Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
alive_or_dead Reviewed Precious Gifts on January 23, 2016 11:25pm Liked

“It's alright, love.” ... “I'll be home soon.”

AWWWW!!! This made me smile goofily, in actual real life. Can you picture it? Me, just sitting there, staring at my phone, with a stupid grin on my face... 😆

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed Precious Gifts on January 22, 2016 07:00am Liked

I see what you mean about stripped down style. If I was in editor mode I'd be going "You fell into talking heads, and it's easy to lose track of who's saying what." But since I'm not, I'm just going to say that was an AWESOME fight. Smile Me likely when we get Spuffy fights and banter.

Author's Response on January 22, 2016 05:26am

This fight was merely a warm up act for some later stuff, in both follies and virtues. Just wait 'til you get to Tree Trunks. ;)

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Precious Gifts on October 17, 2015 10:12am Liked

Good chapter! I like the interactions between Spike and Buffy. They are so in character!

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Precious Gifts on June 22, 2015 04:23am Liked

Read

Heart

Love

Applause

 

Author's Response on June 25, 2015 12:51pm

Write

[Report This]
13th Blackbird Reviewed Precious Gifts on June 04, 2015 04:53am Liked

Well now I'm wondering if Glory's going to think Spike is the key.

Author's Response on June 04, 2015 10:45am

She didn't before. Remember how mad she was at her minions when they kidnapped him, because they were too stupid to realize the Key can't be a vampire?

[Report This]
Torrilin Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 15, 2015 08:54pm Liked

The fight scene is super funny. Spike picking a fight because he doesn't want to be used and is finally standing up for himself is adorable.

Author's Response on May 16, 2015 01:42am

*sigh of relief* Thank you, thank you, thank you! I was beginning to think mine was the only warped brain on EF who thought the argument was funny. Welcome to Warped Brain City. Please, please tell me you'll be staying in town for a while. <3

Torrilin Replied on May 18, 2015 03:14pm

Oh, I've always had a warped mind ;). And yah, I'm planning to follow the whole thing. I don't usually review every chapter tho.

[Report This]
lambean Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 11, 2015 10:51pm Liked

This story is so great. I love the friendly relationship between our Spuffy couple. Especially how they trust and depend on each other. Love it .

You are a very talented writer. I can't wait for your next update

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 01:53pm

I prioritized the friendship between them, and was surprised at everything that decision gave back. I think you'll enjoy it. Thank you for the very kind review!

[Report This]
madspuffyfan Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 11, 2015 04:58pm Liked

Loved it

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 01:47pm

Thank you!

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 11, 2015 02:31pm Liked

Words cannot express how much I adore your portrayal of Buffy and Spike in this fic! b25;

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 01:56pm

You're just getting into the 'the author has settled in with the characters' stage of the story, when I'm comfortable enough to let them run loose. I think this Spike and Buffy will keep you entertained for a while. They've certainly done so for me! Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 11, 2015 01:02am Liked

The predictable twins freaked. But at least Tara and Anya will talk some sense into them. Dawn took it much better this time.

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 02:21pm

Yea, unfortunately, I couldn't find a way around the Xander and Willow "What?!" moment. It kind of had to happen. But that's ok. There's plenty of time for some sense to be knocked into them. Hopefully, it will take. I think I freaked out more than Dawn did, terrified I'd underplayed her reaction. But the info was given to her in an open, upfront way, phrased simply and in the context of 'you're not that different from your sister.' They're trying to treat her like an almost-adult, and it's paying off. *shrug* I don't know, maybe I'm still trying to talk myself into accepting that the way I played it works. I'm still not totally convinced, even months after the initial writing of those scenes. Thanks for reviewing.

ginar369 Replied on May 12, 2015 02:26pm

I thought it was a great way to explain it to her. She's different. In Sunnydale? Big Deal! LOL Seriously though I thought it was great.

[Report This]
goldseadragon Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 10, 2015 11:00pm

Tara needs more self-confidence. I know she won't ever go insane veiny girl like Willow, but she's a damned good witch and she sells herself short.

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 02:23pm

Tara will surprise you with her strength. I think you'll like how she develops. Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 10, 2015 10:49pm Liked

Really wonderful chapter.  Warm and emotional while moving the story forward.  Not a false note.

Kathleen

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 01:45pm

Thanks, Kathleen! That's a wonderful compliment!

[Report This]
tempestt Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 10, 2015 09:57pm Liked

I like how adultlike Buffy is.  Finally it seems as if she's matured, and acting like a woman who knows her actions and words have consequences, instead of a child who acts out emotionally.  I liked Spike and Buffy's confrontation.  That really needed to come out, but it still feels a tiny bit unresolved.  It will probably always will.  Some things just take time, and constant work on a new relationship dynamic to get rid of old mistakes.  I'm looking forward to a slow unfold of the Spuffy and Scoob interactions.  Mostly, I'm glad, Spike's back in the basement.  LoL  that sounds so bad.

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 02:41pm

When I first wrote the safe house into the story, I expected to leave them there for months on end, making it the primary setting for their one-on-one interactions. It wasn't meant to be a short term thing. But by the time Precious Gifts was being developed, I realized they didn't need it anymore. The cardboard boyfriend was gone. A relationship between Spike and Joyce was already established. Buffy had already talked him into going outside the 'script' of their memories to have him around more often. The characters outgrew the need to hide -and the wish to- at a rapid pace. I later considered removing the safe house entirely, shifting the safe house material to Spike's crypt. But two things stopped me: 1. It was a necessary step for the development of the characters in the situation. So what if they moved on faster than I thought they would? It was faster than they thought they would, too. That felt important. 2. The line 'Uh, Spike? Doesn't that chandelier eventually end up in the basement?' still cracks me up. I could not let that moment land in the trash folder. I just couldn't do it. So Spike and Buffy surprised me by relocating to the Summers house, and I ended up accidentally writing in my own reaction: Buffy's expression of relief and comment about the safe house being exhausting. Because, honestly? The Summers basement is easier. It already feels like home, and has a lot more history to build from. In retrospect, I was thrilled it played out that way. Letting the characters lead is always an interesting ride! Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
MsXGingerXNinja Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 10, 2015 07:43pm Liked

Love love love, the arguement was heartbreaking but it got fixed which is the most important thing :) Sparkys coming home :D  can't wait to your next chapter Much Love Lilly xxx

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 02:59pm

Crap. I didn't want the argument to read as 'heartbreaking.' Personally, I thought it was kind of fun, and true to the characters. Can you really see them hashing out their issues in simple, quiet conversations? I mean, they can try, and not always fail, but yelling and punches is kind of their thing, and sometimes, you just have to go back to the well. As for Sparky coming home, I think you'll love chapter 8. Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
ValidescopeWest Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 10, 2015 05:44pm Liked

I really love this  story

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 03:04pm

Thank you!

[Report This]
momnesia Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 10, 2015 04:53pm Liked

Loved this chapter.    You really made sure to have Buffy handle the matter of Dawn being the Key so much better than canon.   Instead of finding out by accident, freaking out completely, and then harming herself, Dawn was only mildly freaked.   Having Spike there with Dawn was also a nice step, since Dawn listens to Spike just as HE listens to HER.   Thanks so much for the update!   Great job.

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 03:13pm

I'm glad you liked it. The Spike and Dawn conversation in her room was one of those little moments that just flowed right from minute one. It was barely edited from first draft to posting. Sometimes, a scene comes into existence that isn't a huge moment by itself, but it's defining, and needs to be protected from author interference. The blueprint conversation was one of those scenes. Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 10, 2015 04:45pm Liked

FlowersSquee

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 01:47pm

The dancing highlight of every chapter's reviews. Do you know I've started to look for you every time I check for reviews?

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 10, 2015 03:52pm Liked

That went well. Squee

Such a difference when Buffy admits that she needs all the help she can get and doesn't keep so many secrets. 

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 03:41pm

Well, there are still a lot of secrets. Necessary to the time travel game, of course. But yea. Buffy being open and honest with her sister, being upfront about needing help from the Scoobies, and trying to be more straightforward with Spike (your mileage may vary), are all things that can make a huge difference. It's beginning to look like she grew up a little. Fun, isn't it? Thanks for reviewing again!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Precious Gifts on May 10, 2015 03:45pm

They do have a lot of issues and tensions between them and the situation, so it make sense that they had a fight when other troubles getting bigger. They do seem to be on good terms again now. It was a good talk they had with Dawn and the Scoobies, they managed to calm Dawn down.

Author's Response on May 12, 2015 03:22pm

I may be building a less dysfunctional Spuffy, but I haven't let go of who they are: Figuring things out by yelling at each other and throwing a few punches is what they do. Less dysfunctional is all well and good, but I'd be a fool to make them stop making a mess of things and having angry fights now and then. Also, wouldn't a functional Spuffy relationship be boring? :P Also, I'm cracking up as I catch up on Precious Gifts reviews. No one has said a word about the kisses, or the words of the argument. Everyone is focused on the Dawn reaction, the fact that there was an argument, and the Spike moving back to the basement plan. I find it hilarious how great the divide is between what I find fun and entertaining, and what my readers do. Fortunately, I seem to be hitting both points so far. Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.