Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
MichelleZed Reviewed Battle Ready on July 25, 2017 11:16pm

 "The house thee has built with her will stand."

So... that's wrong. But I'm talking to you in chat and you say there's an explanation for the thee/thou mixup in a later story. So I'll wait for that.

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed Battle Ready on January 26, 2016 04:04am Liked

holy water. He dipped a finger in it, hissing in pain as steam rose from the water. He withdrew from the basin and pointed at it. “That is what I mean.” Because grandstanding was never something YOU'D do, Spike, oh, no. You'd never just shrug and walk off and let it be, no. Gotta scare the poor kid. Oi.

“Love, tell this kid what would happen if I got in your way.” I can just see this, you know.

And... uh oh. Big old hell pile of nasty here, isn't it.

[Report This]
alive_or_dead Reviewed Battle Ready on January 25, 2016 02:46am Liked

This was painful to read last time... Just as hard this time T_T

[Report This]
bewildered Reviewed Battle Ready on August 18, 2015 05:34am

I wasn't going to comment until the end, but NOOOOOOO! I trust you'll write us out of Spike being dusty. Also, I laughed at the "Once more into the breach" because I totally just used that in PoL :) Loving the ride so far! I would say more but have to go to work, will have more thoughts later.

[Report This]
bewildered Reviewed Battle Ready on August 17, 2015 09:48pm Liked

I wasn't going to comment until the end, but NOOOOOOO! I trust you'll write us out of Spike being dusty. Also, I laughed at the "Once more into the breach" because I totally just used that in PoL :) Loving the ride so far! I would say more but have to go to work, will have more thoughts later.

[Report This]
13th Blackbird Reviewed Battle Ready on July 24, 2015 12:44am Liked

<I>“I know the feeling,” Willow grumbled from the table.</I> *Laughs* Willow does have reason to be upset, not only about not being in the know but also about her best friend suddenly going all distant and different on her.

Author's Response on July 26, 2015 02:16am

Poor Willow got left out of pretty much everything. That little grumble was definitely justified.

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Battle Ready on July 20, 2015 04:05am Liked

Read

Cry

Surprised

Faint

 

Author's Response on July 20, 2015 10:57am

I think those last three emote are a good summary of the overall reader reaction to the end of this chapter.

[Report This]
Kolbeinn Reviewed Battle Ready on July 17, 2015 04:59pm Liked

Perfect. Please proceed with this jet driven rollercoaster ride - great  read. Always have my ereader ready to upload the next chapter for my nightcap ... yesterday's chapter  it left me with my mouth open .. :) and a bit agitated.  Did I write  please proceed ... ??

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 02:30pm

Hehe. You did. I plan to put the next one up just after minight (eastern time). I'll try not to shock you as much with tonight's bedtime reading.

BTW, I thought it was bad that I work on Echoes with my morning coffee. You read it as a bedtime story?!?! We really are gluttons for punishment, aren't we?

Kolbeinn Replied on July 18, 2015 04:55am

Save the best for last!!!

[Report This]
duke6665 Reviewed Battle Ready on July 17, 2015 07:16am Liked

OMG you're evil!! lmao can't wait for the next chapter..please hurry 

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 12:22pm

Roughly 12 hours from now. You'll survive that long. Probably. Tongue Out

[Report This]
SelfAndShadow Reviewed Battle Ready on July 17, 2015 04:59am

To say you are evil is such an inadequate description. You, Myrabeth, have achieved a level of magnificent brutality that would leave Angelus drooling with envy. The entire readership of this site is writhing in mental agony at this moment and it's ALL YOUR FAULT! An impressive feat which must never, never, never be repeated. Now go bring him back. Please?

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 12:20pm

Yeah, I think I've crossed the line from Joss-evil to Angelus-evil, with a touch of Dru-crazy.

Mine is an evil laugh. I've never cackled so much at the reviews to any of my chapters as this one. I was hoping for a strong reaction, but this is GLORIOUS. So much better than I expected. I think your review might be my favorite for this chapter.

As for bringing him back, well, the idiot could have untied Tara without putting down his weapon. He didn't. He could have made sure the body fell before he turned his back. He didn't. Do we REALLY need someone that reckless back?

[Report This]
ValidescopeWest Reviewed Battle Ready on July 17, 2015 03:37am Liked

?*reading comments* We already know...Buffy knows...the characters know...are we ready to figure out what story we are actually reading. ...dammit I hadn't planned to reread this whole thing again before the last chapter of Echoes 1 but I might have to.

What the hell story are we reading? What did I forget or lose over time?

I love this kind of interactive book club we have going here.

ETA (Friday morning cause I'm still all about this): Their demons chose each other. Buffy the woman and General will be heavily angry and grieving but what is her slayer demon feeling...

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 12:34pm

Well, you have two choices: reread and try to figure it out yourself, or wait to see how many chapters it takes Buffy to figure it out. Your call.

The story you've been reading all this time looked like a season 5 rewrite. It isn't. Season 5 was just the setting. Echoes isn't about old, familiar stories. It's about the ones still untold.

I'm showing my evil streak in a big way these last two days, reveling in the anguish my horrible, evil chapter has caused. (There are fewer boosts to a writer's ego greater than learning you can break hearts with your words, and still have them begging for more.) But I'm also in love with the interactions, the 'book club' vibe of the review pages. It's always been there, since the early days of posting Echoes, but this chapter has really brought it out.

I may be evil and heartless, but you guys are amazing enough to make up for it.

[Report This]
letitia Reviewed Battle Ready on July 17, 2015 12:52am

OMG OMG OMG... please tell me that they ALL made it. 

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 12:38pm

I established a while ago that sometimes our characters are wrong, even the time travelers.

Buffy thought the cashier's check would start a huge screaming match. It didn't.

Tara thought suppressant-numb Buffy starting up a renewed sexual relationship with Spike would be a disaster for the relationship. It wasn't.

And what was the last thing Spike said to Tara?

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 11:46pm Liked

Doc killed spike. Doc killed Spike!!! My heart hurt at Eddies but Spike's. Are you mad? How can you do this? Are you trying to make us cry and lose hope that an HEA is ever going to happen for this couple. 

 

Okay got that off my chest. Oops not yet. Why?! Why?! Did you do that? Why?!

 

Okay I think I'm okay now. (Sob)

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 01:34pm

Yes, I am mad. I zm Drusilla's eviler twin, crazy and cruel. My secret identity is officially out.

*peeks into the Echoes 2 folder and raises an eyebrow at some of the scenes* Yeah, happily ever after. Sure. That fits right in with the peaceful, white picket fence couple we know, right?

Hmm... maybe I shouldn't mention picket fences right now. Pointy and wooden isn't a look we need to get to know better just now.

And a 'Spike talking about a scythe' reference is probably even more cruel. Oops.

See? I'm totally evil. And fond of knife-twisting.

[Report This]
fluffandstuff Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 11:30pm

On the edge of my seat waiting for more! Thank you 😊

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 01:35pm

Thank YOU for sticking with this story! <3

[Report This]
momnesia Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 10:16pm Liked

Doc staked Spike!!!!   Nooooooo!    That scythe had better have left something of Spike with Willow, or I will be VERRRY upset.   Or else, Whistler and the PTB better bring Spike back ASAP!!!    I really thought that Doc would stay DEAD this time around, especially since Spike did the slice & dice with the scythe earlier.    Guess some demons need to be chopped up into pieces, then separated, with each piece burning separately, then some of the ashes buried and some scattered over water.    Is it strange that I thought about that????    Thanks for the update and for causing me to finally fall off the edge of my seat!    MORE, PLEASE!!!.     Need Spike back NOW, PLEASE!

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 01:45pm

"Guess some demons need to be chopped up into pieces, then separated, with each piece burning separately, then some of the ashes buried and some scattered over water." I wish I could say that was weird, but given what canon taught us about Doc (and the Judge), that's not a bad idea.

ASAP? NOW? Hmm... We'll see.

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 09:46pm Liked

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! Cry

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 01:27pm

Yes.

I am evil.

[Report This]
missambermarie Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 06:07pm

What!  Horrible cliffhanger! !! Im going to just about die waiting lol

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 01:28pm

You'll make it until the next chapter posting. But what you'll find when you get there might not be what you want.

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 05:42pm Liked

Oh NO you did not!  Well I didn't see THAT coming.  Still it said his house would stand so this has to be temporary TPTB will fix this of Buffy will have THEIR heads on a pike.

Great chapter.

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 01:40pm

*gleefully evil cackle* Yes. Yes, I did.

Do you have any idea how hard it's been to have been sitting on this piece of information for MONTHS of review discussions? I think someone just popped open a pressure valve in my brain. I'm practically HIGH on the fact that you finally know.

The house thee has built with her will stand. Yes, that piece of information is important. We will also eventually learn who composed that line.

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 05:17pm

Spike got the message. My first thought was that it ment that the "family" he's building up with Buffy will survive, that  house Pratt will stay strong. Nobody in their team seemed to have any idea though.

There's still tension between them and Willow, but the thing Spike said made it a bit better. They are planning away and are more hopeful than ever before, talking about what they will do next. Buffy remembered the person she saved the first time and needed to do a bit of saving again. There was also a good moment between Xander and Anya.

I thought that Spike killed doc for real before, but it was just like he did the first time, to keep the timeline then.

A great cliffhanger here, it gave me several ideas.

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 12:10pm

Good to know you aren't giving up. Despite what happened, there is still more story to be told.

[Report This]
Wonder and Ashes Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 03:49pm

I'm a lurker on this story, not reviewing until now...but I simply had to after this chapter. It was amazingly written, and that cliffhanger... Gah. Surprised

Though to be honest, I'm not too worried. After all, Whistler did say that the Powers have plans for these two, so I doubt they'd let Spike stay dead (or dead-er than he already was). They'll probably bring him back the way they brought back Angel (so would the next chapter be set some months in the future? That's seems to be what you're implying in some review replies I've read). I got a fun little mental image of Buffy beating the crap out of Whistler until he promised to get him back. Big Grin 

Another idea I had was the whole 'day taken back' thing which Angel did in "I Will Remember You". 

Sucks that we have to wait another whole 48 hours for the next one. Maybe if enough people pester you will you reconsider? Technical Problems

Either way, I'll be waiting on the edge of my seat for the next one! 

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 01:28pm

OOH! I got a review from Wonder and Ashes!  Bow So, so awesome. Squee

Yes, I've implied there might be a gap of time, because Echoes has a history of that. We'll soon see. As for how this situation plays out, the only thing I can say is that both the readers and Buffy have already been told how it ought to go, short of 2 pieces of information (coming soon) that shouldn't really be necessary. In other words...  “She knows. She doesn't know she knows, but she does.” (Whistler, Past Revelations)

See you on the 18th!

Wonder and Ashes Replied on July 16, 2015 01:35pm

I'm famous? Bravo

Hmm... Could you point me to a chapter or two that "tells" us, so to speak? Pretty please? Sad

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 03:38pm

The end was really confusing? 

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 01:29pm

Confusing how? Can I clear it up a bit for you?

xblacklilyx Replied on July 17, 2015 10:07am

Ahh, I Just  got a little lost and didn't realize Buffy and Glory were both climbing the tower, so the line where glory went flying off the tower confused the end for me >. <

 

I worked it out haha silly me, loved the chapter, I 100% expect Spike to come back to unlife, the question is how? And by extension when?

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 01:26pm

Yeah, they were fighting on the scaffolding at the back of the tower, behind the stairs, similar to the first time around, but Buffy had a sharper weapon this time, which is why Glory was bleeding when she went flying off of it. Obviously, I could have given more detail of what they were doing and where they were, but the Buffy and Glory battle wasn't the focus.

Also, I've made a habit of skimming over the things that aren't very different (or different at all) from canon throughout this story (most obvious in the early chapters). Generally, if a known canon event isn't given many words, you can expect it to have gone much like round 1. I didn't need to put an image of that fight in your head, because the one you already have is close enough.

I'm glad I wasn't too vague, for you to figure it out, though. The last thing we need at the end of that chapter is for readers to be distracted by stupid Glory when they should be focused elsewhere. :P

[Report This]
ladypeyton Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 01:25pm Liked

Now THAT! THAT was a chapter! You've had everything go so right for them for so long that I was more than half expecting this battle to go without incident as well. KUDOS!

Looking forward to seeing how Buffy resolves this situation and total reversal of her expectations.

Applause

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 12:16pm

You've already been told how this situation will be dealt with. But do you see it? Do the characters?

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 12:42pm Liked

You didn't do what i think you did. You killed Spike Rant

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 12:13pm

Yep. I did.

So, are you ready to start trying to figure out what story you've ACTUALLY been reading all this time?

[Report This]
porn_girl Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 12:20pm Liked

That is an awwwwwwwful cliffhanger!!!  You are kinda evil, but I still like ya. But, please do not make us wait another day for an update!  Need to know NOW what happened to lieutenant Dan, er, Spike!

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 12:11pm

48 hours between chapters, as usual.

Meanwhile, I'm not ashamed to say I've been perfecting my evil laugh since the reviews for Battle Ready started rolling in. I LOVE your reactions to this.

[Report This]
SweetTater Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 11:49am Liked

Please update soon because I don't think I can hang on to this cliff for very long!  Thanks for the great, gut wrenching chapter.

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 12:09pm

We'll stay on the usual 48 hour cycle. I have to make sure I have time to stay ahead of you guys on final edits.

I'm glad you're still enjoying the story, even if I have revealed myself to be far more evil than you probably thought.

[Report This]
kittyfajitas Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 10:49am Liked

WHAT???  Oh, goddess!  I should have known better than to read this first thing in the morning.  What a way to start the day...

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 12:08pm

And I thought I was the only fool willing to have my nose buried in Echoes with my morning coffee.

Rough morning, huh? I wish i could comfort you by saying you misread the end of this chapter. But you didn't.

[Report This]
watcher125 Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 10:42am Liked

BTW, would be fun to see Buffy learning about another apocalypse on horyzon now becouse of her stubborness. Would be some poetic justice for doing exatly the thing she hates done to her: making desizion "for his own good" without concerning his feelings.Devil

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 12:04pm

I don't see opting against going through with the claim as selfish, or 'for his own good.' She wanted to save them both, and she wasn't quite ready for the ultimate relationship commitment.

And -as of now- that hesitation is the reason she's not dead, too.

watcher125 Replied on July 16, 2015 01:12pm

Well, it's your story and your right to tell it as you see it and to mean things "behind the scenes" as you wish them. I myself love to toy with idea of some new superpowers in claim between vampire and slayer, "the whole is more then sum of parts" and all that jazz :-) ...up to some sort of blackmailing the PTB with slayer soul about daemon afterlife.

 

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 01:35pm

Oh, I'm totally on board with extra boosts of power from the claim. I've dropped a few lines in the story to say so, in fact. That was part of Spike's argument to get her to reconsider, if you recall. But we don't know if that extra boost would have saved him. Maybe, maybe not. We do know that not mating before the tower takes Buffy's survival out of that particular question.

No claim, no dead slayer. With the claim, maybe both of them could have made it... But if not, neither one of them would have.

[Report This]
gill Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 10:30am Liked

Well I just sat here alternating between stunned silence and resisting the urge to swear, so, good job? What a brutal cliffhanger after such a great battle!! I'm going to assume everything is going to turn out just fine somehow... (maybe through their bond/the PtB?)

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 12:01pm

I left you stunned and on the verge of cursing? Cool!

Um, I mean, I'm so sorry. Yeah. That's what I meant to say.

Yes, I'm evil. But you knew that.

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 09:54am Liked

I... Spike is... It started so well!  Cry

Sorry I was stunned when I read this the first time. Needed a little time to compose my thoughts. Faint

I saw the character death listed. But then Joyce died. And I figured okay. Then Eddie died and I figured okay. But now SPIKE???!!!! Doc... That rat bastard. Should have chopped him up, burned his body, peed on the ashes and stuck him in an urn. I was hoping the version where Buffy was crying in the living room holding the duster was one that wasn't going to happen.

Dawn is safe and not enjoying her stay in LA. She really isn't going to be a happy camper when she gets back. Xander just lost half of his Wednesday night drinking buddies. Plus he probably just got Anya knocked up!

Willow knows how powerful the scythe's are. Not necessarily a good thing. Especially with Spike gone and Buffy spiraling into a depression because of it.

Sorry I have to keep updating this review. Because the ending is just so....

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 11:58am

It started so well? With a big, obvious tip-off, you mean? He's alone with a priest, spilling out a summary of his entire life's story (hooked up with the wrong woman/crossing lines bit) in a confession-like way.

Personally, I love the structure of this chapter, and am thrilled to know anyone else thinks it worthy of a second run-through. From the confessional scene, to the casual banter, to the mirrors of both The Gift and Chosen, it came together beautifully. I adore the entire section of Underground Travelers through Battle Ready, but Broken Armor and Battle Ready contain some of my favorite moments.

Yes, I abused the character death warning. I treated it like a weapon. A season five setting makes everyone think that warning is about Joyce by default, and let their guard down after. I didn't do or say anything to dissuade that assumption. And then, 39 and 40 chapters in, we lose our vampires, one to each group of enemies.

 

[Report This]
tbd Reviewed Battle Ready on July 16, 2015 09:50am

Ahhh!!!! You did.not.do.that! Next chapter please!!

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 11:45am

Yes, I did.

48 hours.

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.