Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
alive_or_dead Reviewed New Foundations on January 24, 2016 11:27pm Liked

Wow. I had forgotten just how not badly Angel took the news... Also, shit Glory knows the Key is a person now :/

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed New Foundations on January 24, 2016 09:57pm

Angel handled this remarkably well.

[Report This]
TieDyeJackson Reviewed New Foundations on June 29, 2015 02:01pm Liked

Awww, see the strength of them all coming together and I must say Angel is being very mature about the whole thing :)

Author's Response on June 29, 2015 09:15pm

Angel's kind of stuck. Clearly, his pedastal vision of Buffy is long gone, erased by time. They're definitely never getting back together. And playing nice with Spike is probably the only chance he'll have of even seeing Buffy again. Poor guy. But at least he recognized the situation and didn't throw a tantrum about it. Still, it's a big shock, and a lot to take in.

As for the residents of the Summers house coming together, Joyce's death is putting into words what's been building for a while, now. I'm so glad to finally show it to you.

[Report This]
Torrilin Reviewed New Foundations on June 28, 2015 03:17pm

Sometimes, doing the right thing sucks. This is one of the sucky ones, for sure.

i love devious Tara here. She really has a plan, and so far her plans seem nice and flexible.

Author's Response on June 30, 2015 01:59am

Devious? Nah, not our sweet, gentle Tara. But hiding certain spell books from the grieving teen and the half-trained witch? Probably really smart.

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed New Foundations on June 28, 2015 09:57am

Loved it

Author's Response on June 28, 2015 10:12am

Thanks!

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 09:00pm Liked

Good chapter ! So Glory knows the key is a person and might be sent to Angel for safe keeping....... Thanks for the update.

Author's Response on June 28, 2015 10:19am

More specifically, Glory knows it's a person and that person might be sent to 'the tall man' at some point. Remember (from Intervention) that Glory's minions aren't smart enough to identify vampires. They only know about Spike because Glory told them. (In both canon and Echoes, Glory's the one who recognizes what he is.)

[Report This]
gill Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 08:01pm Liked

loved the opportunity to bring Angel around through great discussion! Nice bit with the renouncement of the claim.

And then I was marvelling at house easily it went, so Buffy's line made me laugh out loud: “He thinks we came from like, ten or twenty years in the future, doesn't he?”

Author's Response on June 28, 2015 10:31am

I didn't think I could get away with ignoring the fact that Angel previously had his teeth in Buffy and still get his support, so I included that little moment of him acknowledging that he lays no claim to her, and won't challenge any claim from Spike. It's a very formal statement, and it's implied to be a layer of vampiric culture Spike knows and Buffy doesn't, but she gets the point. The hug makes that clear. The "I won't challenge" and hug also put Angel and Buffy in a very different place than they've been previously.

The "Hell, no /Ok, then" exchange is one of my favorite moments of the entire chapter. In that tiny scene, both Spike and Buffy express that they're sure Angel would throw a royal fit if he knew the details of the truth he'd been offered, and then agree that vagueness is a smart move to keep the peace... in the fewest possible words. At this point, they really "get" each other, and they both understand Angel. They didn't need to say much to make that decision.

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 02:48pm

Sometimes you have to wonder about Buffy. She shouldn't have to ask Tara about that. Not telling Spike would have been an extreamly bad idea. She did tell him just before Angel arrived. Being told so late probably made Spike gloat even more. When Angel got all information he took the news well, in that he reminds me of Xander in this story. He did see how close they are, so he chose to be accepting, nice. I like how he said "William, your demon chose well".

As always there was lots of good comments. Buffy's and Spike's constant bickering bring so many good things to read.

Now that Glory knows that the person sent away will be the key, there can be much trouble.

 

Author's Response on June 28, 2015 10:53am

Did Angel really have a choice about accepting it? If Spike and Buffy were only dating, not married and on the verge of claiming, there's no way he'd have taken it so well. We all know that. But their inner demons have chosen each other. There's not much left to argue with. Poor Angel is kind of stuck. Short of trying to dust Spike (which clearly wouldn't get him anywhere with Buffy), his options were to pout and leave, or accept the silver lining that Buffy is going to be claimed into his family.

Spike's gloating was so fun to write, I kind of got away from myself, and had to cut a bunch of it. There's a bit that I desperately wanted to keep, but it ended up cut with the related gloating. She rolls her eyes at Spike and says, "I should have sent you home. This is the last time I take advice on vamp men from a human lesbian." Spike shoots back with "Good for Glinda." Of course, Angel doesn't really know Tara, and gives them a funny look, wondering whatthey're talking about. But -as fun as that moment is- it didn't really fit once the rest of the excessive gloating was cut, so I had to let it go.

Author's Response on June 28, 2015 10:57am

(Accidentally submitted response before I was finished)

The only thing Glory knows for certain is that the Key is a person. She already knew Buffy was protecting it, so that it might be hidden away if Glory got close isn't a huge surprise. But here's the catch: she has to get close before that someone is sent away. There are a lot of ways that can go.

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 02:04pm Liked

Angel being mature and not all jealous and acting like twelve year old!! AMAZING!!! Which coincidentally is also a word I use to describe this fic.

Author's Response on June 28, 2015 10:43am

They're chosen mates, bound to each other on a nearly sub-conscious level. Neither they nor Angel can do much to change that status. Suppressant or claim, the bond is there. Angel knows that. The only way he could break it would be to off Spike (before a claim happens, so he wouldn't off Buffy, too), and what he sees in Buffy's behavior makes him see that he shouldn't. Really, he's painted into a corner. He pretty much has to accept that this is how things are.

Gotta feel sorry for him, though. He just left Sunnydale two years ago, with Buffy watching him go with big, sad, puppy dog eyes. A year ago, he came to town and met her very human boyfriend (with Spike hanging around her dorm room for some odd reason). And now she's pretty much permanently bound to his least favorite relative... and not unhappy about it. If I were in Angel's place, I'd turn the road trip back to LA into a very long bar hop...

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 01:06pm Liked

Good to see Angel not being a total jerk for once.

Yes, high time for the donning rings, and for tellng Dawn the truth.

Author's Response on June 28, 2015 11:03am

Poor Angel. He didn't even have a lot of room for being a possessive jerk, even if that is frequently his default setting. Once you get into 'chosen mate' territory, other 'suitors' are pretty much a no-go. If Buffy had appeared unhappy with the situation, he might have made a play for breaking the impending bond and 'setting her free' before a claim could happen (offing Spike), but she didn't come off as unhappy about it, so stomping off in a childish fit or being a grown up about it were pretty much his only viable options.

It's definitely past time for Dawn to find out. She's proven herself trustworthy with the marriage thing, as no one found out about it through her. Here comes the next step.

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 10:57am Liked

That went much better than expected. And yeah Buffy telling Spike before Angel showed up was the best thing to do. With the century long hatred those two have coming home smelling like Angel would have been bad. Bad of epic proportions. Now he gets to act as the second front in the same war as before. Besides I don't think he would have bought it without seeing Spike for himself. I'm still trying to figure out who sired Eddie. But I guess it probably wasn't anyone we saw in canon.

I was happy to see Buffy letting go of that normal BS. Normal died the second she was called. And hanging on to that dream all these years has done nothing but make her miserable. It might have taken a death, a resurrection, a soul, a war and some time travel to get her to see it. But she finally does. Being married to vampire and having someone from the PTB tell her she's in this for the long haul helps too. But the funny thing? Her mom dying leaving her the care of a 15 year old? That is the most normal thing that has ever happened to her. Having to quit school and take a crappy job to support her sister? Normal. And she hated every moment of it. And really what is normal? There is ordinary/average but normal is just a word. You have no idea what freaky things go on in other people's houses once the doors close.

So Glory knows the key is human. Oh Tara for everyone's sake I hope she doesn't grab you until Willow has gone back to England. Because I don't know that Willow is ready for that yet. Yeah she's made some progress but finding out Glory has you? And that you knew it might happen and actually volunteered? Mega Uber Black Veiny Scary Willow coming up. And Buffy would probably be second on her hit list right after Glory for putting Tara in that position.

They are going to tell Dawn? Good. Although if I'm right it would explain what the flashes meant before the time line disappeared. In a few of them it seemed like she knew. Especially the one where she told Faith that Spike needed to talk to the gang. That he had to. So she knew for years. She has been doing well keeping secrets. She kept quiet about the wedding so I think she can keep this under her hat too. Plus she might be a bit more understanding and cooperative if she knows. She just lost her mother. Finding out that she could lose Buffy too? I think she'll keep quiet and do what she is told with a minimum of bitching and complaining. 

Author's Response on June 30, 2015 01:38am

"Normal died the second she was called." Exactly!

"Normal. And she hated every moment of it." And nailed it again.

Buffy's life is anything but ordinary, and when it gets close to ordinary, she's miserable. If she didn't have a non-stop flow of weird and strange in her life, I think she'd lose it.

Yup, those possible future scenerios all included Dawn having been told at some point. She's earned their trust with the marriage secret, and she really does have a right to know all the angles of the mission to protect her from Glory. We're about to get the entire household on the same page. Finally.

[Report This]
crazyjane Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 09:52am Liked

Well Angel took that well, wonder how that will change things in LA. Super update. 

Author's Response on June 28, 2015 11:05am

I don't really dig into any of the LA canon in Echoes, only touching on it once or twice, as needed. But my first impulse is to think Angel's going to go back to LA a little less hesitant to pursue his growing interest in Cordy.

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 07:43am Liked

I liked the interaction with Angel in this chapter.  He was reasonable although I agree with Spike that had he known it was only 3 years he would likely have been petty (I like Angel but with some things he just was).

Oh oh...Jinx overheard too much.  Hope they don't send Dawn or the game will be up.

Another excellent chapter.

Kathleen

Author's Response on June 29, 2015 07:11pm

Yeah, telling Angel they came from the very near future probably would have been a mistake. Vague, vague, vague was the name of the game with him. (Don't you feel kind of sorry for Old Broody Pants? I know I shouldn't, but I kind of do.)

Really, Jinx didn't get all that much info. A few vague words addressed to a total stranger that didn't tell Glory much more than she found out in other ways in canon: The Key is human. Probably. Who is "the tall man"? Where will he (and the person sent to him) be later on? They'll try to find out, of course. But as of New Foundations, they know none of that.

I know I've said it before, but things are about to get interesting... Again. *evil grin*

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 05:11am Liked

Loved it

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 02:57am

Thanks!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 05:06am Liked

I am so glad that the Angel thing ended so well Have to admit I was a bit on edge wondering if he was going to explode and start fighting. 

Author's Response on June 28, 2015 11:41am

Sometimes being vague pays off. "He thinks we came from, like, ten or twenty years in the future" is probably a sound theory. :)

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed New Foundations on June 27, 2015 04:52am Liked

Squee

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 02:58am

Big Grin

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.