Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
alive_or_dead Reviewed Friendly Detachment on January 24, 2016 09:58am Liked

Yes Buffy, take Tara's advice. You know it'll be good for you 

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed Friendly Detachment on January 24, 2016 07:29am

Tara sighed. “I was hoping...” “Me, too. Come on. I wasn't. This whole thing is absurd. Can we stuff the twins up the PTB's asses and watch them dance? I'd be so pissed off at fate, by this time... I don't blame Buffy at all for trying to seize some kind of control over the damned silly situation! (You're doing it well enough, by the way. But if this was all real and actively happening to me, I'd STILL think it was silly! 'Course I used to compare my life to a telenovella...)

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Friendly Detachment on September 11, 2015 06:27am

Loving your Tara - it's a wonderful way to use the character and having Willow run off the London was a good way to keeping Tara as the featured Witch and part of the triad.  

[Report This]
13th Blackbird Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 30, 2015 01:09am Liked

<I>“You know that die-hard romantic you married? He'd love getting to start all over with you, in a better way, and you know it.”</I> Awww, we get to see them courting? Cuuuuute!

Author's Response on June 29, 2015 10:38pm

You're assuming Buffy takes Tara's advice. You'll soon see how that works out.

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 23, 2015 05:08am Liked

Read

Love

Heart

Applause

 

Author's Response on June 26, 2015 01:04pm

Thank you!

[Report This]
the_moonmoth Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 18, 2015 09:07pm Liked

Spike closed his eyes again. “Guess we're back to where we were, then. Don't think the potion did quite as much to me. Still a few steps ahead of you.”

oh no! It's taken them back to how they really felt in S5? Except not exactly. But still, this is kinda tragic.

The pout turned into a vindicated grin. “Thank you, Buffy. I'm not surprised when you're smart, either.”

Aw, Anya. Perfect line.

“Maybe a little, but it's like... It's like what I feel for you, or Xander, or Anya. I care about him, and feel protective of him, but mostly in a 'friends' sort of way. There's not much more than that.”

Gah, this is just heartbreaking. All that effort and growth for Buffy to finally accept the love inside of her, and now it's gone again.

I'm also not sure I buy her lack of attraction to Spike on a turning-back-the-clock basis. They had UST long before they even liked each other. Gonna have to mentally out that one down to the potion for the time being...

 

“Give it a shot, Buffy. It could be fun.” Tara opened a spell book to a page she'd bookmarked the week before. “You know that die-hard romantic you married? He'd love getting to start all over with you, in a better way, and you know it.”

Trust Tara to be able to put a positive spin on it. I hope Buffy goes for it. I very rarely ever say this, but I feel at this point like she owes it to Spike to try.

Author's Response on June 19, 2015 12:32am

More like it took them back to season 6, with the Buffy numbness vibe, but with the friendship that's been built since that time still standing. That means a lot. So yeah, it's a little heartbreaking, but it's a hell of an opportunity, even if it is only a temporary one. As for the sexual tension angle... You'll soon see how that works out. Ditto for the dating idea. The suppressant is going to be a little more interesting than you might expect.

the_moonmoth Replied on June 19, 2015 12:49am

Oh I expect all right. I expect a lot when it comes to your writing ;)

[Report This]
gill Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 13, 2015 01:39pm

Loved the comedy bit at the beginning with Dawn finding Eddie at the door and Joyce musing about vampires with suicidal thoughts. Made me giggle.

I had not really thought through what would happent to their love post-spell to weaken the bond. Really interesting and angsty turn! Poor Spike and Buffy.

Have been too busy with life recently to comment as frequently, but know these updates are still the bright spots I look forward to in my week! Enjoying it immensely.

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 11:02pm

I was beginning to wonder if I'd lost you, gill! (Psst! Check your PMs.) Thrilled to know you're still reading.

Yeah, it's an angsty turn, but that's not necesarily a bad thing. We're going to get some interesting stuff out of it. :)

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 13, 2015 11:24am

It's nice that Buffy admitts that she will miss some parts of the connection. To supress it does leave a sad feeling, but Buffy's reasoning is good. As was said later, they may use the time to start dating or something like that. Spike would like that, it would show that Buffy is still feeling something for him. It was good that Buffy worried about starting something bad with Spike in order to feel. That too shows that she cares. Spike of course tried some humour to lighten the mood. I like how Eddie showed up, but they should probably have told Joyce and Dawn about him. 

Glory have started to become a problem now and since Buffy and Spike have started to change things, Glory will change what she does too. I got a little confused when they asked Lydia to research Glory's time table, until I realized that they of course can't tell the others that they already knows that.

Author's Response on June 14, 2015 02:24am

Throughout the writing of this story, I found myself continuously surprised at what changed from canon and what didn't. The single most significant factor? Ignorance.

Glory doesn't know anything is "off," doesn't know time travelers are in town to screw up her plans, let alone have any idea what happened in their "first time around." Compared to canon, Glory's experiences thus far haven't been wildly different, so her responses haven't been different. There are little Dagon's Spheres scattered all over town, so she's probably getting a lot of minor headaches, not concentrating very well, maybe slightly weaker when she's close to them. She had to beat up a shopkeeper to get the stuff to transmogrify her snake. Not big things, as far as changing her actions and motivations. But now she knows the Key-hiding slayer has a guy in her life she really doesn't want to get hurt. And he's a vampire, besides. That little tidbit might be big enough to impact her actions and motivation.

Tara doesn't know much about the year after she died. She got the bare bones of the Big Bad situations from the PTB. She's picked up some details from Buffy and Spike over the last 6 months. But there's still an awful lot she doesn't know, including stuff she doesn't know about Spuffy. Her ignorance of some things impacts her actions, too.

And you can go on down the line, character by character. As I wrote Echoes, a story filled with secrets, white lies, and the burdens of "future history," I discovered that what a character doesn't know is often far more important to their actions and motivations than what they do know. Everyone is operating in the dark. Some just happen to have better flashlights than others.   

Sorry, I know I'm rambling. I just find it interesting that so often in Echoes, a character's motivation for a given action is based on their ignorance of something, rather than their knowledge of it. Thanks for another great review, magnus!

magnus374 Replied on June 14, 2015 06:00am

All true, what you said. A person can only act on what they think they know, and that means that everything they don't know will be ignored or things doesn't make sense. We could see this clearly with Willow. Suddenly there's a Buffy who talk and act differently, of course she would wonder about what happened. We saw it in the others too, but Willow was easiest to see it in.

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 13, 2015 07:06am Liked

So interested to find out how the whole Glory thing will turn out! I can sort of imagine them trying to play tge Ben angle.... and what about Warren and his robots? The Buffy bot had a role in the final battle as a distraction, could be viable a second time.

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 11:32pm

The Buffybot will not be forgotten, I promise. We'll get there. :)

xblacklilyx Replied on June 14, 2015 01:06am

I wax just getting ahead of myself ahahahahz. I love all your thoughtful replies to reviews, let's us know that you're getting and appreciating our love and thoughts!

Author's Response on June 14, 2015 02:51am

Embarrassed If only you hadn't posted that on a night when I'm behind on review responses...

I love digging into the characters and story with you guys. It's interesting. Of course, I'm constantly at war with my urge to spoil things. I find myself typing a lot of "wait and see" statements and/or intentionally not responding to parts of your comments because I can't trust myself to keep my mouth shut.

xblacklilyx Replied on June 14, 2015 09:58am

The fact that you bother with detailed replies makes up for any sort of being behind on them! I wonder if any of these reviews have made you change story aspects while you post? 

Author's Response on June 14, 2015 12:08pm

They've pointed out a couple of minor gaps in detail or explanation. If the readers don't think point A is clear, or mention that they don't know where mini-arc B is going, I keep that in mind as I do my final run throughs of the upcoming chapters, making certain I've filled those gaps. When I get to the next mention of point A, or the follow up of mini-arc B, I go over it with the previous commentary in mind, and edit accordingly. Usually, the existing material is ok, but I've found a few points that needed better phrasing or more explanation.

There was one big one: the cashier's check. I initially had it "settled off-screen," quietly and simply. But the reviewers were getting so much enjoyment out of anticipating how it would be handled, I wrote in the entire "It was in the freezer" scene to satifsy them, and changed the later "it was settled off screen" reference. I made sure to keep one important point with that, though. That Buffy was wrong. She expected an argument to erupt about it. It didn't go that way, in either version. I like making the characters be wrong about some things. It keeps us all on our toes, and reminds us that they are fallible humans. Well, your mileage may vary on that last word, but you know what I mean. Wink

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 10:33pm Liked

Yes. Spike gets a chance to be romantic and you guys get to date. Something I always thought was missing and needed. And I confess a bit worried. What if Glory gets her hands on Spike again. I don't want him to have to go through that again.

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 11:31pm

It's so sweet that you're worried about them! And since these poor characters are in my hands, probably wise. Devil

I'm kidding. Sort of. It's not going to be smooth sailing, no matter what happens. As for the dating, it would be nice if they tried that, wouldn't it?

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 09:13pm Liked

Ahh, I think they should date too. Good chapter, thanks for the update.

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 01:42am

 Now we just have to hope Buffy takes Tara's advice!

[Report This]
ValidescopeWest Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 06:48pm Liked

Am I the only one who didn't know that the suppressant was going to affect their feelings?! I just thought it would mute the telepathy, instinctual urge to mate and all that stuff.

When Buffy asked were they even still friends...no wonder Tara was trying to give them an out. And it's still sorta lopsided. This is crazy.

 

 

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 01:36am

Here's the stuff you probably forgot:

Connective Issues, Tara: How did I not know the bond between them was more than just an emotional connection?

Unwilling Witness, Spike: A good witch, like we got, can do it, easy enough. Risk is in if it's not strong enough. It wears off too fast, instincts take over, and we do it, anyway. Go overboard at the outset, trying to cover for that risk, Glinda could block more than she means to.”

Buffy: The basis of the bond. Fabulous. Ok, so Plan A is iffy.

Friendly Detachment, Tara: And you're sure about the potency?

Those two geniuses asked for extra strength, knowing what the results might be.

 

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 06:08pm Liked

Can't say I'm surprised. She blocked the bond and now she's regreting it a bit.

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 01:57am

The good news is that the suppressant is temporary. The very good news is that they ARE still friends. There's something left to survive on, for both them and us.

[Report This]
sassafrass Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 05:20pm

Yesssss. I'm probably in the minority here but I love that you took it there!! I desperately wanted to know what it would be like if they suppressed the bond. Deciding to suppress it is something Buffy would do. It makes me smack my head but she's always making me do that so fabulous decision on your part. 

Spike must be in pieces over it but he's always in pieces over her. 

I loved the bit where Joyce came down and they were curled up, fully clothed, on top of the covers. betraying a soul deep intamacy that can't be suppressed. 

Dying to know what happens with Glory and Spike. I'm a little dying for her to kidnap and torture him again. That's one of my favorite btvs moments ever because actions speak louder than words and it shows you how much he loves Buffy. How he'd never betray her. I want her to be reminded of that again. Not that she's forgotten I just want her to FEEL him. I think it also needs to happen to develop his relationship with the scooters further, to bring them one step closer to accepting his relationship with Buffy.

ah! You didn't really leave the chapter on a cliff hanger but I feel like it. I'm just hangin here eager to see what you cook up next! 

Fabulous story. Thank you for sharing!!

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 11:15pm

Yay! A reviewer who doesn't want to string me up by my ankles! It's definitely going to be interesting, seeing how they handle this new situation. Thanks for the kind review!

[Report This]
TieDyeJackson Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 02:16pm Liked

Lots and lots of stuff happened and I couldn't turn my eyes away , it is building and building and I can wait to see the boom :)

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 11:35pm

I think you'll like where this is going, but we still have a long ways to go before the Echoes roller coaster hits its biggest loops. For now, enjoy the (somewhat) level ground of chapter 24 (posting shortly). 

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 01:06pm Liked

Excellent.

Love the dating idea. Clever Tara. 

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 11:27pm

Now, if she can get them to take her up on it, that would be nice...

[Report This]
ladypeyton Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 10:57am Liked

I'm feeling profoundly disappointed and furious with Buffy's cowardice. I was loving the dynamic between them and it feels to me like it's been reset to a state that has been explored ad nauseum. I can't even describe how bitter I feel right now. I'm sorry. I'm really not on board with the suppressant. I can't even...

I'm just so disgusted with her. She went from in love but still fairly cold and detatched to mildly affectionate but not in love. It feels like a huge slide backwards after struggling towards love for so many chapters and hoping she'd overcome her detachment. I'm just disappointed and feel she's being cowardly.

But I did make a point to listen to S3 Willow's advice and keep my disappointment in "I" statements and it's not an accurate reflexion of my feelings for the story itself. While I am definitely currently disappointed in the direction you chose to take it I still feel it is well written.

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 11:21pm

"...like it's been reset to a state that has been explored ad nauseum."

Not really. On the surface, yes, I suppose you're sort of right. But this oddly familiar place of romantic detachment isn't one they've ever been in with an established friendship, or the benefit of hindsight. It's not going to play out the same with those two factors in play. Also, it's temporary, and they both know it.

Don't lose hope. Those two will surprise you.

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 09:35am Liked

Loved it

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 11:22pm

Thanks!

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 09:23am Liked

SqueeSqueeBow

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 11:22pm

Big Grin

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 07:39am Liked

Really good.  Glad to see Glory enter the scene.  THey do have the advantage of knowing the storyline from the start but every change they make will change Glory's counter action and they will lose that advantage.  I can't help thinking Buffy made a mistake in supressing that bond.  I would think communication without speach or proximity would be helpful at the very least.

Had a bad thought just now....if GLory DOES grab Spike and Buffy goes to rescue him that's all well and good but what if her excursion to Glory's apartment has caused her to move and Buffy does not kinow where she has him!  YIKES, I think I just scaredd myself.

Kathleen

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 11:26pm

Um, I don't remember sending Buffy to Glory's apartment. Am I blanking out on something and putting a big, fat plothole in the story? Or are you thinking of something else?

[Report This]
fyreburned Reviewed Friendly Detachment on June 12, 2015 06:25am Liked

Hey, Tara's idea is kinda sweet, and all "awwww!" A defintely "Go for it!" idea.

Author's Response on June 13, 2015 01:24am

The hard part is going to be getting Mr. and Mrs. Stubborn to try it.

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.