Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
alive_or_dead Reviewed Eternal Monkey on January 24, 2016 06:28am Liked

Hmmf. "I guess it's worth considering.” Smartest thing past!Willow has done so far in this entire story...

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed Eternal Monkey on January 23, 2016 10:12pm Liked

“Kidnapping, torture, mass murder, psychological taunting, and outright mind control,” Buffy said. “And that's just the crap it put Spike through. Made me laugh.

Thank god they're getting Willow sorted.

[Report This]
13th Blackbird Reviewed Eternal Monkey on June 28, 2015 11:46pm Liked

<I>“I was waffling about taking in a troubled young warlock who had dropped out of Watcher training.</I> Nice.

Huh, and I thought Willow would offer quite a bit more resistance.

<I> “The whole semester? But what about Glory? Buffy will need a witch.” / “She'll have one,” Tara whispered, lowering her gaze to the floor. “I'll be here.”</I> For example, figuring out Tara had been in on this before they got to Giles' home.

Author's Response on June 30, 2015 02:09am

Not as obvious to Willow as it is to us. From her perspective, it looks like Tara picked up on the fact that the invitation was for Willow alone sooner than Willow herself did (what Giles and Althenea were saying and the fact that the invitation to go see Giles was for Willow, not both of them).

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Eternal Monkey on June 22, 2015 07:19am Liked

Read

Heart

Love

Flowers

Blow Kiss

 

Author's Response on June 25, 2015 12:41pm

That's a lot of warm, fuzzy feelings for an admittedly strange chapter.

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 26, 2015 02:31am Liked

So Buffy around for centuries? It might just take her that long to admit how she feels about Spike! The talk with Willow went better than expected. She really is going to far with the magic.

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 11:50pm

But would we really want to wish centuries of putting up with Buffy on poor Spike? :P

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 25, 2015 08:57am Liked

Loved it

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 04:05pm

Thanks!

[Report This]
the_moonmoth Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 25, 2015 02:02am Liked

A lot happened here, but I feel like it happened smoothly. Enjoyed the backstory between Althenea and Giles. The conversation between Spike and Buffy was interesting - my mind is chewing over possibilities for what they were discussing, but I'm happy to wait and find out :) 

ETA: just wanted to add, since a few people have mentioned their confusion, that I did indeed get the cassie reference. You know, to even the scales and all ;) Further, and not related to anything in particular, I also wanted to say how wonderful it is to read a story like this that doesnt spell everything out, that makes the reader think and wonder, and allows for smaller arcs within the larger story. It's okay not to know what some conversations are about immediately, because I have confidence in your story telling ability and that we'll find out when we need to. So, thumbs up from me, keep up the good work <3

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 12:35am

Thank you.

I'm not sure I can express how much I needed to hear that. Some of the recent reviews have really made me question if my entire approach to this story was wrong for my audience, too far out of the norm to be enjoyable. You've restored some of my wavering faith in Echoes. I can't thank you enough for such a kind and timely gift.

the_moonmoth Replied on May 25, 2015 12:41am

You're welcome. My advice is to enjoy your audience, but don't write *for* them. It's your story, you're in the driver's seat; we're just along for the ride and to gawp at the pretty scenery :)

[Report This]
Beautiful_Tyrant77 Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 11:42pm Liked

Oh that went well. I hope. I fell like this could blow up in their faces any moment. Love the very disgized intervention.

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 03:13am

I hadn't put it in quite those words (in my head or elsewhere) but 'disguised intervention' is a perfect description of what they just pulled. Now we just have to cross our fingers that it will work, because we've already seen that things don't always go according to plan... Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
tempestt Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 09:57pm

I don't think I'm following all the implications with the PTB, either thats intentional or I'm stupid.  Either is possible.  I'm looking forward to more chapters to find out.  Convincing Willow to go seemed remarkably easy.  Too easy.  She's like a dog with a bone, and right now her bone is Spike.  I can't imagine her just dropping it to trot off.  But maybe she's scared just enough to get worried.  But that would mean admitting she has the potential to be wrong, which again, not Willowish.  I'm crossing my fingers to see if she can do a bit of growing too.  Thanks again for updating so quickly!

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 04:43am

Bringing Giles' history into the conversation (that the Scoobies got a glimpse of back in The Dark Age) was definitely a scare tactic. But we don't yet know how effective it was. She's still considering the offer.

Basically, Althenea thinks -based on historical precendent- that Spike and Buffy are being considered for future PTB agent positions, and that it would likely involve Buffy as an immortal. That's her theory for why Whistler is hovering over them. But some parts of that scene, particularly after Althenea left the room, are things to which you haven't yet been given the context. So yea, I meant to confuse you. :) I'm evil that way.

[Report This]
gill Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 09:42pm Liked

Really hoping Willow will actually go with this, was expecting more resistance!

And I love a plot idea for allowing us to picture Buffy & Spike together eternally without her becoming a vampire! Although how flippant she is being about it with Spike is a bit frustrating ;)

Great chapter, as always. :)

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 04:49am

We'll be getting to Willow's decision soon! Cross your fingers!

Wouldn't it be nice if Buffy just came out and said what she was thinking, and never screwed around about it? But then, I don't think we'd recognize her if she did. An unfortunate part of the Buffy package is that she avoids stuff. The good news? Eventually, stuff spills out, either by her choice or circumstances forcing her hand.

Glad you're still enjoying the journey, gill!

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 07:47pm Liked

Thanks for the update! Things are moving along nicely. Good chapter.

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 05:04am

Thanks!

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 03:17pm Liked

It's good that Willow is considering the training. A lot of things are changing, I feel we won't be following the 'cannon' events an awful lot from here on out - what will the consequences be?

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 04:19pm

Hmm... Another review I really can't answer without giving things away. We'll talk about this stuff later. ;)

[Report This]
Cloongarvin Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 12:57pm

Such an interesting story. Each chapter provides new plot revelations along with insights into characters and new ideas about the big, long-term picture. How much is set in motion years before; how much is fate; how much is free will. I really look forward to seeing where this goes. 

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 04:16pm

Yes, yes, and yes. Exactly how is the proverbial wheel of time being spun? Natural course of events? Fate? People making decisions that have an impact on the big picture? Pure luck? Decisions that were made long ago, rippling against the wheel, forcing it into motion? Some combination of those things? I've always loved time travel stories. Writing one myself has been a very thought-provoking experience.

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 11:27am Liked

This is getting better and better! So many possibilities...

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 04:32am

*rubs hands together and laughs evilly* You have no idea...

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 10:13am

It was a lot of information Althenea brought with her. The big parts is of course, that Whistler may be trying to recruit Buffy and Spike, and the possibility of imortallity for Buffy. We can see that there's still some dancing around their feelings for Buffy and Spike. Well, old issues die hard. It seems like thecWillow situation went well. Willow is much for learning, so it was good of them to use that. She should have had a teacher a long time a go. It didn't make sense why Giles never even mentioned that in the show. The only reason I could think about is that Giles didn't want to be reminded of his past, and that's a weak reason.

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 04:47pm

You nailed it, magnus. I should start referring people to your reviews if they have questions. You aren't making any unwarranted assumptions, and are catching pretty much all of the big points. "Maybe" trying to recruit them. "Possibility" of immortality. "Some" dancing around of feelings. Yes, yes, and yes!

As for the Willow situation, I totally agree. She's still nerdy loves-to-learn girl, and it was smart of Giles to think of taking that approach. It was also rather stupid of him to not think of the entire idea all on his own, without time travelers getting it started... or any need for time travelers at all.

Go back in canon in your head for a minute. Season 2: We find out Giles has a history with out of control dark magics (The Dark Age) and Willow starts fiddling around magic, going big very early on with the soul curse. Logically, he should have at least been biting his lip and watching her closely by season 3. Nope. Nothing. Season 4: She nearly gets the gang killed and makes Giles himself blind because she did a big spell for selfish reasons (Something Blue). Giant tip off that she's out of control, and heading down a dangerous road Giles himself knows well. Does he call the coven or make some other attempt to intervene? Nope. By the beginning of season 5, she's accidentally causing freakin' thunderstorms (maybe. we don't know how much of that was Dracula). She should have been in or have already gone through some training long before she reached that point. Giles is just as guilty of 'head in the sand' and 'ignore the problems until they go away' attitudes as the younger Scoobies are. The result? His neglect of the obvious and growing 'Willow and uncontrolled magic' problem makes him partially responsible for Willow nearly ending the world... Twice. He knew better. He should have done something about it, long before he found himself chewing her out in Buffy's kitchen in early season six.

magnus374 Replied on May 26, 2015 01:35pm

Thank youBig Grin I like to making guesses and in some lines show that I got the important things when I review. Knowing that the writer answers them also makes me want to make better reviews. Since I always review I do have trouble sometimes with figuring out new things to say, at least for some stories. Since english isn't my first language, I tend to use the same words and phrases a lot.

Giles not trying to train Willow is one of those things that doesn't make any sense at all. The only one I could think about is the one I mentioned before, and that's not much of a reason. I guess it's one of several things we are not ment to think about. The original writers probably never thought that people would think this much about what they wroteThinking

[Report This]
crazyjane Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 08:45am Liked

Well that went well, can't help feeling there's a catch. Super update... 

Author's Response on May 25, 2015 04:35am

We'll see! *evil grin* Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
ValidescopeWest Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 05:36am

I'm a bit confused at what exactly the conversation was about between Spike and Buffy after Athena spoke with them. Just like at the end of chapter 12(?) When Spike said, "Is that what you mean Cassie?" Or something to that effect...who is Cassie?

Otherwise,  I love this story. I'm glad they are giving Willow the choice to get training. Hopefully by this point she isn't so arrogant as to believe she doesn't need it even after all they said to her.

 

Author's Response on May 24, 2015 02:46am

Cassie was the prescient girl in 'Help' (season 7) who told Spike, "Someday she'll tell you."

The kitchen scene in this chapter includes a conversation to which the audience has not yet been given the context. You aren't expected to understand it all at this point.

ValidescopeWest Replied on May 24, 2015 02:51am

Ok. I was wondering if I was just missing something

[Report This]
kittyfajitas Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 05:16am Liked

I'm a bit confused as to what Buffy & Spike are talking about, that she researched?  Maybe I'm supposd to be confused.  I like where this is going, though.  I love the idea of Buffy being immortal.

Author's Response on May 24, 2015 02:33am

You're supposed to be confused. It will make sense later. That's all I can say for right now. :)

[Report This]
cathainsheart Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 05:15am Liked

I don't think I am understanding something in Buffy and Spike's relationship storyline. It seems one minute they are together and the next they are not. In this chapter I am confused about why she pulled back from spike. Or I misunderstood the chapter entirely since I am reading it at 2 am.  Am I misunderstanding?

Author's Response on May 24, 2015 02:43am

Pulled back in what way? Where are you getting the vibe they aren't together? I'm not being confrontational. I need to know, so I can edit and/or clarify if something's wonky.

If your confusion is centered around the vague references in the kitchen scene, don't worry about it. You haven't been given the context of that conversation yet.

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 04:07am Liked

SqueeSquee

Author's Response on May 24, 2015 02:33am

Double the happy dance? Does that mean I did good? :P

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Eternal Monkey on May 24, 2015 04:07am Liked

Well that wasn't a no but it wasn't a yes. I hope Willow takes it but I'm worried she might see it as some plot.

Author's Response on May 24, 2015 02:47am

At least she's considering going in for training. That's already a step up from canon! :)

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.