Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
Sigyn Reviewed Patience Lessons on January 25, 2016 02:20pm

Your Glory is -- well -- glorious.

[Report This]
alive_or_dead Reviewed Patience Lessons on January 25, 2016 01:19am Liked

Poor Eddie, having to be the bearer of bad news... :( Things are really gonna heat up shortly, aren't they?

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Patience Lessons on September 15, 2015 04:32am

Wish you would have used Eddie more - it's an interesting concept this vampire that is so not the traditional vamp of the series. 

[Report This]
13th Blackbird Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 23, 2015 12:47pm Liked

Mmm, I don't see Buffy getting restitution out of Restituendis Mentis.

Author's Response on July 23, 2015 09:53am

She said she picked it up from the first part of the word Restitution and Restituen look a lot alike to me. *shrug* Maybe my brain works funny.

[Report This]
nojiri23 Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 14, 2015 05:46pm Liked

Scared

Eep!

Author's Response on July 14, 2015 04:40pm

Am I keeping you on your toes? Surprised that the schmoopy, happy beginning of the chapter rapidly spiraled into war prep by the end?

Good.

Sometimes it's fun to let my evil streak show.

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 10, 2015 04:37am Liked

Read

Heart

Applause

 

Author's Response on July 10, 2015 10:45pm

Heart

[Report This]
kittyfajitas Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 10, 2015 02:08am Liked

You have excellent pacing.  I got about a 3rd through the chapter and thought "I love this domestic stuff but I hope the action picks up in the next chapter." Lo and behold I just needed to read another paragraph!  lol

Author's Response on July 10, 2015 12:52pm

Yeah, Patience Lessons starts out as a happy domestic story and then takes a huge turn into war prep the second Dawn hands Buffy the phone when Greg calls. The pacing of Echoes is all over the place, wildly inconsistent. But it does make for an environment full of suprises for the readers. You really have no idea what the next scene change is going to bring.

[Report This]
Lanea21 Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 09, 2015 07:46pm

These long, frequent updates are wonderful. Your character development, your pacing, your twists and turns are all great. Tara is magnificent and Dawn has been slowly building throughout the course of the story and the peeking depth of her character is lovely. I'm also reaaaalllly enjoying your OC's. 

And I know it was a few chapters back but your foreshadowing with characters like Henry just keep me in complete suspense!

Author's Response on July 10, 2015 10:54am

Re OCs: I wish I'd had time/reason to hang out at Willy's more. Trixie the Flirty Waitress is someone I think we would all have loved to spend more time with. We really haven't gotten to know her. (The good news is that I've already written a good Trixie scene for the sequel, so I can tell you for sure we'll get to know more about her in the next book.) We also never got to know Rudy. He made one no-dialogue appearance way back in Old Friends, and we didn't see him again until his body was on the bar room floor. I'd like to think Eddie makes up for the underdevelopment of some of the other OCs. He's adorable, fun, and such an atypical vamp. We'll encounter my OCs a little bit more before Echoes wraps up. I hope you continue to enjoy them.

As for twists and turns, there's a lot more coming. I've been building a lot more than characters over the course of this journey. I've been building another story you probably didn't even know you were reading.

[Report This]
TieDyeJackson Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 09, 2015 04:14pm Liked

I'm glad they got custody and I like that the Knights are more prevalent in your story. Every time I read Glory though, even though you explained it, I'm yelling at the page "Find Ben and snap his bloody neck " lol.

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 02:03pm

In canon, the knights almost felt like they were written in to give the Dawn/Glory situation an extra layer of menace, and give Buffy something else to fight. I was able to twist the situation a bit, and get just a little more use out of them.

[Report This]
ValidescopeWest Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 09, 2015 02:30am Liked

Been away too long but up side, got to read  a few chapters all at once...love how this is going. Glad the custody hearing went so well. It's interesting, the Tara/Willow conversation....I wonder why she wants to stay there so bad now? She barely wanted to go. Glory is taking an interesting step. I'm glad Buffy allnd Giles seem to be getting better. I think I understand what the First Slayer was trying to say to Buffy but I'll wait and see. My review is jumbled because I read a the last few or four or five chapters at once. Loved it!

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 02:00pm

Welcome back to Echoes!

Re Willow: She doesn't want to stay in Devon. She just wants to go back for further training. That's actually a really good sign. It indicates she's been taking her lessons to heart, and doesn't think she's above training and restraint. Devon has been good for her in that respect. But the time and distance from people who were already undergoing some changes before she left isn't exactly bringing out her best personality traits. It's not entirely her fault, of course. She hasn't been told why all the changes are happening. It's just not a good situation for someone who doesn't handle change all that well, and expects to be in control and/or near the center of the action.

If, when you've reached the end of Echoes, you go back and reread the spirit guide's words, you'll understand every word of it. And -assuming that doesn't match your current interpretation- you'll want to slap yourself on the forehead for not seeing what she was really saying. Fun stuff... At least, it's fun for the evil author.

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 09, 2015 02:16am Liked

This chapter started out so great!! Custody is won unless Hank shows up and then he better have a damn good excuse and that probably still won't help him. To this. The minions for the minion just quit and Glory and the Knights are about to come full bore down on everyone. I can't wait for more!Big Grin

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:51pm

I'm a cruel, cruel author. I lifted you up on a big pile of good news, and then threw you down into the dread and tension of war prep. Why do you people like my writing, again? hehe

[Report This]
Cloongarvin Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 09, 2015 01:54am

Uh oh. 

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:47pm

Big uh-oh.

*evil grin*

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 08, 2015 10:04pm Liked

I can't blame them after seeing Glory destroy the Knights I would be scared too but then I'm not a Slayer. 

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:46pm

I love it when a bunch of info crams itself into a single, short line so easily. We were reminded that Eddie started hiring out the spying work somewhere around Power Shifts and Friendly Detachment, something that hasn't been mentioned in a while. And then he dropped the "Tell your master we quit" line.  In those four words, Eddie's position as a minion is restated, we are told that the demons know they've been reporting to a middle man, and that they saw something terrible on their last watch.

As for what it was they saw, and how it impacts the story going forward, you'll find out soon!

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 08, 2015 05:36pm Liked

Ooooh lots going on.... Thanks for the update! Nice chapter. Much appreciated.

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:39pm

Yup! Bunches going on. Whereas Patience Lessons takes place over the course of roughly two and a half weeks, the next chapter takes place over only a few hours. Our characters about about to be very busy. :)

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 08, 2015 05:14pm

A good nice beginning with Buffy and Spike becoming Dawn's guardiens. Then some talk with Lydia. Changing the names of the scytes, is that because they saw their twins in the future?

Then the "new Scoobies" meet, I, can see why Dawn called them that. Some kice teasing to get Bufry to learn more languages.

The rest of the chapter is in war mode. They are doing some serious planning, Tara is ready to take a big personal risk here and I can sort off feel a differen, more solemn tone in it. Dawn feels it too and we can see that she has thought about the situation when she talk with Spike. Both the knights and Glory are acting, so the danger is there. Glory going after the knights can take away one danger at least, but she will know about Tara being the key.

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:34pm

They first referenced changing the nickname attached to the scythes in Slipped Words, just over 24 hours after they got back from 2036. This is only the second time it's come up. Yes, their *other* twins are the reason. This tiny nickname problem will be referred to again later.

I'm so, so glad we're finally to this chapter, if for no other reason than that I can use the phrase "Time Scoobies" in review responses now. I've been wanting to refer to the four of them that way for a while, but I had to wait on Dawn to say it. They're a team in a lot of ways, but they aren't the same team as the regular Scoobies. They're a separate unit.

I tried to rewrite away from having Dawn basically narrate the week and a half between the raid on Willy's and the porch scene, but none of it told you what was happening as clearly and simply as the porch scene, so I left it alone. That left Dawn as the one to tell us that the Time Scoobies had gone into war prep mode, and that an undertone of tension was building at home during that time.

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 08, 2015 02:48pm Liked

Excellent to get legal custody of Dawn. Applause

Oh-oh, Glory's getting desperate.... Scared

 

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:22pm

Hehe! Definitely a "good news, bad news" chapter.

[Report This]
gill Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 08, 2015 10:54am Liked

dun dun dun.

the suspense is starting to kill me as we near the final battle, eeeee!

(also loved the bit about slayers reading Cosmo, and the chance to also change Buffy's future with a bit of relevant education)

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:21pm

Buffy would have gone back to school in canon, I think, if money hadn't been an issue. But the other thing she needed was a *reason* to go. She never seemed to have that before. She was just doing what a lot of people do: go to college because you're supposed to, even if you have no idea what you're trying to get out of it. Latin is something to get her back into education, a class she has a reason to take, and a reason to actually learn from. It's a start.

[Report This]
hng23 Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 08, 2015 10:20am Liked

Sailing along nicely, Im looking forward to the next installment.

N

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:14pm

Thank you! I'm glad you're still enjoying the journey!

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 08, 2015 07:33am Liked

Loved it

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:13pm

Thanks!

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 08, 2015 06:44am Liked

SqueePopcorn

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:12pm

Big Grin

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 08, 2015 06:18am Liked

Whoa  Glory went to  see the knights?  Different.

Lovely update.  Love the excitement of gaining custody.  You can get the same feeling from this chapter as season7 war prep.  Nice echo.

Kathleen

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 01:11pm

I had mapped out (and partially written) a bunch of scenes to cover the time between the raid on Willy's and the Dawn and Spike porch scene, so you weren't lurched forward in time a week and a half, but nothing I had to tell you about those 10 days could be said any better than Dawn said them in the porch scene, so I left the gap. The result is that she's basically narrating that season seven echo, and doesn't even fully realize it.

[Report This]
crazyjane Reviewed Patience Lessons on July 08, 2015 05:57am Liked

Brillant update. I'm so hoping Glory has taken the Knights out early, that's one distraction the team can do without. Can't wait for more..... 

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 12:59pm

We're about to find out what happened with Glory and the knights. Things are getting very, very interesting. :D

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.