Reviews For Ipseity
Please login or register to review.
DeamonQueen Reviewed Dawn on May 22, 2016 10:22am

Interesting start. Curious to find our what happened to Buffy. I also liked the drama in this chapter, and enjoyed all the character's interactions. Well, gonna head to the next chapter to find out more..

Author's Response on May 24, 2016 04:47pm

Thank you!  :D

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Dawn on December 05, 2015 04:53am Liked

I love this chapter! Dawn is amazing. :)) As is Faith! And look, Kennedy came back to help. :)

Author's Response on December 09, 2015 08:16pm

They're all pretty boss, aren't they?  Thank you!

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Dawn on October 07, 2015 12:14am

I'm finally starting! It will be interesting to see the story play out in all the different POVs. We're off to a good start with Dawn. I'm not a Dawn hater, but at the end of the day, she's still a stubborn teenage girl who won't take no for an answer, and you've got that down. I wonder how you managed to channel a surly teenager ;)

Author's Response on October 06, 2015 09:37pm

Woo!  And hoo! 

Write what you know.  Write what you know...  :)

Thanks!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Dawn on October 02, 2015 10:30am Liked

Poor Dawn... Buffy is the whole family that remained for Dawn, after the death of Joyce, as the father has abandoned them. And this time there isn't even Spike to take care of her.

Author's Response on October 04, 2015 09:49pm

Yep, losing Buffy is hardest on Dawn.  And this is the second (third, if we count after Acathla) time she's lost Buffy.

Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Dawn on August 07, 2015 02:52pm

ladypeyton read my review?  *boggles* Wow I'm flattered, thank you! I wouldn't want to read my own reviews!

(I never intend to be that long you know.)

ETA: rereading the last section of the chapter, I'm suddenly remembering the cafeteria scene in "Earshot" where Buffy faints from sensory overload.  (Which is a bit similar to having a seizure, so I definitely identify there!)  

One of the fun things about this story in any given chapter is that I could make lists of all the tv series callbacks and still miss some references you've made.  :D  I love that sort of thing when it's so well-intergrated into an original story as you've done here.

Author's Response on August 08, 2015 08:24pm

Tsk, you're Reviewer of the Month for a reason!  I like reading other people's long, thinky reviews.  And then I can feel better that somebody else has said it, and I can just nod and say 'ditto', because I'm terrible at reviews.

Aw, thanks!

[Report This]
ladypeyton Reviewed Dawn on August 07, 2015 10:51am Liked

I want to be able to sit down and write a long drawn out review analysing individaul lines of the chapter in a detailed and thoughtful way (although RedSatinDoll has done an extremely good job of discussing the thoughts I had while reading it) but I'm too busy freaking out that there's only one chapter left! First Jon Stewart and now Ipseity! I can't handle this! *sob!*

Author's Response on August 08, 2015 08:16pm

She does the best reviews, doesn't she (all hail Reviewer of the Month! :D).  Just knowing you're here is cool.  I'm terrible at reviews.

There's actually... 3 chapters left.  I added an extra chapter in somewhere along the way, so we have 28 total.  I can't help you with Jon Stewart though.  :)

Thanks!

ladypeyton Replied on August 08, 2015 08:22pm

Whoo hoo! 3 more chapters! This is like the year that I discovered that I was turning 43 and not 44 because I'd forgotten I'd rounded up somewhere!

Author's Response on August 08, 2015 08:30pm

LOL!  I'm honored to inspire that level of excitement for you.  ;)

[Report This]
Vlon Reviewed Dawn on July 15, 2015 06:10am

Your writing is very well done and as a story it is enjoyable.  That said, it has no feeling of "spuffy."  It feels like a "Liffy" (Lindsey-Buffy).  She has been no chemistry period between Buffy and Spike.  He seems to have zero redeeming qualities and she has zero feelings toward him.  I get that she has amnesia, but it feels that if she truly has no connection with anyone (at any level) then she is a new person, and this new person wants to only be with Lindsey (even if its only platonically.)  Again… I’m not knocking you writing.  You have well written scenes with interesting characters.  Just not Spuffy.

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 04:46pm

Considering the story is only halfway through, I'm pretty sure there is no way you can definitively label it Not Spuffy. Many, many of the stories on this site are not all-Spuffy all the time, and there are a fair number with little or no Buffy/Spike interaction AT ALL, and yet they are considered Spuffy. Besides which, I did warn that it was mostly a gen fic in my very first author note. Expecting a gen story to focus on a relationship between Buffy and Spike from the get-go is setting yourself up for disappointment.

I'm not sure what you mean by Spike having zero redeeming qualities.  He's a souled vampire fighting the good fight.  Or perhaps it's a typo and you meant 'she'.  In which case, I am still not sure what you mean.  Buffy has undergone a huge amount of trauma.  Expecting her to connect with anybody, least of all a vampire who spent over a century slaughtering people, is hugely unfair to her, not to mention unrealistic.  If you had zero memory of any of the people in your life, can you honestly say you'd just slot right back into your old life?  I doubt most people could. 

One of the questions being explored is whether she truly is a new person without her memories.  Not everybody seems to think so.

Thanks for letting me know the characters are interesting.  The Buffyverse is filled with fascinating characters. 

Vlon Replied on July 17, 2015 07:01pm

What I meant was that was that Spike seems to have The least redeaming qualities. he just appears to be a sad little dog chasing a "treat". It also appears that while Buffy has no memory of anyone else, she has some subconscious feelings about everyone else. I mean by this she feels bad that she is disappointing them by not being her old self. She has nothing in the way with Spike. My feelings then are that this new Buffy and puppy dog Spike have no connection. Period.  It is just my opinion that if they are "meant to be" they should have some 'sparkage'.  Basically spike could be replaced with 'Andrew' and he would have the same draw.

 

That said, I mean no offense to your writing. Your characters are well written and your story is going in an interesting direction. i just think that tight now it is more of a Buffy discovers herself and maybe a Buffy-Lindsey story. 

[Report This]
Susan Reviewed Dawn on July 13, 2015 06:12pm

Dear Spuffy,

Finish this story so I can read it.

Also, review #100Squee.

Author's Response on July 14, 2015 04:58pm

I love you.  That is all.  :)

[Report This]
ladypeyton Reviewed Dawn on July 01, 2015 12:44pm

As usual you've got me drooling over every word and haunting the "Most Recent" page for an update. Thank you!

Author's Response on July 03, 2015 02:42pm

Well then, I'd best not disappoint.  :)  Thank you!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Dawn on July 01, 2015 11:24am Liked

Love it, but then, you know that. Wink

it so easily could have happened like this..... Flowers

Author's Response on July 03, 2015 02:42pm

Aw. thank you!  And thanks for the beta work especially!

As always, small-ish things get changed as I post (and in this case an entire extra chapter has been added) if you're up for a reread. 

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Dawn on June 23, 2015 01:24am

BTW your Angel chapter reminded me of one of the things Angel and Buffy have in common - having to be strong for everyone else, the burdens of being "the leaders" that leaves no room for falling apart (and when they do, everything goes to shit.)

Author's Response on June 23, 2015 08:42pm

Yes, very much so.  Also known as being the title character.  It's all about them.  :p  

[Report This]
EmilytheSlayer323 Reviewed Dawn on June 18, 2015 05:36pm Liked

Wow, what a start. I've always wondered what it would've been like if Buffy didn't make it out, or at least make it to the scoobies. I wonder where she is. I hope Buffy is okay. And oh god, Dawn. 

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:19pm

Poor Dawn, indeed.  Thanks! :)

[Report This]
ladypeyton Reviewed Dawn on June 18, 2015 12:12am Liked

Ahhh! At first I though she'd slipped into another dimension where Spike was a Watcher, but Blue Eyes is Lindsey. Love this story so much.

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 05:05pm

It seems to be the consensus.  I guess we'll find out.  ;)  Thanks!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Dawn on June 11, 2015 07:30pm

Dawn is written well here, the way she thought about what she saw and how she acted. It will be interesting to find out how this story will play out.

Author's Response on June 12, 2015 05:16pm

I'm glad Dawn came through loud and clear.  Thanks!

[Report This]
RedSatinDoll Reviewed Dawn on June 11, 2015 03:31pm

This is so, so good - and yes, I've re-read this, more than once. Very enjoyable! I don't think I've seen this exact scenaroio before.  I don't know that you've written Dawn before or not but your characterization of her, Faith, Xander, are all spot on. (And how much love do I have for the focus on Dawn's love for her sister? SO SO MUCH.)

a faint ‘oof’

I can just hear Buffy making that noise as she lands on the bus.

Her mind replayed what she’d seen in a sickening slow-motion loop – Buffy flying backwards, downwards, pinwheeling into the abyss like a broken doll, red blade clattering after her. The bus plowed forward, taking Dawn farther from her sister. “Stop! Stop it, stop the bus NOW!”

This is just a fantastic passage - I feel a little sick to my stomach and anxious reading it. It's so spare and simple, not a single word wasted.

It’ll kill her. If she’s still alive.

Take your pick, Xander’s unfinished sentence seemed to say.

Anothe great passage that reveals so much about the characters.

I loved the part where Dawn is suspicious and snarky about Faith's sudden "loyalty"; it makes sense though. What occurred between Faith and Buffy (the front porch at the end of Empty Places, the conversation in Joyce's bedroom and the exchange in the Hellmouth) were as private between the two Slayers as so many of Buffy and Spike's moments were between the two of them. Dawn wasn't privy to the whole thing.

That's one of the interesting things about Buffy to me - everyone has a definite opinion and idea about who she is / what she should be but no one person knows her in her totality. Even Spike to some degree - and isn't that true of every one of us?

“Knock it off, kid,” Faith said, her voice thick and congested.

Your Faith has a lot going on under the surface that you just hint at in little passages like this. But she's actually like Buffy in that she's going to keep it close to the vest. I love the "killer diller details like "she hawked and spat". It sounds weird to say that but it's just another offhand detail that keeps the story vibrant.

But you’re not here, so too bad. You’re top priority.

PERFECT Dawn voice. Oh those stubborn, bossy, glorious Summers women....

Interesting the way you use clothes here as "placeholders" for Buffy - an earring, a piece of a jacket - to emphasize her presence (personality) and her absence all at once. There's something especially unsettling about the piece of the jacket, and I'm not sure why (maybe the mention of rebar alongside? Maybe that's giving me Cordy-impaled-on-the-rebar flashbacks.)

Don’t take her away from me again. 

Wonderful reminder of what Dawn has already endured - a WORLD of pain and grief, and this would only reignite old traumas. I don't want to say this is worse than seeing her sister lying dead (there's still hope as long as they haven't found her, is the irony) but I imagine this is a very different sort of torture, the not-knowing.


“Buffy is the strongest Slayer – strongest person – I have ever met. If anybody could have survived…”

I'm reminded here of the things the paramedics and the doctor said to Buffy about Joyce's death in order to be comforting in the Body.  But here with Giles it's different too - nice of him but, they've all seen Buffy die. She's already died three times (including in Villains) so - strong, but not inhuman.

I wonder how much of that statement is to comfort himself rather than Dawn.

Author's Response on June 12, 2015 05:16pm

I love your reviews.  And this is why you were the person in my head as I wrote this story. 

One of the fun things about playing with multiple character POVs is that everybody sees the world - and the people in it - differently.  Here's hoping I remembered that as I wrote (I've let this sit for so many weeks now, I can't remember if I did...).

Thanks for 'forwarding' your comments! :D

[Report This]
Behind Blue Eyes Reviewed Dawn on June 10, 2015 02:47pm Liked

Interesting start.  Different spin on Buffy making it out.  Looking forward to more.

Author's Response on June 12, 2015 05:13pm

I feel like an ogre, keeping Buffy from her happy finale moment, but... means to an end and all that.  :)  Thanks!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Dawn on June 10, 2015 05:27am Liked

Great start.  This looks like it's going to be a great story.  Love Dawn's voice and your Faith is perfect.

Kathleen

Author's Response on June 12, 2015 05:12pm

Learning to write from multiple character POVs (usually I stick to Buffy and/or Spike) was one of my goals for this story, so it's nice to hear I started out on track!  Thanks!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.