Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
rainsrabble Reviewed True Stories on November 15, 2017 01:18am

oh this was a lovely chapter. buffy standing up to xanders bs shut him down quickly. so glad spike is chipless...

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed True Stories on July 24, 2017 06:54pm

 Super great chapter. Love their interactions here.

[Report This]
alive_or_dead Reviewed True Stories on January 24, 2016 02:25am Liked

Yay! Finally a date! Although I really want to punch Willow and Xander for being so damn judgey and hypocritical! >:{

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed True Stories on January 22, 2016 08:04am Liked

Yes. Go home with Spike, slayer. It's about bloody time.

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed True Stories on October 18, 2015 12:19pm Liked

Good chapter! I like their date and the scene with Xander.

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed True Stories on June 22, 2015 05:13am Liked

Read

Rant Damn date interrupting Scoobies!!!!!

Love 

Laughing

 

Author's Response on June 25, 2015 12:49pm

Interrupting Scoobies or no, it was still a fun date!

[Report This]
the_moonmoth Reviewed True Stories on May 16, 2015 03:01am Liked

“And thought Dorothy Hamil was the best thing since stuffed pigs. Try again.”

Another prefect line :)

Loved their date, and their negotiations (like grown ups, yay!) And the ending there was sweet with a promise of hot. Very nice

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 01:36am

I'm glad I'm not the only one who loves that line. Sometimes, the characters do amazing things when I'm just typing. I'm very much a 'let the characters do the driving and figure things out around them' sort of writer. The conversation at the pool table was written *before* the scene of the Scoobies noticing Buffy's date. (I jumped straight from the Spike and Buffy conversation about Liam and William to the pool table scene.) I hadn't decided what interactions would happen with the Scoobies, or if they would just be observing. There wasn't a plan in place. I just dropped them at the pool table and let them talk. And then Xander wandered into and out of the scene. Again, no prior planning. The version of that scene you see is almost identical to the first draft. I let the conversation happen, and that's what I ended up with: the Dorothy Hamil line, the idea from their earlier conversation that they were taking turns telling each other things they didn't know, and Xander verifying the date. When I stumbled onto the end of the pool table scene, and realized that was the natural place to end the chapter, I went back and added the 'Scoobies spot Buffy's date' scene before I moved on. So that's my babbling way of telling you the Spike in my head wrote that line of his own free will, not me. And I totally didn't plan for Buffy to spill out those thoughts about Faith, either. Totally my brain Buffy's fault.

You nailed it: negotiation. That's exactly what the date planning conversation was. They frequently walk a line between their working relationship and their personal one. I didn't intend for the 4am kitchen scene to be one of those line walking conversations, but (over the course of multiple rereads that turned into rewriting sessions - sometimes they *do* require my input :P) that's eventually what it became. And, looking back, it makes perfect sense for the situation.
 
Now that I've totally outed myself as insane, I'll do what I should have done in the first place: Thank you for the review and quietly return to my padded room.

[Report This]
lambean Reviewed True Stories on May 15, 2015 05:31pm Liked

I like that she owned up to being jealous

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 01:44am

Me, too. Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed True Stories on May 15, 2015 03:50pm

I like how Buffy and Spike have created a routine to their lifes. The date was good to see, but of course the Scoobies saw it. There was also some good planning in the chapter. Mini Dagon spheres was a good idea.

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 01:57am

In canon, they wasted a lot of researach time on fruitless Glory info hunts, and the Dagon's Sphere was pretty much forgotten and put into storage kinda quickly. The "little glowy golf balls" bit was initially something I wrote to show some progress could be made with more focused research. I wasn't thinking any further ahead than that. It turned out to be useful later on, to have already established the mini spheres in the story. Accidental story planning/continuity building is always fun. For my next big story, I might go wild and try to outline it and plan stuff on purpose. (Nah! Where's the fun in that? :P)

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed True Stories on May 15, 2015 12:48pm Liked

I love how easy they are with eachother, and also that they can be playful without being immature or childish :)

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 02:09am

It's definitely nice to see them taking the comfort they were finding in each other in late season seven to a less serious place. They're getting comfortable, and it's starting to show. Thanks for continuing to review Echoes, blacklily. I appreciate it!

[Report This]
Mel_Violet Reviewed True Stories on May 15, 2015 12:31pm Liked

Really enjoying this. You write all the characters really well. It's great seeing the relationship of season 7 Buffy and Spike able to grow in this different time frame. Can't wait to read more! 

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 02:16am

Big Grin  I love it when people catch exactly what I'm going for. I wanted *that* Spuffy dynamic to play out in a (slightly) less stressful setting. They needed time, and now they have it. So far, they're making decent use of it. Thank you so much for reviewing!

[Report This]
gonnaregretthis Reviewed True Stories on May 15, 2015 10:17am

Oh,this is sweet. I'm not quite sure, though, why they don't tell the Scoobies about his soul. That can't be a bigger change than him living at her house, can it?

I  have to say, of the three novels I am reading right now, this one is most fun and compelling!

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 02:27am

First of all, Spike isn't keen on spreading that around, if you recall from season 7. Remember that look he gave Buffy when it was being discussed? And the comment that it was 'kinda private'? Also, the Angel comparisons would be absolutely insufferable. And then there are the questions it would raise: When did this happen? Why did it happen? Yikes. No good can come of that for time travelers who are trying (thus far with only moderate success) to not be found out and/or put their 'real' lives on display for scrutiny.

I'm glad you're having fun with Echoes. That's what I was hoping for! Thanks!

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed True Stories on May 15, 2015 02:28am Liked

SqueePopcorn

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 02:28am

Whew! You're dancing again. I feel better now. I was beginning to worry...

[Report This]
ValidescopeWest Reviewed True Stories on May 15, 2015 02:13am

Yea!

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 02:30am

Gee, it's like you wanted to see Spike and Buffy hook up or something. Wink

[Report This]
gill Reviewed True Stories on May 15, 2015 12:58am Liked

love this chapter, and Buffy's desire to recreate a better date. And the ending  - Spike's delivery of options feels perfectly in character.

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 02:34am

It's nice to see things going right between them once in a while, isn't it? Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed True Stories on May 15, 2015 12:17am Liked

Oooooo, good chapter ! Thanks for the update. Glad things are heating up but I'm guessing it won't all go smoothly, it would be nice if Tara and maybe Ayna can help Willow and Xander be more broad minded and accepting of Buffy's choices as well as see that Spike is worthy.

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 02:41am

As I've said, all the relationship evolutions are a process. Given that Spike's living in the Summers' basement, her friends already suspected *something* was up between them, so this is a big deal, but not a massive shock. It will trigger more changes, but probably not in the way you expect. Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed True Stories on May 14, 2015 11:56pm Liked

Really great.  God a bad feeling about Willow especially (she DOES like to interfere).  Tara needs to take a FIRM hand there and Anya needs to do the same to Xander.

“Liked unattainable women.” He gestured across the table with his drink. “You know how that worked out, too.”

“Pretty well, from where I'm sitting.”

“Think so, do you?”  Loved this exchange.  And this one made me LOL literally. “You forget the part where I like unattainable women? Not much unattainable about that one.”  Brilliant.

 

Kathleen

 

 

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 03:02am

The call back to the earlier 'unattainable' conversation that doubled as a jab at Faith was an unplanned punchline. I'm fond of letting the characters drive as much as possible, and the pool table scene is one of the more obvious times I gave them a setting and just let them talk, not knowing where it would lead. What you got of that scene is nearly identical to the raw first draft. They did pretty well without author interference. I ended up with a couple of good moments, a couple of great Spike lines, and (of course) a sexual proposition. *shakes head* So maybe I need to supervise them more closely. :P

Thanks for the review, Kathleen!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed True Stories on May 14, 2015 10:46pm Liked

Good call. It looks like their relationship will be out sooner than expected. But then I'm glad. Spike doesn't need to go throw the secretcy again.

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 03:33am

Yea, hiding again would suck. They have enough to hide as it is. But being open about their relationship is a potential set of problems all on its own.  We'll see how it goes! Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed True Stories on May 14, 2015 10:01pm Liked

Absolutely bloody brilliant!

Yay for Buffy sticking to her guns!

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 03:49am

I wanted to rewrite that 'I'm on a date' bit, because I was afraid she looked kind of mousy. But I stopped myself before i changed anything. She's not saying much, but what she's saying is very direct, and implies her friends' opinions still carry a little more weight than they should (hence the nervous fidgeting with the chalk). It's late Season 7 Buffy all over. What I was afraid was out of character was actually extremely *in* character on a second reading. And judging from the commentary I've received, I think everyone's kind of proud of her, and I'm the only one who thought "mousy" on the first read. Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
tempestt Reviewed True Stories on May 14, 2015 08:16pm Liked

Loved, Loved, the ending!  I liked that Buffy insisted on the date.  I can't wait to see the fall out.  Thanks so much for the update.

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 03:52am

I think the fall out, when it comes is not going to look quite like what everyone is expecting. Hopefully, you'll enjoy some of the things I have up my sleeve. ;) Thanks for reviewing again, tempestt!

[Report This]
spygrrl76 Reviewed True Stories on May 14, 2015 08:09pm

That last sentence was so hot. I immediately thought, "Hell ya, Buffy!" I'm so proud of them both for their maturity. Love this story. 

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 03:54am

Wouldn't you have just wanted to smack her if she went for Plan A, or made some botched attempt at doing both? I think I would! :P Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
crazyjane Reviewed True Stories on May 14, 2015 07:57pm Liked

Yay go girl.

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 04:20am

I think you meant that for Buffy, not me, so I'm not sure if it would sound weird for me to say 'thank you.' :P

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed True Stories on May 14, 2015 07:40pm Liked

Loved it

Author's Response on May 15, 2015 11:27pm

Thank you!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.