Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
DeamonQueen Reviewed Buffy on May 22, 2016 10:28am

 Let me guess, he's not really Giles, huh? He has the Angel-hate thing going on so I take it that he's one of Angel's many enemies. I think I am starting to see where this is going but I am still liking the story so far and I am really interested to see what happens next.. Gonna read the next one now to find out!

Author's Response on May 24, 2016 04:49pm

I always get worried that people will think I just really suck at characterization (and then quit reading).  I'm glad you picked up on Giles being... off.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Buffy on December 05, 2015 05:12am Liked

1. tHAT IS NOT GILES.

2. But it was so funny how she kept calling him Rupert. :)

3. Of course I want it to be Spike. But what happened to his hair? And coat? And would he REALLY have SUCH a grudge on Angel? He might. And how is he even alive

4. Is it that Lyndsay guy or something

5. This is fun. :) Not for Buffy, obviously. :D But for me.

Author's Response on December 09, 2015 08:17pm

I am so pleased it was obvious to you.  I'm always afraid somebody's going to get to this chapter and think, 'Welp, her characterization sucks.  Back Button time!'.  And those are some interesting guesses.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Buffy on November 07, 2015 03:32pm

Awesome start - that old "you hooked me in" is just how I would describe it.  

Author's Response on November 20, 2015 01:21am

Yay!  Thank you!

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Buffy on October 07, 2015 12:25am Liked

Boy, he sure likes to remind Buffy that he's her savior. Clearly not Giles :). So, the question is, who is this dude? I'm guessing he's not even British since his speech patterns don't sound it, and Buffy would have noticed the accent. Not part of the Watchers Council at all, I'm thinking. 

Author's Response on October 06, 2015 09:42pm

You don't know how happy it makes me when readers catch the little clues.  Well, you know how much characterization means to me.  My biggest fear with this chapter was that people would go, "Welp, her characterization sucks," and hit the back button.  Or, worse, not notice at all...

Thanks!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Buffy on October 05, 2015 06:42am Liked

No! Giles is taking advantage of Buffy's amnesia! Bad manipulator! I didn't expect that!

Author's Response on October 05, 2015 05:53am

*Waits...*  :)

[Report This]
SoaringClaws Reviewed Buffy on September 11, 2015 06:22am

Damn! I called it when you started describing "Giles" but I wasn't sure. The dialogue/voice was spot on. I'm even more excited for this fic now! I love a good conspiracy.

Author's Response on September 11, 2015 08:47pm

Yay!  My biggest fear was that readers would just write me off as terrible at characterization.  (Or worse, not even notice.)  I'm so happy to hear you caught on.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Buffy on July 29, 2015 12:58am Liked

Oh you dirty rat. Using her amnesia like that. Shame, shame first you betray her in Helpless by drugging her - just doing your job. Then you abandon her - for her own good so she can move on more independently after coming back from heaven. Then you trick her - by keeping her away so Robin could kill Spike and now this.

 

Not that I completely blame him after all Angelus did kill Jenny and he took up with an evil law office for some unknown reason, but to use her memory loss for your personal revenge and vendetta against vampires. Shame

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 02:25pm

I think you'll find things aren't quite what they seem as you go on.  Thanks!

[Report This]
nojiri23 Reviewed Buffy on June 16, 2015 12:44am Liked

Huh. Unexpected development. I must admit I'm very intrigued. 

Author's Response on June 16, 2015 08:12pm

Intrigued is good! :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
LavenderBlue Reviewed Buffy on June 15, 2015 07:12pm

I think it is Lindsey that has found Buffy.  He is known for intense blue eyes.  In the Angel series, someone had to have retrieved the amulet and mailed it to Angel - thinking it was Lindsey wanting to mess with Angeland he does have a huge hatred of Angel as well.  The 'voice' doesn't sound like Giles or Spike, so.... thinking, Lindsey.

Looking forward to see if I am right

 

Author's Response on June 16, 2015 08:12pm

You know, I never noticed Lindsey had blue eyes, even though IMDb does say that's Christian Kane's 'trademark'.  I've started watching 'Leverage', in which he's a main character, and his eyes still haven't jumped out at me.  But maybe I'm being distracted by the muscles... :)

My lips are sealed!  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Buffy on June 14, 2015 02:02am

Ok I don't know WHY this didn't occur to me before: brown hair, and blue eyes?  William Pratt, but from an alternative universe, who was never turned and became a demon hunter rather than a demon? Who knowns enough about Buffy and Giles to pretend to be her Watcher to gain her trust.  His hesitation in identifying himself. and These lines:

Whoa. Blue. Blue eyes.

"I have to be able to keep up with you if I'm going to train you."

Should have been my giveaway, right? of course I don't expect you to say, but you did invite speculation so here I am. Write

 

I think that this version is improved from the original and no, not forced at all; the little interludes into Buffy's head bring the tone of this chapter closer to the other chapters. The original was a bit more lighthearted and companionable in the banter between them; Buffy's thoughts here add a darker element that hints at greater danger. And it's just enough - it still feels like "Buffy"; her amnesia is partial so some information is missing but her personality is mostly intact. She definitely does not like having secrets kept from her, wary, but practical enough to know she's dependent on this person for her survival.

I do wonder what bits of memories will rearrange themselves as time goes on - will she remember the events of IWRY? Will she have trouble remembering Dawn, or will two sets of memories (with and without her sister) lay side by side and struggle for dominance?

And what role does that bitter liquid play? I assumed the fall caused the amnesia, naturally, but I realized that she'd ingested the first "dose" before the amensia manifested, so is that the true cause or at least a contributor?  It feels as though her rescuer has his own agenda and reasons for wanting her to not know the whole truth.

Amnesia is one if my least favorite tropes ever since i read Moulin Rouge fanfiction back in the day, because it's done SO often and such a lazy crutch; it takes a lot of care to do it right. This is one of the rare ones that has me riveted because I have no idea what's around the corner with this fic.

Be quiet and let me die.

That's DEEP, and incredibly powerful and evocative in such a short sentence. There's pain and despair and resignation - but also irritation.

Panic welled, white-hot and ready to swallow her whole. Buffy took a shaky breath and forced it down. She'd already been there, done that, and had nothing helpful to show for it. She sat up carefully, mindful of the splints on her arm.

This is one of the edits that I think is particularly strong. Buffy is capable of being both very emotional and very practical, and we see both sides at play here; and your edit slows the passage down just a bit.

"Slayer? One girl in all the world? Okay, now I know you're full of shit. Ha ha, let's make fun of the poor, helpless amnesiac. Asshole,"

He'd saved her life, which earned him the majorest of points, but didn't guarantee he was truthful. Or sane.

PERFECT Buffy voice!

 

 

 

 

 

Author's Response on June 14, 2015 09:03pm

Heh.  Somebody somewhere else guessed a Shanshued Spike.  Those blue eyes of his are pretty unforgettable...  But why is everybody so certian it's not really Giles? ;)

Re:edits.  Okay, I guess Fox was right, then.  Good thing I listened.  :)  Glad you enjoyed the new and improved version.

I have a long list of tropes I don't like and claim I avoid reading - but a long list of favorite stories that happens to contain many of those same tropes.  It's all in the writer.  And I have a surprisingly long list of stories I've written that also contain those same tropes I don't like.  Go figure.  Here's hoping I can be *that* writer for you! And me!

I think I remember reading long ago that people who come out of comas or suffer head trauma amnesia in RL often end up with very different personalities.  But we don't want a different Buffy, so.  Yay for perfect Buffy voice!  I really like the 'Be quiet and let me die' too. 

Thank you!

[Report This]
djjd Reviewed Buffy on June 13, 2015 07:54pm

Knew that wasn't Giles!  Can't wait for more!

Author's Response on June 14, 2015 08:43pm

I *could* just be really bad at Giles-voice... ;)  Thanks!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Buffy on June 13, 2015 01:10pm

Very good description of Buffys situation in the beginning. She has amnesia, a good thing for the man who found her. I do wonder how he managed to get her to the other side of the crater. Since the man seems to be after Angel, I suppose that he is Lindsey.

Author's Response on June 14, 2015 08:42pm

Ah, the helicopter she sees is not the same one the Scoobies were in; there are a few buzzing around.  I had to think about that for a minute!

As to your prediction... *zips lips*.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
VampyreLover Reviewed Buffy on June 13, 2015 12:15pm

I'm thinking, that's Lindsey, not Giles? Interesting, let's see where this goes. On a side note, I was just starting to re read Piece of Cake when you posted the first chapter of this story. Now I have something new to read from you.

Author's Response on June 14, 2015 08:40pm

I'm not saying a darn word.  :) 

I love hearing that there is re-reading.  Huge compliment!  Thanks!

[Report This]
kzal Reviewed Buffy on June 13, 2015 02:42am

Well hello, faker-well-known-for-messing-with-Angel. 

Author's Response on June 14, 2015 08:40pm

If you're thinking what I'm thinking, then you're the first person who's on the right track.  You get the prize.  :)

[Report This]
diebirchen Reviewed Buffy on June 13, 2015 02:07am

Is it really Giles or someone pretending?  It doesn't sound like his manner of speaking.

Author's Response on June 14, 2015 08:38pm

It really doesn't, does it?  :)  Thanks.

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Buffy on June 13, 2015 12:51am Liked

Hum.... that amulet from Angel?  I'm on board to see where this goes.  Nice so far.

Kathleen

Author's Response on June 14, 2015 08:32pm

I guess that's what Giles means.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.