2015 11:38pm Liked

AHA Lindsey is the fake Giles!  He has Buffy and is planning on using her against Angel.  Nasty little man,

Great update.  Love how you are incorporating canon with this variation.

Kathleen

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:05pm

I don't think the big reveal is going to be very reveal-y.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.