Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
Sigyn Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on January 26, 2016 11:38am

Still can't get over the constant talking to Angel.

[Report This]
alive_or_dead Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on January 25, 2016 07:20am Liked

Oh man, she's like full-on crazy, huh?

[Report This]
kfocht Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 29, 2015 07:14pm

Sooo Happy Spikes somewhere and not just dust! Thank you for the update and answers.:-)

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 03:16pm

We've known for a while the PTB can and will resurrect. We saw them bodily yank Angel out of hell in season 3. We saw them bring back Tara's mind and memories from a version that resided in heaven in chapter 8. The possibility of a full, "from scratch" resurrection was never too far fetched.

Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 29, 2015 04:42am Liked

Read

Heart

Cheers

Laughing

Applause

Flowers

 

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 02:16am

Wink

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 29, 2015 12:01am Liked

Hostage situation. Personally I think its a smart move. Not that I would ever go there messing with powerful forces like that but then I'm not Buffy. I was happy to see you used Doyle in this. I hope he gets brought back again and definitely like the whole "You're nice to him" from Whistler makes me feel a bit bad for him he's just doing his job.

[Report This]
gill Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 10:48pm Liked

Hostage, guestage, either way I didn't see this coming.

Glad to see something's in motion!

Like that you've found an opportunity to bring Doyle in - visits from all our favourite characters from the BtVS and AtS universe!

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 03:19pm

The truth? The guestage surprised me, too. I was halfway through writing the original version of the Buffy/Whistler kitchen confrontation before I realized where it was going. I'm glad you're still enjoying it!

[Report This]
DidiSummers Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 07:01pm

Great chapter! It was nice to read a chapter where Buffy isn't drinking that much..Hahahaha imaging Whistler tied to the chair... I like Doyle appearance... 

Author's Response on July 28, 2015 05:02pm

Everyone loves the hostage and the visiting agent.  Yay! Glad you're still enjoying the story!

[Report This]
nojiri23 Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 05:55pm Liked

"As for staying out of trouble, I'm sure you'vepissed off a higher power once or twice in your time, and you're still ok. I will be, too.” Tongue Out love it!  feeling a little better, but still need Spikey! Love

Author's Response on July 28, 2015 05:04pm

Angel has had a little experience with the PTB, and it's been a mixed bag, at best. This was just a fun chance to mention it. Big Grin

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 05:25pm

It was nice seeing Spike with Anne, she does indeed seem more like Buffy and Spike than their son was.

Through the talking with Tara Buffy is really puzzling away. A lot of old information is placed in the right context. Both Buffy and Spike has been used for some work for the Powers while dead. No rest for the wicked it seems. Buffy has always been action girl and she really took action here. First making threats to the Powers and when she got the "wrong" answer, she took their agent hostage. The "twins" could not only hurt Whistler but also take away his power when they are close. Do they both act like this or was Buffy just lucky to get the right one? I got this thought that the two weapons was sort of opposite, one had power over the good and one over the evil. They are probably the same, but I did like the thought. I also liked a mental picture I got of Buffy stepping through a portal, a scyte in each hand ready to fight TPTBDevil

Buffy is showing her own power here, she will not let either good or evil keep her from her mate. It was nice seeing Doyle again, but the Powers is still not giving her what she wants. So the Guardien sent some of the dreams. That makes sense, we saw before that she didn't like how Buffy was treated. 

It must have been a big shock for Giles when he arrived, to find out that Whistler is a hostage. He's worried about the situation, of course it is a very strange situation. I just love how they had Whistler doing the dishes later. Well, since they have him, they might as well use him. I also like how Buffy is using words that make sense from her future, like cookie dough and guestage. Then again a good talk with Angel. I think that these conversations are good for him too. She got to explain some of her reasoning, how she has used information from the guide, from Dru and from the dreams to figure out how she has to play this.

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 04:26pm Liked

Whistler did seem very eager to make sure the kids happened. So Buffy knows Spike is coming back. But she's done waiting for it to be on the PTB timeline. It won't do a damn bit of good if she is in looney toon land because of the uncompleted bond when they finally send him back. Obviously the PTB want an effective team. One of them crazy really isn't going to do the job. Nice to see Buffy stepping in to help out Faith while the Watchers dither. Okay Buffy didn't exactly tell them about her plan or ask permission before she got Faith out. And they don't know about the PTB Agent assignment but eventually it would all come out and they would have to pay Faith at that point. Cause Buffy would make them. So for now she can afford to send money to Faith. I think Faith once she gets settled will have an easier time of it then Buffy. Faith won't put up with the BS from anyone in the Scooby gang. Xander is really beyond it now having grown and matured. But we all know Willow hasn't. Faith won't take it she will put them in their place quick. She isn't their best buddy she doesn't need their approval or love. She just needs them to be the Scooby's.

Not for nothing but agreeing to travel back in time to prevent the granddaddy of all apocalypse should have been a job interview in and of itself! They did it to Buffy too??? No wonder she was so messed up when she got back! Good on Tara for bringing up payment for getting Spike back. They've given enough and paid in advance already.

I like Whistler I really do. Do I think he's an ass? Yup. But I still like him. He makes me laugh. He tells Buffy when she's going off the rails. But he's still an ass. Do I like Doyle better? Right now this minute hell yes. He was polite, up front, and kind, things that Whistler has never been. If I wouldn't feel bad for Whistler I'd tell Buffy to ask for a change in handler and get Doyle! But Doyle was never able to have much control with/over Angel. Not that Whistler is having any luck in that department right now either with Buffy. But Doyle seems to kind hearted for the job the PTB gave Whistler.

Yeah Angel needs to stay in LA. Because if Spike shows up and Angel is in his house??!!!

Very telling though. Angel's soulmate the only woman he has ever loved (according to him) was not his chosen mate. He never had one. HAHAHA!!! Laughing So I guess he never really loved her as much as he always claimed he did. Even knowing that he kept her pining after him for years. Knowing that all of him didn't want/love her as much as he claimed. Bastard.

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 04:26pm Liked

Oh, boy. She has done it now ! Good chapter, happy to see Doyle. Will we get to see what Spike is up to? I'd love to get his perspective as well as know what the PTB are having him do as his 'test'. Thanks for the update.

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 02:20am

Buffy's back in the game, and she's jumping in with both feet.

We don't see much of Spike's perspective, but there's a possibility I'll use the fact that Spike and Buffy have a matching (on the calendar) stretch of time missing in their memories in the sequel. It's something I'm toying with, but that story isn't far enough along yet to know if it will happen.

[Report This]
fyreburned Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 03:56pm Liked

Oooh, I like her last comment! Burn!

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 03:40pm Liked

Buffy being proactive and not taking no ones crap is one of the best things ever, you nailed it in this chapter, so hard. 

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 03:24pm Liked

As usual with the cryptic, Buffy is a little slow on the uptake, but finally it's all falling into place. Go, crazy slayer! 

Can't wait....

Author's Response on July 28, 2015 05:08pm

I think I like her when she 'lets it roar.' It's a mix of hard-ass slayer speechifying and impulsive, growly, almost Spike-like action. Fun stuff.

And now things are finally starting to make sense. "Challenge what should not be."

[Report This]
JennaKaylor Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 03:01pm

This story is amazing. I a addicted to it!!!

[Report This]
kittyfajitas Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 02:32pm Liked

Awesome!  That was hilarious.  Go Buffy!

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 02:25am

The General is back, armed and dangerous. Big Grin

[Report This]
Behind Blue Eyes Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 01:19pm Liked

Loving bad ass Buffy! 

I'm so loving this story thus far, yet there is one thing (besides the obvious) that makes me go "hmmm"  This Buffy seems to be very at ease and accepting, more so than her canon Season 7 counterpart, of her "demon".  This has been something brought up several times, but in this chapter it's very prevalent.  I don't take issue with this per se, it's just throughout canon she's always maintained she is not a demon.  Even after the Shadow Men showed her how the first Slayer was made, she referred to this incident as them trying to knock her up with demon dust, never admitting or fully embracing the Slayer was created from the essence of a demon.  With so much going on in this story, I could've missed her admitting/accepting this, or maybe it was more gradual.  It was just something I noticed and stood out to me.

I'm absolutely loving this story, and thank you again for sharing this with us.  Looking forward to so much more!

 

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 01:36am

You caught me. That's the weak point in the underpinning. Nice catch!

It was a pretty quiet and gradual "giving in to the truth" process, and was tied directly to admitting she knew the little slayer demon had chosen a mate. At that point, there's really no denying it. I didn't emphasize that aspect of it, though. I'm not even sure I came straight out and said it. You aren't forgetting any big "self-acceptance" revelations, or clearly defined small ones. I think the closest we got to a clear moment of the progression was her complaining to Whistler that her demon shouldn't have chosen a mate. She seemed slightly resentful about losing some of her agency to her demon's wishes, even if she didn't object to its choice. She also addressed slayer's in general in that complaint, saying that slayers' demons shouldn't chose mates, period. "It's a disaster story."

I put in that she had previously researched demon claims, so she knew what was happening to them. But she avoided the claim conversation for a good long while, even after she realized what was up. She always said the possibility of the jump was her main reason for avoiding the topic, and later for delaying the claim. For the former, I think accepting that it was real -and thus so was her demonic inner power source- was the other part of her reasoning.

In retrospect, I should have put more into that, given it more clear progression, for the sake of the character. But on the other hand, it would have been another difficult balancing act. It would have thrown even more emotional clutter into the emotionally busy era of December 2000 through January 2001. And I would have had to make sure not to emphasize it too much, draw too much attention to it, for the sake of leaving the question in place about what the spirit guide's babbling really meant, which is only now being made clear. To more heavily discuss the acceptance of the inner demon would have been a trade off to the strength of the story either way, with or without.

Behind Blue Eyes Replied on July 29, 2015 12:53pm

This is not a "weak point" per se, more of something I hadn't remembered being explored.  As for why you chose not to, I completely understand.  I know when one tells a story you don't want to convolute the main purpose/goal of the characters, and when one adds yet another layer to an already complex story, more often than not, throws everything off balance.  And to be honest, the only reason why it caught my attention is that I am currently writing and posting a story based on a slayer's "origin", so like everything else in life when a subject effects/involves you you tend to pay attention more so. 

Please don't misconstrue that I believe this in anyway, shape or form this lessens the story at all.  This is a tremendously well thought out and executed story that I am enjoying immensely.  Brava!  Applause

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 03:17pm

It's a significant "puzzle piece" that was skimmed over. And thus, it is a weak spot in the underpinning.

I'm just glad it isn't too weak to ruin the story.

[Report This]
momnesia Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 01:11pm Liked

Whistler as a hostage????  I LOVE IT!!!!!   Special guest agent Doyle - - even better!     Great job!   Thanks for the update!

Author's Response on July 28, 2015 05:10pm

Everyone's two favorite points of this chapter: Whistler tied to a chair and Doyle stopping by. Hehe! Glad you like! Thanks!

[Report This]
Torrilin Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 12:30pm Liked

Ooooooh! I knew something had to give. Hostage taking was not what I expected at all. Go Buffy!

Author's Response on July 28, 2015 05:13pm

Echoes will never top the surprise of Spike's death on the tower, but I was hoping the hostage situation would at least make the top five surprises list. Go Buffy, indeed. Things are starting to make sense again, and the General is back on the job.

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 09:49am Liked

Loved it

Author's Response on July 28, 2015 05:04pm

Thanks!

[Report This]
Wonder and Ashes Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 08:21am

Everything's definitely starting to make sense now. The Guardian of the Legacy was the woman in chapter 8 (was it chapter 8? Can't remember) and she's been helping them. 

And the Scythes are playing a big part, alright. Laughing Holding Whistler hostage is the funniest thing ever! And definitely something Buffy "inner demon" Pratt would do in order to get Spike back. Did the Powers really think they could keep Spike away for years, especially with the whole mating thing? Buffy's really letting them have it now. Wink

I love how Tara, who's usually the reasonable one, is just going along with it. Big Grin 

Doyle! It was nice to see him. Smile

I can't wait to see how all this plays out! 

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 01:55am

I TOLD you the scythe usage would be funny. Tongue Out 

And yes, that was the Guardian in chapter 8. Doesn't that feel like a really long time ago? Then again, the "dinner party" line is from chapter 3, near the beginning of the very first Whistler scene of the whole story. I really played the long game with you poor people on this one. Why are you still putting up with me, again?

Tara's shrugging off of this ridiculous hostage plan is fun for me, too. You kind of expect that from Dawn. This madness carries a certain amount of fun, tied in with a big, serious, Scooby mission. That's right up Dawnie's alley. She's happy to be a part of it. But Tara is the calm voice of reason, and she's on board, too. It makes you do a double take and wonder if she believes in the plan, or is going along with it because it's a hope-line for Buffy.

I love that everyone is happy to see Doyle. Big Grin

[Report This]
duke6665 Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 07:35am Liked

“Giles, former watcher. Whistler, current hostage.” “You're holding an agent of the Powers hostage.” Giles looked ill.

loved it. Another great chapter as usual. 

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 02:24am

Poor Giles. He thought he was there as a support system for a grieving young widow. He just got dumped into full Time Scooby status with was is probably in the top ten shocks of his life.

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 06:39am Liked

Squee

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 02:22am

Heart

[Report This]
tshe4323 Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 06:17am Liked

Applause

 

Author's Response on July 30, 2015 02:46am

Wink

[Report This]
crazyjane Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 06:07am Liked

I love it, what a twist. Inspired, definately out of the box. Can't wait for more..

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Puzzle Pieces on July 28, 2015 05:10am Liked

I think this is my favorite chapter yet.  YAY kick arse Buffy.  She's got a clear plan and has truly figured out a lot I think.

My Sparky, the cookie-dough eating Champion.”  Awwww, yes he just needs to come back to eat the cooked ones.

  “If I don't get Spike back, I'll go and get him. And I will leave a bloody, gory mess in my wake that will make it look like the First stopped by for a picnic.”   I wanted to stand and cheer.  I did let out a whoop.  YES!  Stop jerking her (and Spike) around.  She works for them but they have not played fair...ever.  

So her time in heaven wasn't all spent in a floaty, resty, cloud of nothing...never thought so.  I hope we'll get a peek at what she was up to those 147 days before the mind wipe.  Wonder if that was a part of the severe depression she returned in?

“Giles, former watcher. Whistler, current hostage.”  *giggle* SO love Whistler getting his.  He had no compassion not in canon and not in the story.  He should sweat.  Love the casual introduction.  Poor Giles; all his sacred cows being challenged!  It's to his credit that he is backing Buffy even if he's worried that she's on thin ice and questionable sanity.

Yes, love strong enough to march into Heaven OR hell to get back the object of that love.  They may be called The Powers but the power of that kind of love trumps all.

YAY Doyle!  I adored him.  He at least will have compassion.  I love him turning up in the story.

Guestage!  Tip of the hat to Andrew and to their own original timeline.

Angel keeps wanting to come there and for the right reasons but I am so glad Buffy is not letting him.  He could help out by going on strike himself...after all he is the "Champion of the Powers" and if they both strike it might move a mountain or two.

Love, Love, Love this story and chapter.  ApplauseBowFlowers

 

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 29, 2015 02:12am

I love that Buffy's growly threat made you want to cheer. The General is BACK, baby! Woot!

We don't cover the missing time in Echoes, but it's something I might have an opportunity to get into in the sequel. We'll just have to see how that story shakes out. Too soon to tell.

"Guestage" is a favorite bit of mine. Andrew really was the comic relief for season seven, and he had a few gems worth mining for fanfic. Guestage just happens to be my favorite. Using it to confuse Angel is just icing on the cake.

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.