Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
alive_or_dead Reviewed Inevitable Spin on January 24, 2016 10:50pm Liked

T_T I knew this was coming and it's still makes me almost cry....

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Inevitable Spin on September 12, 2015 06:20am

I was really hoping that you would manage to change the death of Joyce - 

[Report This]
13th Blackbird Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 30, 2015 11:33pm Liked

Awww!

Author's Response on July 02, 2015 12:07pm

Good awww or bad awww?

[Report This]
ValidescopeWest Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 23, 2015 07:39pm Liked

Sigh all around...the good bits...the horrible bits...and the sad bits.

Your writing is amazing. Next chapter please.

 

Author's Response on June 26, 2015 01:12pm

Thank you! That's very kind! I hope the rest of the story keeps that opinion standing. Things are about to get interesting.

ValidescopeWest Replied on June 26, 2015 01:35pm

I know Joyce death probably had to happen...maybe she can replace Whistler lol? She would probably do that job waaay better and give the PTB a piece of her mind lol. She's dead now she can be anything...maybe that's a better way to look at it. I could see them giving her a choice like Tara but different cause you know, she's dead in this timeline. She would want to help. I should probably write more challenges lol.

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 12:08pm

That definitely sounds like a challenge waiting to be written. Or maybe a story, if you're up for it. I'll tell you this much: I didn't go that direction in Echoes, so you won't be stepping on my toes to go for it.

[Report This]
Torrilin Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 23, 2015 06:54pm Liked

Ouch! That ending feels like being punched. Or like seeing the horrible post when an online friend has died. Ow.

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 03:28am

FlowersForgive the evil author for the gut punch? Flowers Transfer the blame to Joss?

Torrilin Replied on June 28, 2015 05:25pm

It's a good ow. The best thing about Joyce's death in canon is that an anyuerism is so hard to catch and treat, even now. So if a writer wants to deal with grief and the depression that can come with it, the option is there. And if the writer wants a live Joyce, it's a lot of work to save her. So unless they have a plot for her, they tend not to try. it's a challenge whichever way the writer goes.

There aren't a lot of fic writers who take on Joyce dying and make it hit so hard.

[Report This]
Behind Blue Eyes Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 23, 2015 03:27pm Liked

Although I knew it was coming, it was still heartbreaking.  Cry

Author's Response on June 25, 2015 12:31pm

I honestly don't know how you people put up with me. I'm kind of evil.

[Report This]
TieDyeJackson Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 23, 2015 01:09pm Liked

She was there to see it :((((( You are so channeling your inner Joss here and I always feel sad for April too.

Author's Response on June 25, 2015 12:44pm

"channeling your inner Joss"

The epitome of a true compliment masquarading as a back handed one. LOL

Thanks! :)

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 23, 2015 07:10am Liked

Cry

Was really hoping that she could, and would, be saved this time 'round. Still cries whenever I either read about or watch those event's, despite the fact that I know good and well what's to come. 😢😭😱

Thank You for those wonderfully sweet, touching and funny new memories. I ,for one, truly enjoyed them!!!! 😳

Finally got caught up, and now that I have to wait for the next update, I'm kinda regretting reading as fast as I do! 

Despite having the knowledge of what the next chapter will deal with, I'm still on pin's and needles waiting for it!! And still loving each and every chapter I read!!!! Has discovered yet another New Favorite Author!!! 😏😜😆😉

👍👏💐🎊🎉🎇🎁

💝💛💙💟💜💗💓💞💕💖💖💖💖💖💖

 

 

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 12:26pm

Aww! Thanks! I'm glad you're enjoying it, even if I am making you miserable!

[Report This]
jhiz Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 23, 2015 02:50am Liked

Aw... now we have Buffy in depression over not being able to save her mother and her seriously thinking about other people dying if she takes on the other aspects of being in a forever kinda relationship (perhaps?).  The argument at the beginning seemed so true to some of their real arguments.  I am impressed with the backbone Tara has acquired.

Thank you for the update even if it ended on a truly sad note.

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 12:24pm

Some days, Tara's role is advisor. Some days, she's a babysitter. Some days, she's a lion tamer in need of a whip. Tongue Out

[Report This]
gill Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 23, 2015 12:05am Liked

And here I was thinking we had one more chapter til Joyce. I have a feeling Buffy will not handle it as well as we might hope, given she should have been expecting it :(

 

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 12:15pm

It's a mixed bag. It isn't the shock it was the first time around. But being there didn't help, and that's a tough pill to swallow.

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 11:44pm Liked

Nooo. I know I partly expected it. But I was still hopeful. At least they had those memories CryI so loved Joyce here.

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 12:09pm

I wonder if I spent too much time with Joyce in this story. I'm seeing a lot of emoticons with hankies lately.

But she was fun while we had her, wasn't she?

[Report This]
momnesia Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 11:32pm Liked

I really wish that they could have found a way to save Joyce.    Too bad that there was no way to detect the aneurysm before it formed; doctors most likely couldn't have fixed it even if they knew it was there.   I really liked Joyce, losing her is when everything started to go south for Buffy--not Glory 's ritual.    It was nice that the girls and Joyce had that nice night together first; that helps a bit.   Thanks for the update.

Author's Response on June 26, 2015 12:18pm

It's subtle, but it is also implied the "spin" scene was partially 'manufactured' by the travelers as part of the Happy Memory plan. Why else would Buffy use some of the same lines, and both Dawn and Joyce be drawn into a far warmer and sillier scene than the original?

You're right that Joyce's death was the beginning of the collapse of the Buffy we knew up to that point in the series. But in Echoes, that version of Buffy is already long gone, and what she's left with (emotionally and practically) is different this time around.

[Report This]
goldseadragon Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 08:38pm

You are so freaking evil to end it there. Spike would be proud.

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 12:05pm

Totally Joss' fault. I lifted the basic framework straight from canon. The first glimpse of the body at the end of the previous episode was replaced with the 911 call. The following chapter also mirrors the episode framework in the first half. See? Borrowed evil. Not mine at all.

Ok, it's a little mine. I didn't *have* to do it that way. :P

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 08:25pm Liked

Love Spike's contribution to the dress teasing, and the way they dealt with April, but then..........

CryCryCryCry

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 11:55am

I didn't want to focus much on April, for obvious reasons, but something had to be done, to keep her from bruising up half the men in Sunnydale on her way to find Warren. Well, our time travelers -especially one of them- know a little about how she works. It was a perfect ruse, since April would have no reason to think that information was acquired in a way that was not specifically for her welfare. It also solved an entire episode's worth of bot-mayhem in five minutes, giving me plenty of time to focus where I wanted to: at home.

'Cause focusing at home is what the time travel team was doing, too. Operation Happy Memory likely had more to it than we saw, and very likely included making that dress scene even warmer and happier than Buffy remembered it. I didn't dwell much on it, and maybe I should have, but in my head, I could almost see the flood of emotions coming from Buffy as she leaned against the doorframe, watching them dance. Operation Happy Memory might have been primarily for Dawn's benefit, but it was probably good for Buffy, too. (And Spike and Tara, to a lesser extent.)

[Report This]
ladypeyton Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 04:58pm

I can't lie. I'm still finding the whole suppressant plotline painful and hope each new chapter signals the end of that particular plotpoint. At this point I'm simply slogging through until it's over. The plot element, that is, not the fic. I was particularly depressed with the notion that Tara is stocking up on suppressant supplies.

Writing quality is still worth the pain, though.

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 12:01pm

I'm glad the rest of it is keeping your interest. All I will say about the suppressant is that it -like everything else- has its pay offs. We've already seen some of it, as the strength of the friendship has been brought to the fore, bridging the gaps in the romantic relationship. Also, the familiar emotional distance has helped them start to deal with some back-burnered issues, namely the broken history of their sexual relationship. As for the other pay-offs? We'll get there, soon enough.

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 04:45pm

They are getting close to a really bad time in their life, so it makes sense that anger and older issues would come up. The bot also bring a lot of bad memories to Spike. In his mind it sort of became a symbol of his failure to save Buffy. Then some Warren talk. Killing him would have been wrong, at this time he's just like an really smart Xander. If they can stop the April-Katrina scenario from happening the way it did, then there's a possibility that his life would go in a much better way. This was a critical moment for him. Things went better than ever, and then everything fell apart. 

I have for several chapter felt like the supressant have started to lose power, feelings seems to have become stronger again. Since Tara think that they need a new dose soon, it seems like that feeling was right.

I wondred before why Buffy was so calm and accepting about Joyce dying, but that was when there was time left. Now we can really sees how this is stressing her out, and she does try to stop it. I really liked "operation good memories" that was a good idea.

 

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 11:38am

What we've been seeing with the suppressant is a combination of the beginning of the spell fading in combination with the friendship between them keeping them close. Also, remember that the spell didn't hit Spike as hard as it hit Buffy. Emotionally, they've been in their mid season 6 positions, stabilized by their late season 7 friendship. But now, we're drifting back toward their Echoes era status, which I think *everyone* wants.

I agree with Tara about the pre-emptive strike on Warren being a bad idea, and morally questionable in a big way. But that conversation really had to happen. Impulsive Spike is naturally going to think offing Warren early is a good idea, and want to do it without thinking through the consequences. Battle-hardened Buffy is (as established) not going to give Warren a pass based on species, and naturally thinks getting rid of him is worth considering, but she's not as impulsive, and is considering the consequences of Spike's idea. Three different viewpoints on something that will be super important later. Not only is Warren himself an important point, but seeing the time travel team talk through the issue is pretty significant. It's a huge decision. Just the thing to show the strength of the team and their ability to work through things together. Personally, I'm kind of proud of them. :)

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 03:31pm Liked

Oh dear, Joyce. I like the dress scene. Thanks for the update.

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 11:20am

Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 03:06pm Liked

Joyce D: 

;~;

(Loved the fun they all had together with her date dress! Totally lovely. And ouch on the argument, it was reall harsh but Buffy and Spike have always been the types to cut eachother in an argument)

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 11:15am

The dress scene was fun, despite the implication that the travelers probably partially engineered it, ramping up the "happy memory" aspect of a moment Buffy knew was coming.

The "dirty laundry hit parade" argument -as Tara hinted later- was pretty much the result of them taking their stress out on each other (with all the bot-baggage making it worse, of course). But the good news is that they can be that cruel to each other without it tearing them apart now. And even apologize for it later. The nastiness of season six really can't come back, under those circumstances.

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 01:58pm Liked

Well Tara was right. Spike did ask her for the suppressant. I don't know if it was just an angry in the moment request or if he was serious. But the fighting between the two has to stop one way or another. They are getting vicious and cruel. But so far not physical but how long that will last is anyone's guess.

I know Buffy was hoping, okay maybe a bit more like determined to keep Joyce alive, but at the very least Joyce had two of the most pleasant days in recent memory with her when she died. And Dawn has those same memories to help her. I'm thinking Buffy isn't going to be easy to deal with now. If she couldn't keep Joyce alive then she might jump to the conclusion that she won't be able to avoid jumping and that's gonna spark a ton of arguments!

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 10:51am

Don't worry. He wasn't serious. Tara wasn't even in the room when he made that joke. As for the fighting, that's nothing to worry about, either. As Tara said later in the chapter, they're stressed, and taking it out on each other. And hey! They've learned to apologize! That's new!

[Report This]
Sexiespikelover Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 12:58pm Liked

Awwww.... :/ but they had good memories first.... Sad

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 10:44am

I've made a lot of sad faces appear on the review page lately. I should be ashamed of myself.

[Report This]
the_moonmoth Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 11:50am Liked

“I'll knock you on your ass so hard, you'll think you're trying to stop me handing myself over to the bloody cops.”

Ooh, ouch. Tough stuff happening all round, here. I'm wibbling a bit over the next chapter, no idea where everyone s grief is going to take them...

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 10:41am

The truth? I absolutely love the 'dirty laundry' argument. It was mean and vicious, but honest. And it felt exactly right for where they were teetering: The emotional connection is in the first stages of bouncing back (vaguely reflecting where they were during the season six affair), and they're both stressed out about upcoming events. What better time to show they can still go out for blood with each other but that it isn't necessarily destructive anymore? It may be a nasty little argument, but that doesn't mean it can tear them apart. And -holy crap!- they even apologized for it later. It's almost like they're grown ups or something.

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 09:45am Liked

Loved it

Author's Response on June 25, 2015 12:29pm

Thanks!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 05:49am Liked

OH dear I had hoped that in spite of Whistler they could save Joyce.

Spike should have found a way to make April kill Warren ... poetic justice that would be (hey, unintentional pun...Spike the poet setting up poetic justice!  Cool.)

Playful and cute with the dress and teasing.

Wow they sure know the sore spots to hit in fighting (like any close couple).  The bond might not have been strong back then and Buffy of THEN didn't love or trust Spike but THIS Buffy has all those memories.  She should be able to love him and acknowledge it.  The bond didn't MAKE the love, their growth and history did.  I think she's just being stubborn and unwilling to admit her feelings but then in season 7 she didn't say it until too late either even though her actions screamed it. 

Excellent update.

Kathleen

Author's Response on June 27, 2015 11:09am

The suppressant is stifling her emotions toward him, so she's in a weird place of knowing intellectually that she loves him, but not actually feeling it. That's what they get for having Tara go heavy on the potency. And they knew that's what they were risking. Pointing out the place where she wrote those three little words down for him is a compromise between saying it and not saying it, given her distorted emotional state where he's concerned.

Is it a good compromise? Spike's accepting it, but we all know he's not much of a guidepost on this stuff. He'll just keep accepting the crumbs.

Is a compromise necessary? Probably. At least it would seem so to Buffy. She's emotionally messed up in a lot of ways, and we've seen her struggle to use the L word when she's not really feeling it. Remember when she was talking to Giles about going on that slayer vision quest in season 5 canon?

[Report This]
kittyfajitas Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 04:26am Liked

Oh, no.  Next chapter is going to be super sad.  Wonder if Angel will still show up for the funeral?

Author's Response on June 26, 2015 01:08pm

Why wouldn't he? The bigger question is, how did he hear about it?

In canon, he doesn't say. He only says he came as soon as he heard, and doesn't show up until after the funeral. Hmm... What might that imply about how he heard? And what could that mean in the Echoes 'verse?

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Inevitable Spin on June 22, 2015 03:51am Liked

SqueeCry

Author's Response on June 26, 2015 01:05pm

I know, I know. I'm a terrible person. I make my dancing reviewer cry.

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.