Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
Pencilcomet Reviewed And Always on August 19, 2017 01:37pm Liked

 You're really good at creating a complex and intriguing plot. I could barely put this story down.

[Report This]
zabjade Reviewed And Always on July 26, 2017 09:43pm Liked

This is one of my favorite stories (though it left me many a sleepless night as I worried about the ultimate fate of all of those pillows :P ). You did a fantastic job with this, really building a relationship with nuances and depth. Great job.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed And Always on July 26, 2017 04:08pm

I really enjoyed my re-read of this long story! And I will for sure be reading the sequel. I'm looking forward to it.

Things I really enjoyed:

--the basic premise of the story: namely, that the solution for the First Evil provided in Chosen doesn't make sense, and that something else has to be done

--the slow build of trust for Spuffy, especially Henry. I hope he has plot things to do in subsequent stories.

--the Spuffy kids

A few other thoughts:

--treatment of Willow. Honestly, she was shunned so hard, I bet she'd be evil by now. You could drive someone into it, and if i were her, I'd kill them all. I don't mind Willow being dealt with that way, but it felt like they chose to act a certain way towards her and never suffered the inevitable fallout.

--the in-jokes and code between our main characters, while cute at first, eventually become a bit annoying for me. Essentially, I need some kind of code solution spreadsheet to have the least idea about what they're talking about, even in heavily plotted scenes. It started to become hard to buy that anyone would talk that way, even a couple with intimacy issues.

--the final chapters sort of dropped new plot threads on us without adding much to the story. They almost felt like their own separate thing. And the final conflict between Buffy and Spike (she was mad at him for dying) seemed awfully overblown, with both Buffy and Angel acting like it was a big revealable secret. I'm not sure the ending worked for me structurally.

[Report This]
NickaML Reviewed And Always on April 07, 2017 11:27am

 Incredible I'm up Was at last my bedtime to finish this

[Report This]
Its all fluffy Reviewed And Always on March 13, 2017 11:41pm Liked

I was expecting a comedic romp and got a drama filled adventure. Dam good show. while I have read quite a few time travel fix it fics I do believe this is the first that had the act of going back affect the future of the characters. Now that sounds contradictory but what I mean by it is that the act of going back actually opened up plot lines beyond the end of the show. A lot of the time travel stories have the traveler going back and fixing the things they want changed, but the repercussions of the act never affect the 'Buffy' world beyond the shows ending. I'm probably not explaining it right... but I can't think of a better way to at the moment. So I'll leave it be. On to the Review.

The concept of the story is not original, in that it is about going back in time to stop the rise of The First. The use of Whistler was done very well. A lot of people tend to have him as a throw away character but you built a wonderful backstory around this character. It opened up a path that no one knew 'could' have existed. And he introduced a way to continue the shows narrative past its ending. Agents of the PTB would be an profound paradigm shift for Buffy's life. While the similarities between watchers and the PTB might seem similar the scale on which the two entities operate is so fundamentally different that it actually took me by surprise. The scene when Whistler is explaining 'catching the stones', and later when Buffy realizes that they were in Willow's 'pond'. It really brought into focus the types of games the Powers were playing. It went beyond battle fields and into a realm where metaphor wasn't just a colorful way to express a thought or idea but as literal interpretation of reality. Where being cryptic isn't just for mystery but because there is quite literally no better way to tell someone what it is that's going to happen or needs to happen. Now I'm fanboying it up just a bit but I can't help it. I 'am' a fan. Not only of the show but of you as well. I shall look for other stories you've written, and read those that have been finished. Until next time. Thank you for the story.

[Report This]
hannahlivi Reviewed And Always on January 21, 2017 09:20am

Just re-read. What a wonderful story

[Report This]
jadeunicorn Reviewed And Always on January 11, 2017 05:17pm

just read this for the second time I not good with words so I want to re-read it and get my thoughts together :) I love this story I thought it was great! and can't wait for the next installment. the only thing was well I know buffy loves Spike I mean she fought the power for him but it still seem like Spike love Buffy more then she love him. though I really loved this story and will be reading it again :)

[Report This]
Glumski Reviewed And Always on December 14, 2016 03:49pm Liked

I absolutely love this from start to finish. I'm not sure if it's your unique spin on the whole Spuffy thing or the compelling style of writing, or maybe the confusing time travel plot with far too many references that suddenly all make perfect sense, but this story is beautiful and definitely one of my favourites. And that much actually was obvious to me after only a few chapters. This is seriously great.

I'm a little conflicted about the characterizations though, or at least about Buffy's characterization. That's not to say that she was portrayed in a bad way - the exact opposite is the case - but I somewhat felt that she wasn't really like I would expect her to be after season 7. Maybe it's just me seeing things differently because I find this Buffy far more believable (and interesting) than the image I had in my mind. Or maybe there was a little more creative freedom involved than I thought it'd be, which again is perfectly fine.

Because this story is great. And I love it. So, so much. Wow.

Author's Response on December 15, 2016 08:19am

The Buffy characterization stems primarily from two things: I yanked her out of season seven just before that final, definitive fight and I then gave her the unheard of (in canon) gift of time to reflect and breathe by dumping her in season five. Pretty much everything else grew from that. That approach does admittedly lead to a characterization that simultaneously feels both in and out of canon. Ditto for Spike, really.

This story shouts "Season Five Fix It Fic!" from its rooftop, but the framing of the house is "what happens if the season seven versions of those two characters can (sort of) relax in the relative safety of an old, familiar situation?" Echoes was always more about rewriting Chosen than the The Gift, in both characterization and plot (hence the heavy use of Chosen references at key points, particularly leading into the Glory showdown, and that showdown ending as it did).

Thanks so much for the kind words. Echoes was my first completed multi-chapter fic, and thus holds a special place in my heart, despite the parts of it that make me cringe today. I love that you love it.

[Report This]
DizzyB Reviewed And Always on October 31, 2016 10:10pm Liked

One of the best stories I've read in a long time. Compelling storyline, lots of twists to keep you on your toes, great insights into character motivation ... loved the natural growth of the characters as opposed to the sudden "epiphany and instant change" some authors opt for instead ... eagerly anticipating the sequel. 

[Report This]
katana_fleet Reviewed And Always on October 26, 2016 12:18am

 I've been reading this story over the past week and I have no words aside from you are a BRILLIANT human being and this story is absolutely AMAZING. Absolutely fantastic.

[Report This]
spuffy chick Reviewed And Always on October 11, 2016 01:35pm Liked

Loved it!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed And Always on October 07, 2016 05:59pm

I just spent a few enjoyable evenings re-reading this masterful story. Still one of my all-time favourite epics.

It's been over a year...still waiting for the promised sequel... {hint hint}

[Report This]
LavenderBlue Reviewed And Always on September 27, 2016 12:33am Liked

 I really love this world you have created; I am looking forward to what comes next.

Great Job!!  flowers

[Report This]
jenndifurry Reviewed And Always on May 24, 2016 03:46pm

As this story is at anoon end might want to fix this copy as a completed story.

Author's Response on May 26, 2016 12:40am

*confused* It's been tagged as completed since the last chapter posted. Or did you mean something else?

[Report This]
Kellydofc Reviewed And Always on May 03, 2016 07:12am Liked

Really wonderful story! I can't wait to read the sequel especially after the teaser that is. Christmas at the Folly. So many questions and potential theories are running through my head. You have made several days of being sick in bed infinitely more enjoyable.  Keep up the great work and I look forward to reading more in the future. 

[Report This]
Special Squirrel Reviewed And Always on March 30, 2016 03:24pm Liked

This was an intense story. I enjoy how you played off Spuffy difficult relationship- it feels more canon that they are fitted to be together however they do not handle any aspect of their relationship normally... I can't wait to see any other stories you write

-Spec!al

[Report This]
Gracedpoole Reviewed And Always on February 04, 2016 06:24pm

OMG, there better be a sequel. That was one hell of a ride, and I loved every minute. I watched season 5 along with it, which almost did my head in. Beautiful writing, thank you. 

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed And Always on January 26, 2016 11:51pm Liked

Very well done.

[Report This]
alive_or_dead Reviewed And Always on January 25, 2016 09:52am

Phew, what a ride! I'm glad I gave this a second read-through. Much worth it. 

[Report This]
Texdoc Reviewed And Always on January 18, 2016 01:25pm

Fabulous! Potentially the best Buffy/Spike story. Brilliant plot, character development, and cliff hanger ending. Thank you for the hard work and talent you shared!

[Report This]
Naenae000 Reviewed And Always on January 03, 2016 05:22pm Liked

Wonderful read, read it all the way through from beginning to end. Wonderful job.

[Report This]
Hannasun Reviewed And Always on December 29, 2015 01:29pm Liked

You did such an excellent job on this fic. The story was absolotely ace, and the writing was so fluid it never got in the way. The chracters fit to a T, and I really enjoyed the large ensemble cast and the extra characters you dragged in and/or came up with. You pulled each and every single one off.

Buffy's humour and voice was an excellent continuation from the series. And, the ebb and flow of their relationship felt very realistic. Actually, all of the relationships felt very realistic. Thank you for not turning any of them into two dimensional characters, but reaching for the best in them.

Again, such an excellent job. Well done.

[Report This]
LlewellynRed Reviewed And Always on December 26, 2015 03:24pm

I binge-read this for a week.  This was sooooooooo good!!!!! Oh my god I couldn't stop reading.  I read almost every night until about 5 or 6 am. I kept telling myself "just one more chapter, then sleep" but I couldn't stop until I literally fell asleep reading.  

I'm so excited for the sequel omg I hope it comes soon!!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed And Always on December 15, 2015 10:15pm

I've just been back for a total re-read. Still one of my most favouritest stories ever.

Still waiting for the sequel, but now I have Christmas at the Folly to fill the gap a little.

But it's gone 1am here and I need to sleeeeeeeeeeeep, so that'll be for tomorrow. 

[Report This]
brightauburneyes Reviewed And Always on December 09, 2015 05:57pm

Great job with the plot, this has been an interesting and creative read. Can't wait to see what you come up with for the sequel! (:

[Report This]
letsgooutintherain Reviewed And Always on November 29, 2015 07:51pm Liked

Buffy and Spike are brilliant in this. The way they communicate, and that they aren't perfect, but still somehow click together. I loved the time scoobies, Tara's development in particular. The story didn't let me go for a few days after I finished reading. Thank you so much for writing it!

[Report This]
sister cuervo Reviewed And Always on November 16, 2015 12:14pm

Terriffic!  It was a long and very strange trip, but well worth it!  

Author's Response on November 22, 2015 11:17pm

Definitely long and strange, but fun! I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
Pixiecorn Reviewed And Always on September 24, 2015 05:01pm

This story is absolutely amazing!! Loved every minute! 

Author's Response on October 19, 2015 12:32am

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

[Report This]
Spuffy93 Reviewed And Always on September 17, 2015 08:36pm

I loved the story and I can't wait for the next installment of this series!

Henry is adorable.

I hated the suppressant so much! You gave us Spuffy then you took them back ç____ç It was cruel, but not that much....

I cryed so hard when Spike died and I was so happy when he came back.

I hope you'll start post as fast as you can!

Thank you so much for sharing the story

Love

Sara

[Report This]
Charlie Aome Reviewed And Always on September 17, 2015 10:06am

So, I've been a part of this fandom for a long time and I've been a part of this site for quite a few years as well. I have to say that this story is the best story I have ever read so far on this site and if you look me up I've read a lot. I loved your portrayal of Buffy and Spike. It felt very real and natural but also very different from what I've read before. It was long without dragging in places but with a purpose and I truly enjoyed it. You may have come to the party late Myra but I'm so glad you did! Amazing story. Can't wait for the sequel. 

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.