Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
Sigyn Reviewed Standing House on January 26, 2016 10:07pm Liked

Well, that's all neatly tied up.

[Report This]
alive_or_dead Reviewed Standing House on January 25, 2016 09:18am Liked

I know my review is completely skipping the main actual important bits of that chapter, but seriously... “I'd kill Angel for a green curry and a pint of swine venom about now.” “Pfft! You'd kill Angel for a pretzel stick!” made me lol so much I had to come read it out to my sister :D

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Standing House on August 10, 2015 04:59am Liked

Read

Heart

Love

Flowers

Faint

Popcorn

Laughing

Love

 

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 03:13pm

Big Grin

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Standing House on August 09, 2015 02:05am Liked

Love reunions. I can't help but agree with the others hello heart warming moments time for running into each others' arms and hug and kiss - not punch, kick, hit. And I agree with future Buffy in not telling Spike about his sister because that was a special moment wouldn't want that ruined.

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed Standing House on August 07, 2015 03:18pm Liked

Spike is home!!! Yay :D Perfect reunion haha

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Standing House on August 07, 2015 05:28am Liked

How petty of the PTB's to send Spike back to Sunnydale instead of to Buffy directly LOL.  Fine collection of unexpected people to great him when he finally got there.  I'l glad Xander got to see him and welcome him home though, poor Spike might have wondered if anyone had missed him given the way Buffy responded LOL.  Then again, Buffy is Buffy and he might not have recognized her if she had come over all loving.

I hope he gets the full story of how she has been falling apart and how that motley crew all came together for the love of them both.  

LOVE Giles ... he's really come through and will be a real asset to them.

“Pfft!” Dawn scoffed. “You'd kill Angel for a pretzel stick!”  Made me giggle.

I am looking forward to Buffy finally putting the General to rest for a real loving reunion.  No General, no Slayer...just Buffy.

Elise was quite the surprise to him and everything is quite the shock to her LOL.  Dawn is likely going to have to teach her what it is to be a teenager in the modern world.

YAY!!!  Spike is back (and he understood exactly why Buffy had to be sure it was truly him even if the others didn't fully understand).  It had slipped my mind that the reveal about the time travel came AFTER he was dusted LOL.  Yeah, he has a lot to catch up on.

I can just see Dru dancing off to her own inner band music until she is needed again.  

Good riddance to Whistler.  I doubt he would have worked well with this group even if he wasn't such a weasel.

Hummmmm  Buffy's scar (methinks a hint for the sequel/part 2).  Sounds intense.

So SPike isn't going to remember most of his "job" except that jump to the future.  Wonder what they had him getting up to (and Buffy when she died in the original line for that matter)?

SO they are going to be time jumping.  At least they can handle it, they have the experience.  Good thing there is a second set of Scoobies for them and another for the more linear Slayer.  

SOme closure, some new direction shown, some hints for the next postion of this tale and a proper welcome home likely to come (not to mention that pesky claim bond).....A really jam packed, rich, chapter.

Kathleen

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed Standing House on August 07, 2015 04:01am Liked

Oh, yes. Thank you!

[Report This]
kindredkind Reviewed Standing House on August 07, 2015 12:42am

I never write reviews however this is fantastic. Brava, Myrabeth.

Author's Response on August 06, 2015 11:09pm

Thank you! I'm glad you like it!

[Report This]
fyreburned Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 10:28pm Liked

Read the last few chapters in a group, straight through. Fabulous! It was awesome to get another Dru cameo. She sure took a shine to young Henry--- & wouldn't that just be ewwwww!!! Buffy sure turned out to be a force to be reckoned with as welll. I think you had the ultimate dream team going on here. Maybe add Connor or Cody to round things out. I mean, you've got the Guargian, and Doyle! Didn't expect the double cross by the PTB's  to end up being about Buffy & Spike'so kids! Just didn't see it coming. Oh, and Buffy is both a sad & pitiful, and hilarious drunk!

As always, this is a total joy to read.

[Report This]
gill Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 09:42pm Liked

*tear

So excied to see what happens next! And wondering how much of a denoument you'll give us before ending this story.

[Report This]
Torrilin Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 07:41pm

I've got this feeling that the powers having Buffy and Spike do field work while they're "dead" is going to be important somehow. Not just for the angst now. It feels plotty.

Yup, we're definitely still fighting the same war as at the start with the collecting and protecting Potentials. I'm just not sure what the hell that war *is* exactly yet. I keep falling back on the old truism about you can identify the enemy because they're who your plans don't survive contact with. So by that measure we've found a lot of enemies... but I don't really think they're all on the same side or want the same thing.

I like the reunion scene here, with Buffy being afraid she's seeing the First or that there's some other catch to bite her in the ass. I'm also getting the feeling she's maybe a little afraid to take off the General mask in case her demon self tries to go for broke in front of everybody.

I *love* Dru in this. She's clearly kinda cranky about babysitting Whistler, but pleased to have Spike back :D.

Author's Response on August 06, 2015 11:27pm

Well, we don't know why there were Potentials at the Folly in the future scene, or even how many of the heartbeats Spike heard were them.

Buffy's definitely still got her guard up some. And I'm glad you like the "touch something" bit. The "getting Spike back/reunion" stuff went through couple of wildly different versions, but "touch something" and "not a weird requests moment" showed up in the first version, and stayed through every rewrite. I couldn't imagine Buffy NOT considering the First Evil possibility, Spike NOT totally understanding it, or Dawn NOT looking at her like she's nuts.

A lot of what ended up in the warehouse portion of the reunion was "what felt right." The First reference, the final exchange with Whistler, the question of where Elise had come from/ being punched for it, Buffy's overall vibe of hesitation and locking herself in "General" mode, etc. all came without planning, but with a lot of trying to see the moment in my head. I couldn't see those things going any other way. I couldn't get the visual of Buffy running into Spike's arms at first sight, so it didn't happen. As with a lot of the writing process of Echoes, I followed my instincts, and understood the reasons for them later.

Torrilin Replied on August 07, 2015 12:06am

I don't need to know why yet about Potentials, I'm just enjoying the confirmation that I'm right and you have an entire truckload of shoes and you're waiting to pile them up and drop em on our heads. I mean, we're not there yet all the way... The art is in how you build the piles of shoes, and how they topple over onto our heads.

[Report This]
SelfAndShadow Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 07:33pm

Ah. Yes. That's better. The delay in the proper Spuffy reunion is understandable; Buffy's still worried, for one thing, as demonstrated by her need to have him touch something and her query about them not screwing it up. Plus, audience including his ex, her ex, her sister and his sister? The real reunion might be a little more than some of them want to witness. Spike really should have known better than to imagine for a single second that Elise might have been pulled from heaven; not surprised Buffy went for the nose. Love Buffy's ongoing threats about Henry's childhood and existence. And Dawn's "You'd kill Angel for a pretzel stick." From the hints we've gotten so far, this future looks very interesting.

Author's Response on August 06, 2015 11:04pm

YAY! Someone commented on the pretzel stick line! That line cracks me up every time I read it. In part, it's because it strikes me as very Dawn, and in part for its contribution to the casual and almost light-hearted Angel abuse. Giles' "do try harder next time" about killing Angel is another jab that makes me giggle. Poor Angel. One gets the feeling most people are only tolerating him for Buffy's sake.

Buffy's still worried, and she's still carrying some baggage. It's been a hard 48 days. Plus they're surrounded by her latest bizarro army. I'm SO glad you understand the delay!

I considered cutting the "Spike says something stupid and gets punched for it" bit with Elise, but it felt right to leave it. Of course he's speaking before he thinks. He's pretty stunned at the sight of her. And of course he gets punched for it. Buffy's stunned and out of sorts at the moment, too. They fell into default settings: Spike says something thoughtless and Buffy punches him for it. I just couldn't talk myself into cutting it.

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 05:38pm Liked

OUTSTANDING! ApplauseSqueeBowFlowers

Author's Response on August 06, 2015 11:30pm

Thank you!

[Report This]
devilscrayon Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 04:10pm

Have been quiet lately but still reading and loving.  I adore that Doyle's been brought into the mix.

[Report This]
nojiri23 Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 03:56pm Liked

Spike's home!!!!!! Love

[Report This]
American Aurora Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 02:55pm

Myrabeth,

This is petty - but is there any way to fix the formatting of your very first chapter of Echoes of Beljoxa?  

For some reason, Plan B shows up on my screen with lines almost overlapping lines above and below.  Somehow the kerning is way off as is the font.  None of the other chapters seem to have this problem, so I don't think it's me.  Reading it is difficult at best.  

Sadly, it might deter people from continuing with a really great fic. 

Author's Response on August 06, 2015 01:13pm

I've started doing some minor proofreading work on the early chapters, so I'll be re-uploading them soon. Hopefully, the fresh copy won't have the same issues. Thanks for the heads up, though. I didn't know Plan B was so screwy.

[Report This]
ladypeyton Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 02:40pm Liked

I extremely glad he's finally home but I don't understand why your Buffy and Spike are so reserved around each other. Great juggling large numbers of characters and excellent plotting

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 09:36am Liked

He's finally home!!! Applause I'm not feeling all that sorry for Whistler. He's a jerk, a lying jerk and I guess the PTB knew once Buffy knew exactly what was going on she wouldn't play ball so they left him there. So now Whistler feels used and manipulated. Loved that Spike popped into Sunnydale first and saw Xander. He can tell everyone else that Spike is back and he seemed really happy to have his friend back. Wait Buffy and Spike start housing potentials in their house again? They're really taking that protect the line thing seriously! Hopefully they are just training the potentials in case they get called and not because some big bad (*cough* The First Evil) is trying to end the world. That scar... Did Buffy develop a tumor too?  HeartPopcorn

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 09:04am

Good, House Pratt will stand. A little visit to the future for Spike. He got to see a happy future and got some information. Most of that he could get anyway, so I suppose that working for the Guardien was the big thing to take back, that and how the Powers can't be trusted. Interesting to see what he wasn't told. They are collecting potentials again in the future. The First I suppose,  it was there during season 3 so it's not like it couldn't do anything even without the resurection. Well there will always be dangers.

He was sent back to the place of death then. It was nice that Xander got to see him. I like the running joke of switching the Oscar Wilde prints. Then the witchexpress to Hong Kong. I do wonder what Althenea wanted to talkt to Willow about.

Then the reunion. No romantic running towards each other there. They have both seen too much. We could see the emotions there though and a happy surprise for Spike to see all these people fighting for him. Seeing his sister was an extream surprise of course, but Angel and Giles must have surprised him a bit too.

A lot of good interactions and things that were said. I did enjoy Drusilla's comments. The "home is in the bloodline" always give of a strong feeling, but also telling Buffy "to be as a daughter" is nice.

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 07:00am Liked

Loved it

Author's Response on August 06, 2015 01:54pm

Thanks!

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 05:40am Liked

SqueeBow

[Report This]
kittyfajitas Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 04:54am Liked

So, I'll start by saying - Eeeeeeeeeeeeee!  Another chapter!!!!  

OK, now that's out of the way.  It seems every time something gets resolved we get more questions!  If you don't write that sequel I will curse your name!  LOL.  Also, I know you've got this all written, but could you please, please put in a *little bit* of romance for Buffy & Spike?  Even just a really good kiss would suffice.  I'm disappointed in that reunion.  I don't mean to be critical, but it is the 1st bit of criticism I've had, so hopefully after 51 chapters in you won't take it too harshly. And knowing you, I'll be eating my words once you post the next chapter. Hopefully?

Other than that, I loved Spike's bit of travel to the future, his return to SD and reunion with Xander.  As always, looking forward to more!

Author's Response on August 06, 2015 02:23am

A big, huggy, reunion kiss would be great, right? You know, if they weren't all in a grubby warehouse full of dead demons and surrounded by the general's latest army. It's not exactly a 'couple time' situation, and I couldn't really see this pair forcing it to be one. We'll get there. Wink

[Report This]
DidiSummers Reviewed Standing House on August 06, 2015 04:31am

He is back!!! Spike is back!!!! 

Author's Response on August 06, 2015 02:24am

About freakin' time, right? Wink

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.