Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
DeamonQueen Reviewed Giles on May 22, 2016 10:34am

Well, I can understand Giles' feelings about losing Buffy and he seemed to be in character in this fic. I am loving how you do such a thing. It seems you have a knack for that. All your cahracters so far are very accurate and I can really imagine them having the same mind set in this fic as is in the series. Anyway, for this chapter it seems the Scoobies have given up hope of finding Buffy or more precisely they have accepted that she is dead. It is is peaking my interest and I am really curious to find out what shall happen next. Off to the next one now!

Author's Response on May 24, 2016 04:50pm

Characterization is very important to me, so I always love to hear that I'm getting it right.  :)  Thank you!

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Giles on December 05, 2015 05:27am Liked

Oh, yeah, that's some great characterisation of s7 Giles! It isn't easy to love a Buffy.

Also, kudos on the sequence in which you switch points of view. V smooth and exciting. :)

Author's Response on December 10, 2015 03:48am

One of my goals for this story was to write multiple POVs (I've almost always stuck to Buffy and/or Spike before this), so it's nice to hear that it's smooth.  Thanks!

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Giles on October 07, 2015 12:33am Liked

Ok, so other dude is clearly not Giles. This version is definitely the real thing. 

I love this line, "Like a graveyard, and not the good kind.

Author's Response on October 06, 2015 10:38pm

The best thing about "Buffy" is the zippy dialogue, which... is not always what I'm good at.  So I love hearing that I managed some.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Giles on October 05, 2015 06:56am Liked

Oh-oh.. so who is with Buffy isn't Giles! Good chapter!

Author's Response on October 05, 2015 05:53am

And there it is.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Giles on July 29, 2015 01:11am Liked

Okay now I'm confused. Do I owe Giles an apology because if it wasn't him then I kinda do but at the same time he is still wanting to blame Spike for "keeping her from leaving." Still anti-Spike and I had hoped he would have realised his mistake. 

 

And yes I can see where being free from duty at the cost of his faux beloved daughter could very well be confusing and horrible.

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 02:26pm

Poor Giles, he's so very conflicted.  Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Giles on June 17, 2015 06:11pm

So - what I said about chapter two, about Giles voice seeming totally "off" - clearly that was on purpose because this chapter IS totally in-character and spot-on voice. So many little touches - the exchange with Xander especially and his thoughts about his place in "the children's " lives. There's something a bit patronizing in a way - they are children but have had to grow up in a crashing hurry, in part because he left them to fend for themselves. It's like he wants it both ways - to see them as children (which puts him above them as "the adult") but for them to grow up so he doesn't have to carry the responsibilities that come with being "the adult".

In other words, he's deeply conflicted (which is what makes him an interesting character.)

I’m getting too old for this, he thought. I can’t bear it any more. And wasn’t that why he’d fled for England last year, and only returned under threat of apocalypse?

An irony here - he was able to leave because he had the funds and resources; he could turn his back on his duty. Buffy (and the Scoobies) could not. I always felt that his leaving was symbolic of how (middle class) men have greater mobility in general than women throughout history - men go off on adventures, women stay home next to the hearth with the babies and aging parents and the farm. 

He hadn’t been able to love her the same way since, not now that he knew the inevitable agony that awaited him a second time.

You do such a wonderful job of striking a real balance here - you don't minimize, deny or whitewash what Giles did, but you don't bash him or turn him into a villain either. Your writing is very true to the spirit of the series itself, in which everyone has their own POV and no one is an entirely reliable narrator. You make his motives and actions make perfect sense and still stay true to canon.

I really like the character interactions here quite a bit - Xander seeking hope, Dawn and Willow working furiously, Willow incredibly determined and stubborn (but one feels, knocking her head against the same brick wall over and over? They need someone to bring the intuitiveness, the willingness to "find another way" to a new solution - but that was Buffy's strength.

IOW, in order to find Buffy, they need...Buffy.

“Shutup, you’ll panic the kid,” Faith hissed.

Perfect. All the voices are spot-on here: Faith's, Xander's, Willow's and Dawn's, down to small gestures (Dawn grabbing the walkie-talkie impatiently; Willow's frustration when the spell fails, etc.)

Dawn’s unwavering faith, her childish but tempting logic, was like a lance to his heart. He hadn’t said goodbye either. Nor had they reconciled. Not properly. But he would. He would make amends the moment they found her.

OUCH.

Whether or not that actually happens either, I'm sure he intends it to happen. I don't imagine that process will be smooth either - two brittle, damaged people trying to get over that wall they've built between them? Family therapy would be most helpful here. But this being the Buffyverse that ain't happening. (What is Joss' deal with the mental health profession anyway?)

Now I'm wondering what he means by "amends", if he actually has a clue what that might entail.

When Giles realized the feeling coursing through him was predominantly relief, he fell to his knees and vomited.

WOW. That is one hell of a sentence to end on! It's so - Giles. Those conflicted feelings again, conflict so deep it splits him apart.

 

Oh and in response to another review who talked about Giles distrusting Spike - Giles doesn't trust either of her vampire lovers. There's a lot of history there - if he had done his job the first time, if he hadn't "indiulged" Buffy in S1-2, Jenny might still be alive. And so forth. It's impossible to analyze anyone's reactions to Spike without taking Angel into account.

Author's Response on June 17, 2015 04:11pm

Somebody else pointed out my (unintentional, but I'm going to claim it was intentional!) symbolism of Giles teetering on the brink of the crater.  I rather like that.  Poor Giles.  I love him so.

I also love your point that they need Buffy to find Buffy.

Heh, but therapy would pretty much erase all the drama and tension between characters.  Much less interesting.  :p

Giles may be more anti-Spike at the moment than usual, but I'm pretty sure it's understandable given their history and the very human need to blame somebody. 

Oh, and hey.  You reviewed, and look.  New chapter.  Coincidence?  ;)

RedSatinDoll Replied on June 18, 2015 12:39am

I just saw the new chapter up!  And I have a feeling from the reviews for it that my theories are going to go out the window. I have very little familiarity with AtS so I hope that won't prove a hinderance.

Somebody else pointed out my (unintentional, but I'm going to claim it was intentional!) symbolism of Giles teetering on the brink of the crater.  I rather like that. 

I saw that as well and think it's a brilliant observation. (You're not supposed to let on that it wasn't intentional, silly.)

Giles may be more anti-Spike at the moment than usual, but I'm pretty sure it's understandable given their history and the very human need to blame somebody. 

And it's something that the characters do a lot in canon, across the board - Faith blames Buffy, Buffy blames Spike, Willow blames the Magic, etc etc etc.

 

 

 

 

 

[Report This]
Gretta Reviewed Giles on June 16, 2015 05:37pm

Okay, everything is so confusing right now

Author's Response on June 16, 2015 08:13pm

Well, there's meant to be some confusion, so yay? :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Giles on June 15, 2015 04:26pm

Giles is bitter in his sorrow. No good thoughts for Spike, but blaming someone is a very human thing to do. So Willow's spell are saying that Buffy doesn't exist, interesting. 

Some other reviewers have thought about different reallities and stuff like that. That seems more complicated than it need to be. I have two ideas of my own. One is that the spell can't find her since she lost her memories and doesn't know who she is. That one seems very unlikely, but I got the thought in my head. The in my opinion more likely one is that Linsey (if it's him) did something. We know that he could make himself invisible to the senior patners, so he should be able to do this. 

It will be interesting to find out anyway.

Author's Response on June 16, 2015 08:01pm

Exactly - wanting to blame somebody is a very human reaction, no matter how illogical or unfair.  

I shall neither confirm nor deny your suspicions, no matter how much I might want to.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
badgervamp Reviewed Giles on June 15, 2015 10:07am Liked

Wow - hooked already.  

You've dropped us in a mighty pickle right from the start.  Dawn, the only witness to Buffy's mysterious roof landing and off loading. - easily accepted by your dear readers as of course the first part is canon - now I'm not so sure as to whether did land on the roof or whether alternate realities were already crossing over at that point.  Nicely done with the dissonance between the description/name/speech and mannerisms.  I thought Spike initially, then Xander.  the introduction threw mee - a most unlike Giles version of himself - plus the girls shoukd be down ib the crater not giles.  Oh ok alt reality - which brings me back to a version of Spike again - definitely corporeal so that narrowed down some options.  Hmm.

And as for the real Giles teetering on the edge of the craterering (very symbolic!) - he's full of anger, bitterness and regret - a very complex, human interpretation of our favourite watcher.

I love the structure - and yes the style is reminiscent of Anaross' awesome Long Days Journey (love her fics). 

 

Author's Response on June 16, 2015 07:59pm

Oh, shoot, I didn't do the crater symbolism on purpose, but now that you've pointed it out, I'm totally going to pretend I did.  Love it.  He really is on the edge, literally and figuratively.  

Anaross is fantastic, isn't she?  I've rarely stepped outside of writing Spike and/or Buffy POV, so I thought this would be an interesting experiment.  Hopefully it'll work.  Thanks!

[Report This]
CupcakeCute Reviewed Giles on June 15, 2015 08:12am Liked

Really loving this so far! I'm really intrigued by what fake!Giles wants with Buffy, what his deal is with Angel, where he took her exactly, and what's happening with her memory. I'm also curious to see if Spike will still end up at Wolfram and Hart. I liked Giles' perspective this chapter, even if he is still bitter about Buffy and Spike. It makes sense from his pov and I like that you didn't gloss over any lingering bad feelings. Can't wait to read more :)

Author's Response on June 16, 2015 07:54pm

I think Giles is desperate to find somebody to blame, and Spike is so convenient.  And, yeah, easy for him to hate at the moment.  As for the rest... la la la, I'll never tell!  Or, okay, I'll tell - in carefully doled out bits and pieces.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Giles on June 15, 2015 02:39am

Okay that was NOT Giles in the lst chapter or if it is perhaps Buffy is in an alternate universe with a very different Giles. Hummmmmmmm  Whoever it is he has it bad for Angel (just as this, the unfortunately real Giles, does for Spike).

So the title means individual identity, that's already on the table.  Write on!

Kathleen

Author's Response on June 16, 2015 07:51pm

Everybody is so sure that wasn't Giles.  Maybe I just suck at characterization.  ;)

So glad you're already looking for connections to the title.  I was very happy when I found that word (yay thesaurus. com!).  It took me awhile to be sure of the meaning, but I think it's going to be just right.  I'm terrible at naming things (Baphrosia?  really?), so I'm always thrilled when I manage to be clever.

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Giles on June 15, 2015 02:28am Liked

I want to strangle Giles.  After everything that has happened and he still hates Spike.  Wish Dawn would kick him in the crater.

Now that's off my chest.  Great update.  I like the different POV's.  Interested to find our what's the what with Buffy not existing.  think I'll re-read the previous chapter again in that light.

Kathleen

Author's Response on June 16, 2015 07:46pm

Giles is definitely looking for somebody to blame right now, and Spike the easiest choice.

I'm glad the multiple POVs are working for you.  It was an interesting excercize.  Thanks!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.