Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
alive_or_dead Reviewed Implied Promises on January 24, 2016 07:37am Liked

Yeah, I've read this before so I know how it ends up, but... I still find myself so disappointed that they embark on this journey for the wrong reasons... *sigh*

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed Implied Promises on January 23, 2016 11:22pm Liked

That was all kinds of levels of charming, and I'm not usually one for the marriage proposal white wedding crap. (By the way, this was suspiciously similar to my marriage. Much the same reasons. The only difference is, Dawn wasn't six years old and the one spontaneously proposing on Buffy's behalf.)

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Implied Promises on September 10, 2015 04:30am Liked

what a re-proposal - love the Christmas you gave them and wonderful Tara gift treatment as well as use of the weapons chest.

Author's Response on September 10, 2015 01:00pm

That was a fun Christmas, wasn't it? Great gifts, good character moments, and the world's least romantic proposal. But eventually, we'll have to shift back into the heavy stuff, and leave silly Fluffville behind. Kinda sad, really. The Christmas chapters were really fun.

[Report This]
SoaringClaws Reviewed Implied Promises on August 17, 2015 11:05am

The note in the poetry book actually made me cry. God, these two are ridiculous and beautiful. The yelling match wedding proposal was perfect.

Author's Response on August 18, 2015 02:09am

I do tend to slip in a little schmoop and sweetness now and again. And then I balance it out with the world's least romantic marriage proposal. Tongue Out

[Report This]
13th Blackbird Reviewed Implied Promises on June 29, 2015 12:38am Liked

On the dirt: <I>“So Willow can take her homeland with her.”</I> As if she were a vampire?

Oooh, engaged! Whee!!!

Author's Response on June 30, 2015 02:06am

I didn't even make the vampire connection with the dirt. That's rather funny, now that you point it out.

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Implied Promises on June 22, 2015 08:23am Liked

Read

Faint

Love

Laughing

 

Author's Response on June 26, 2015 12:10pm

Yep, those last three pretty much describe the engagement scene. I don't think I could come up with a more in-character proposal scene if I tried. Those two are such a (fun) mess. :P

[Report This]
TieDyeJackson Reviewed Implied Promises on June 01, 2015 04:14pm Liked

This was such a cute chapter and exemplified Spuffy to a "T" always fighting but when it boils down to it, those kids are crazy in love :D

Author's Response on June 01, 2015 03:24pm

Somedays, they're a little too good at hiding it, but it's there. And you have to be a little proud of them that no punches were thrown. That's progress, right? ;)

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Implied Promises on June 01, 2015 03:50am Liked

Marriage wow. Although I don't know why Buffy would dismiss the romantic crap. Let William have his romantic crap it his life too.

Author's Response on June 01, 2015 03:29pm

The opposition to the romantic crap becomes something of an on-going problem/running joke. (Really, it's about halfway between the two.) She's mostly outgrown all of that cheesy romantic stuff she craved when she was younger, but deep down, she wants a little of it. And the two sides of his personality are definitely at odds on the subject, as well as his willingness to let her set the tone getting in the way. Those two really are a mess, from every angle.

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Implied Promises on May 31, 2015 04:34pm Liked

OMG I LOVED IT!!!     SqueeFlowersLove They negotiated a marriage proposal? Laughing Willow is going to shit kittens. She's already got herself twisted in knots. I do understand what Buffy was doing by going to visit Faith. She needs to make sure that if they fail there are backup plans in place. It makes complete sense and Spike knows it. What bothers him is he still can't let go of the fact that he failed her the first time and he refuses to even admit that Buffy might have to jump again this time.

Author's Response on June 01, 2015 03:36pm

Not the most romantic proposal in history, that's for sure. As for Willow, remember that they've already agreed to keep it quiet for a while, to avoid Scooby fall out, and she's about to leave town, besides. The Faith visit was one of those things that had to be done. If she's not covering her bases on the 'I might die again' aspect of this mission, she's not doing her job. And honestly? He needs to come out of his guilt/denial bubble and accept it. I don't blame him for frekaing out about it, but he's not being realistic. His stupid, blind streak of optimism where Buffy is concerned is showing. We touch on another aspect of that streak in chapter 18, which just posted.

ginar369 Replied on June 02, 2015 12:15pm

Yeah but the chances of Willow not finding out are pretty slim. She is nosey already and Tara going off somewhere without her? She'll snoop. Maybe Spuffy will get lucky and she won't find out. Because if she does?

[Report This]
djjd Reviewed Implied Promises on May 31, 2015 12:17pm

awww, Buffy and Spike are getting married! Keeping me on my toes! 

Author's Response on June 01, 2015 03:40pm

The hope was for a double misdirect to the readers. In chapter 16, he had Joyce retrieve the ring. Hmm... Maybe he's thinking of putting it on Buffy's finger again. Chapter 17, we find out that wasn't his intention at all... But somehow, they ended up engaged, anyway. I know, I go a little nuts sometimes.

djjd Replied on June 01, 2015 08:19pm

I like nuts.

Author's Response on June 01, 2015 11:26pm

I might be a cashew. Maybe an almond.

(Not that I'm in a silly mood, or anything.)

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Implied Promises on May 31, 2015 06:29am Liked

I loved this!  It is perfect for the characters and perfect for the story (fluffy happy smoochies and marriage wouldn't make sense given their mission and what they know might be coming!  THIS works while still acknowledging the love that would have led there anyway).

As always the dialog was perfect throughout.  

Giles is going to glow a gasket (maybe Willow too when she finds out).  I hope they DO tell Joyce what's up.  IF she doesn't make it she will at least have the comfort of knowing they are there to make sure all is okay.

LOVE this and look forward to each update.

Kathleen

Author's Response on May 31, 2015 03:52am

Review #314. Moment of silence for the late Maggie Walsh. *snort* Nah! She deserved what she got! Tongue Out

I was terrified of drifting into fluff-ville with this marriage bit, and afraid it would be perceived that way, despite my efforts to keep it very down to earth. I can't tell you how relieved I am to see positive reviews for Implied Promises. This was one of the'hurdle' chapters for me. If I can keep most of my readers through some of the odd twists and turns in this story, I'll consider Echoes a successful project. I hope the next hurdle chapter goes as well.

Thanks, Kathleen!

~myra

[Report This]
ValidescopeWest Reviewed Implied Promises on May 31, 2015 12:04am Liked

*in Agnes Gru voice* That was awesome and amazing!!!!!

Author's Response on May 31, 2015 12:20am

Hehe Glad you liked!

[Report This]
gill Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 07:42pm Liked

She gave him a pleading smile. “Will you forgive me if I promise to remind you sometimes, and not die until I have to?”

“I'm gonna hold you to that.”

Foreshadowing?

Also when did she start calling him William? Was this sneaked into this chapter or did I just miss it before? I like that it seems real, and believable.

Also there was so much else to love about this chapter, I don't even know where to start (gifts, love, anger, proposals, marriage plans). Do you know I'm re-reading this fanfic already? A very high compliment.

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 05:08pm

You know, I think this might be the first time in Echoes she calls him William. I can think of a few other times in future chapters, but none before this. It's never frequent, and usually when she's trying to nudge him into being serious when he's joking. This time, it was in direct reference to his human self, and his poetic leanings. I try to be a little sparing with the nicknames until they're needed. General and Lieutenant show up more in battle situations. Woodchuck is used is direct coorelation to the two topics of the conversation where it originated (what she looked like coming out of her coffin and the hidden lock box). Sparky is limited to occasional use, usually with no one else in the room... right now.

Rereading already is definitely a huge compliment. Thank you. I suspect quite a few people who still like this story at its conclusion will be rereading it then, to catch the details they missed. Yes, there is foreshadowing going on. There has been for a while. I'm not sure it's easy to spot on the first run through, though. There was an early tip off that Tara was a time traveler, but I don't think many people caught it. They never mentioned it in the reviews, at least.

[Report This]
spygrrl76 Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 07:39pm Liked

I just wanted to say I'm enjoying this story and am along for the ride. 

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 04:53pm

Thank you! Hang on tight!

[Report This]
tempestt Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 07:21pm

Wedding Bells!  Squeee!  Of course there wasn't an ounce of romance, but really what can you expect.  You pulled it off perfectly.  Even giving a legitimate reason for Buffy to say yes.  Although, poncy William is disappointed that he didn't at least get to go down on bended knee.  If Spuffy and Scoobs ever get to a good place in their relationship again, the scoobs are going to be so very hurt and upset that they didn't get to share this day with them.  You can't even say 'oh, well its their own damn fault,' since technically its not.

Speaking of Scoobs, its amazing how much Willow notices things that only pertain directly to her.  Everything else she's blind to.  I hope her time in England will fix that.

Thanks so much!

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 06:07pm

Nope, no romance, much to poncy William's chagrin. :P But that's who and how they are, really. Buffy's not exactly the cutesy romantic teenager Angel dated 7 years ago. She's battle hardened and practical, and struggles to express her emotions. Spike usually represses his romantic impulses, from decades of practice, in addition to his tendancy to let Buffy set the tone, and follow along. When his 'poncy' side shows up, it feels a little out of place in this relationship. Wouldn't ending Implied Promises with Spike on one knee, offering a proper proposal have felt weird?

Regarding future Scooby involvement in this whole wedding thing, I think you'll like how chapters 18 and 19 play out.

And that's a very astute observation about Willow. I hadn't put it into those words in my head, but that's pretty freakin' accurate. If it's not about Willow, Willow doesn't see it. Nice catch! I love the contrast that formed between how Willow handled this suddenly changed Buffy and sudden Spuffiness, and how Xander did. Your perspective solidifies it nicely. He was watching them, trying to see what was going on. She was reacting instead of obvserving, and mostly trying to see how she could 'fix it' to get her friend back to the way she was.

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 05:56pm Liked

Loved this chapter ! Thanks.

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 06:10pm

Thank you! :D

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 05:41pm

This chapter did feel different, not sure how to explain it though. We can see how emotional both Buffy and Spike are. They are soon to joy, and anger. I liked the gift from Tara, the picture of the tree, in the sun and on the moon light. There is several meanings in that. I also liked Buffy's gift to Willow, it does in a way let her take her home with her, but it will also remind her that home will be there when she returns. Anya has trouble with these subtle things, she is a "material girl". The little talk Willow had with Joyce will give her something to think about, maybe she can start to see things that doesn't involve her.

In the basement then. We can see how different two people can think about what something means. Buffy saw it like Spike took back the engagemang,  Spike wanted her to wear the ring to show that it means something. This show us a big difference in them. Buffy wants to keep her feelings hidden, but Spike wants to shout them to the world. Another argument then, but they managed to talk it through. 

There was some good talking here. They are getting married, that was a surprise. The feelings are there,, but they are really practical about it, at least for now.

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 08:05pm

A few things contribute to the different "feel" of Implied Promises. It takes place over the course of just one night, which is something that doesn't happen terribly often in Echoes. It's *very* focused on the Spike and Buffy relationship. Nearly all of it is about them, and roughly half of it is just the two of them talking. We don't usually see this much direct focus on the relationship. There's usually a lot of other stuff going on.

As I wrote this story, I kept canon events loosely tied to their original airdates. That leaves a nice fat gap of time at Christmas, as no episodes air, and the only event we know of during this time is that Joyce and Buffy slayed a pie at their Christmas gathering. The holidays, especially with no other pressing events on the docket, gave me a perfect opportunity to spend more time on the characters and their relationships. I'd been doing a lot of subtle building through the first four months of the time jump, so this worked out well for bringing those threads out of the background. The result is a collection of character-focused chapters taking place over a short period of time, weaving in some threads, adding new ones, and putting some additional color into others. We fall back into the rhythm of the canon events as easily and quietly as we slipped out of them for the Christmas break, and have by that time shifted some things around in the character dynamic. The larger story is never forgotten, however, and is still in motion, despite the overall appearance of a hiatus from it. That's my long-winded way of saying I expected a different feel to this section of the story, because of the heavier focus on the Spuffiness and other relationship shifts.

The ring on a chain was definitely something that brought out a lot of communication gaps and insecurities in the relationship. Engagement or no, it forced a much needed change. "I know where we stand" is almost something they can say honestly now. Almost. Massive progress. Aside from Dawn's possible custody issues, they don't need to get married. But they definitely needed to have the rest of that conversation, and some conversations that are coming. The ambiguity is *finally* beginning to become a less prominent feature of their relationship. It took enough freakin' years to happen. *shakes fist at Buffy* Tongue Out

[Report This]
kittyfajitas Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 04:12pm Liked

Hmm...  Clever and funny, but I am a teensy bit disappointed that there wasn't some gooey, romantic crap.  Hopefully there's some planned for the future?

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 08:11pm

There are a few gooey moments here and there. Hopefully, they'll satisfy your craving. And I love that you think it's funny. Months after writing it, I still laugh at the basement scene. I'm glad to know I'm not the only one who does. Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
the_moonmoth Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 03:59pm Liked

One frame held the familiar sight of the oak tree at the vineyard, its leaves catching the moonlight. The other was of the same tree in broad daylight, with its twisted trunk clearly visible.

Lovely.

Enjoyed the conversation between Willow and Joyce. I think Willow needed to hear that to stop her constantly worrying about it at the back of her mind while she's away.

Take your time. I'm in no hurry. I hope I don't need to be. And if you later find I should have been, remember where I went, and that you still saved me, in ways you'll never even know. I love you, Sparky.

 

So glad she wrote all that down for him. Now at least he had a reminder whenever he wants one.

“Pretend?!” she interjected.

“--and marry me on the sly!”

Spike slowly sat down the edge of the bed, visibly surprised at his own words.

Ha ha! Wonderful :D

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 08:23pm

Had to get a little extra mileage out of my accidentally important tree. Wink

We'll get some more Willow before she leaves, sending her off with even more to think about.

I had her add the note (or add to the note) in the book at the last minute (the addition she wanted to make before wrapping it) to make it clear that she didn't walk into the bar expecting to finally say it, but that once that dam had broken, she suddenly felt the need to say more, even if she wouldn't commit to doing so verbally. Whether the rest of the note was written earlier (in the car), or if the entire thing was written in Dawn's room, is entirely up to the reader's interpretation. But those last four words were definitely a last minute addition.

Can't you just see the looks on both their faces when that argument comes to a screeching halt? Both of them shocked at what's been coming out of their mouths, but especially his. And then, after taking a moment (or ten), they start checking on the situation, taking its temperature. Drunk? No. Under a spell? No. Oh, crap, that means we're actually having this conversation, doesn't it? LOL ...Sorry, I just think the proposal in the basement is one of the funniest scenes in Echoes. It still amuses me, months after it was written.

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 03:21pm Liked

Loved it

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 08:26pm

Thanks!

[Report This]
Cloongarvin Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 02:15pm

I've heard so many authors comment that the challenge of writing a good Buffy story is conveying the emotional headtrip that is Buffy. This story does such a good job of it, showing her compassion, bitterness, emotional waspishness, occasional intuitiveness, humor, deep caring, and self-protective whiplash all in one person. It makes me feel compassion, then I get angry, and yet I understand. She's in-character, even though older than the first time she went through these events. I'm really curious how this will all work out. 

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 11:29am

My background is in the theatre, so I write very dialogue heavy prose (most of it is little more than dialogue + stage direction, formatted into a narrative). So my challenge with this season 7 (and beyond) Buffy and Spike was to try to find a way for a dialogue writer to express silence. 'Cause silence was kind of the theme with them late in the series. What went unsaid was at least as important as what *was* said.

It turned out to be a lucky combination of my approach as a writer with these two characters. They end up expressing things (Buffy especially) in a rather sideways fashion, saying things without saying them, building up to *actually* saying them almost by accident. As is my style, I kept them talking, but trying to recreate the sense of silence, of things unsaid, while doing it infused their words with a hesitancy and uncertainty. I always try to 'hear' the characters in my head. So you get the Buffy sassy streak and bitterness, mixed with that constant undertone of 'I'm still not saying everything, because I either don't know how, or I'm afraid I'll get hurt.'  

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 02:12pm Liked

This chapter was frustrating, hilarious, and sweet all at once! I love you :)

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 11:15am

Heart I'm thrilled to know you enjoyed it.

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 02:10pm Liked

SqueeSqueeBow

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 11:12am

Holy crap, knightowl! Double happy dancing!?!?! And here I thought this would be the chapter that made people cringe and run.

(That's ok, I have others that might do the job.)

[Report This]
lambean Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 01:47pm Liked

Oh I loved this chapter !! The yelling, threatening marriage proposal was perfect for them. Great job

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 11:10am

Such a pair of romantics, aren't they? A marriage proposal that comes about via yelling, is accepted after negotiations, and even then only because it's practical. Aaw! Aren't they sweet? Roll eyes

*sigh* Some days, I don't know why I let the characters drive so much. They're a freakin' mess.

[Report This]
nojiri23 Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 01:37pm Liked

Love

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 10:42am

I think that's the first 'love' emote I've gotten for Echoes... and it comes on the heels of the least romantic proposal ever. LOL

But I'm glad you like! Thanks!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Implied Promises on May 30, 2015 01:12pm Liked

Utter awesomeness!

Flowers  Squee

Author's Response on May 30, 2015 10:29am

Thank you!!! Hug

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.