Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
nmcil Reviewed Time's Colors on February 16, 2016 02:50am

 Excellent chapter - it's terrible how Giles became such a detriment to Buffy as the series progressed - you've done such a good job showing the troubles that came come from his intransigence.

[Report This]
alive_or_dead Reviewed Time's Colors on January 23, 2016 10:33pm Liked

Ahh, Dawn. I can't get over how much I generally love her in fic, but I really didn't like her in the show... Hmm, this one is confused.

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed Time's Colors on January 22, 2016 06:16am Liked

Poor Giles. This has the potential to become VERY bad. He wants his Buffy back already.

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Time's Colors on October 16, 2015 11:20pm Liked

Good chapter! I like what Tara saw in their aura.

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Time's Colors on June 21, 2015 07:59am Liked

Has to admit that I've missed Dawn's youthful innocence. So full of curiosity and wonder. However, under no circumstances do I miss her angry/frustrated screeching!! Did damage even to my ear's, LOL!!


Love that Buffy's taking a stand, not only for herself but for Spike as well!! 


And, oh, how much Tara has been missed!! Hoping the events that caused her death will be changeable now, she's desperately needed!!!


Wonderfully written story, keep up the good work!!!


💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖

Author's Response on June 21, 2015 11:09am

I think you'll like my Dawn. Screech-free. Big Grin

[Report This]
13th Blackbird Reviewed Time's Colors on June 03, 2015 03:06am Liked

Oh my Goddess, I adore that Tara's noticed Buffy's aura has changed! I should have expected the unexpected complications!

Oooh, I love that Giles is worried. Can't wait to see where that leads to!

<I>“You were arguing about buying that stinky Nag Champa stuff, weren’t you?”</I> *laughs*

Author's Response on June 04, 2015 10:48am

2003 Willow *really* should have thought of the fact that Tara would see the differences. Our redheaded witch screwed up on that one. And yes, there will be complications. Many, many complications. I hope you enjoy the journey!

[Report This]
Blue Eyes2 Reviewed Time's Colors on May 09, 2015 06:14pm Liked

i love Dawn's timeliness. It is a shame that Tara messed things up unmeaningly. I still hope that Buffy could open Giles' eyes.

Author's Response on May 09, 2015 04:38pm

I played with Dawn the Eavesdropper / Dawn the Timely Interruption a few times in this story. She can be fun if she's written as a smart teenager, not a bratty kid. I still maintain that Joss and co. screwed up with her. They planned a character, hired an actor older than they'd originally planned, and failed to adequately compensate for the age change in the writing of the character until Season 7, when too much damage had already been done: Her in-universe relationships were a mess and a large portion of the audience hated her. That's why I put forth the idea of treating her like an adult from the get go in the Buffy and Spike conversation just before the time jump. Not only are they correcting a mistake Buffy made in her relationship with her sister (treating her like a dumb kid and reaping the rewards), but they're correcting an error the BtVS writing staff made. A girl who's grown up on the fringes of a slayer's life (fake memories or not) and starts out only a year younger than that slayer was when she was called is NOT going to act like a sheltered, spoiled eight year old. It just isn't logical... Especially when it's established later (Season 7 specifically) that she's smart, observant, and likes research. So -like so much else in this story- I'm trying to strike a balance. She's young and a little goofy. She makes mistakes and eavesdrops. But she's an intelligent person, and a slayer's sister, besides.

Tara telling Giles about the auras has the kind of impact to the direction of the story that I didn't even think of until long after I'd first written that scene. Echoes wasn't exactly planned and outlined. It was written (mostly) sequentially, pulling ideas from its own history as it went along, and developing along those lines. There's a LOT of accidental foreshadowing (hinting at things I didn't even know were going to happen until well after I wrote the foreshadowing). As the ideas built, I went back and clarified a lot of the earlier references, but many of them were already there. Time's Colors was originally meant to be a "things aren't going to go exactly as planned" warning. It turned out to impact the travelers' relationships with Giles and Tara in a far more significant way than just "they know, and we have to deal with that."  But I didn't know that at the time. Really.

[Report This]
momnesia Reviewed Time's Colors on May 06, 2015 04:06pm Liked

Excellent!!!     I really enjoyed these chapters;  thank you for sharing your talent with the rest of us.    I with keep checking back for updates!   Great job!

Author's Response on May 06, 2015 02:41pm

Aww! That's very sweet of you to say! Thanks!

[Report This]
fyreburned Reviewed Time's Colors on May 06, 2015 02:17pm Liked

Really liking it!

Author's Response on May 06, 2015 02:42pm

Good! Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed Time's Colors on May 06, 2015 02:06pm Liked

Giles and Buffy tensio, nervous too see how that will go. Cat's out of the bag in a way, I wonder how long the secret will last and when Xander will fiafinally notice and accuse Spike of using magic on Buffy or something equally silly. 

Author's Response on May 06, 2015 02:43pm

You want a Xander scene, with him questioning that something is a little off? Check out chapter 5, just posted. Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Time's Colors on May 06, 2015 02:48am Liked

Oh Giles. Angel really screwed you up didn't he? Where did that inquisitive mind go? The one that was open and had a thirst for knowledge? The one that would have asked a ton of questions and waiting to form an opinion until all the facts were in? Bad Willow! Of all of them she should have remembered Tara's abilities.

Author's Response on May 06, 2015 02:45pm

Yep, Giles' Angel baggage is definitely in play. We'll get into that more later. And yea, that was really dumb of Wils to not think of the late, great aura reader. Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
duke6665 Reviewed Time's Colors on May 05, 2015 10:30am Liked

loving buffy standing up tp giles. I hated how she always forgave him and the scobbies for everything they did.

Author's Response on May 06, 2015 02:46pm

Part of the problem is finding the middle ground between forgiveness and letting things go. They aren't necessarily the same thing. Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
melissa Reviewed Time's Colors on May 05, 2015 03:23am

Fantastic story and a wonderful chapter.

i know this isn't much of a review however, more more more more...please????

Author's Response on May 06, 2015 02:48pm

I'm just glad to know you're enjoying it. Expressing that in only a line or two is totally acceptable, and your eagerness for more is a compliment in itself. Thanks!

[Report This]
djjd Reviewed Time's Colors on May 05, 2015 02:27am

So loving this!

Author's Response on May 06, 2015 02:48pm

Good! Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed Time's Colors on May 05, 2015 02:09am Liked

I like this so much. Tara is of course wonderful and the way Buffy is standing up to Giles is great but.... will he change? will he respect her ? Thanks !

Author's Response on May 06, 2015 02:50pm

Tara is probably my favorite character in this story. I think you'll love her even more later. As for the thing with Giles, Rome wasn't built in a day, and it didn't fall that fast, either. It's complicated. Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
gill Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 10:30pm Liked

Love this chapter and the twist with Tara! Didn't see it coming. And the questions about his lack of pride in his soul gave me a shiver:

 

"Because people sometimes do amazing things for the wrong reasons"

 

Eee! Can't wait to see what comes next!

Author's Response on May 06, 2015 03:01pm

Big Grin I'm smiling because the line 'I didn't see that coming' shows up more than once in this story. You're right there with the characters on that one. But I'm also smiling because I love it when people notice the 'heavy-hitter' lines, the lines that are in-the-moment relevent, could have numerous meanings to the character, and/or could mean something else entirely to the reader. For example: pushing aside all the other possible interpretations, put that 'amazing things for the wrong reasons' thought of Buffy's in the context of Plan A (the ending of Chosen from canon). It makes you shiver all over again. Fun, isn't it? Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
MsXGingerXNinja Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 10:03pm Liked

Firstly I love your version of Spuffy they are both amazing :) and secondly Yay Tara i knew it wasn't going to stay hidden forever can't wait to see the friendship with Buffy and Tara :) I have a Love/Hate for Giles it's hard for me to except.. I love this story, can't wait for more to your next chapter Much Love Always Lilly xxx

Author's Response on May 06, 2015 03:17pm

This version of Spuffy comes down to the idea that everything Giles said about their relationship in the graveyard in Lies My Parents Told Me was right (connection to and reliance on each other), and everything he said about them individually (Buffy's an indecisive/weak leader, Spike's a hindrance/liability) was wrong. It wasn't a conscious, planned thing, but that's pretty much how it shook out. Obviously, you're not the only one with a complicated relationship with Giles. Me and the characters are right there with you.

[Report This]
tempestt Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 08:55pm Liked

I have to say that I'm really enjoying this story.  I don't usually read anything past mid-season 6 because by then it all seems too broken.  What I like about this is the dynamic of trust between Buffy and Spike.  The sense that Spike is the only one that Buffy can truly rely on.  While I'm enjoying that dynamic, I wouldn't be opposed to some hashing-out conversations between them.  There is so much history, and it seems like they've already come to terms with it, but when?  Before they traveled?  I feel like I'm missing an important building block in their relationship.  My other confusion is the vagueness of their physical relationship.  It almost seems like they are having sex, but not, and she only feels comfortable sleeping with him.  Are they just used to sharing a bed, and if so, when did that come about?

These should by no means be taken as critisim, but as questions.  Like I said, I'm really enjoying your story, and I know its already finished.  I can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 06:05pm

Fair points, all. No offense taken. In the next few chapters, the status of the physical relationship is addressed more clearly. Right now, she's sneaking over to the safe house for sleep, and that's it. It's implied throughout the story, though admittedly less clear in these first few chapters, that the sleeping on the cot together in late season seven was more than just the last couple of nights, as the TV show made it appear. It's one of the places where I stepped just a smidge outside of canon, filling in the literal time between episodes with a couple of weeks or so of cot-snuggling. I probably should have been more explicit with that in these early chapters.
As for hashing out the baggage, it comes in pieces, a little at a time. The relationship moves forward and the past is dealt with, but not at matching paces. The Queen of Denial and the idiot who's in love with her couldn't possibly do anything in a simple, straight-forward way, least of all where each other is concerned.

tempestt Replied on May 04, 2015 06:10pm

Thanks for clearing that up for me.  The fact they've been sharing a cot for longer than implied in the series makes so much more sense now.  I'm glad the baggage is going to be hashed out in bits and pieces.  It makes for a richer storyline, and still satisfies my need for completion Big Grin.  And you're right, they never do anything straight-froward.  That would be too easy.

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 08:12pm Liked

Enter Dawn ..yay.  Tara and Giles know at least the bare bones and I'm glad Tara does (hope SHE can be saved!),  Giles needs to get the stick out of his arse and put aside his prejudices.  

Glad Buffy is being a better sister to Dawn this go round.  Hope she remembers the trauma and clues Dawn in easily this time.

Lovely chapter.

Kathleen

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 05:18pm

I'm not sure if that 'yay' was sarcastic, but maybe that's my own canon Dawn ambivalence showing. Anyway, remember the advice Spike gave Buffy in chapter one about Dawn. How different will things be if they both take it? Thanks for the review! 

[Report This]
crazyjane Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 07:47pm Liked

Super update, really enjoying this so far.

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 05:19pm

Thank you! I hope you'll keep enjoying it!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 06:43pm

It irritates me that I didn't think about Tara. Of course their auras, would be different. Now they had to tell Giles and Tara, and that could lead to problems. It's good that Buffy is thinking about start to change some things and making it easier to work with Spike is a logical thing do. The Riley situation must be troubleing for Buffy, for her that relationship is way in the past but now she must sort of fake it untill she can get rid of him. We also saw, at the magic box, how hard it is to act like you don't have the knowledge you have, all those small things you don't think about.

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 05:30pm

I don't address it on a minute-by-minute basis, but I try (mostly through little references) to show the work they are putting into this mission. There is planning taking place. There are sacrifices being made (Buffy hooked up with Riley and Spike spending a lot of time alone being the big ones just now). Reactions and commentary are being filtered and self-censored. As for Tara, 2003 Willow REALLY should have thought of that, even if no one else did. Already, things aren't going exactly as planned... Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
Chrissel Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 06:02pm

So glad to see Dawn arrive.  I was wondering how they were going to get past Tara too!  I hope Giles can get past his distrust of Spike now that he will have a chance to see him in more of a helping role than he was the first time around but I fear it may be a bumpy road. Can't wait to get rid of the Riley factor too!

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 05:35pm

I'm not going to give away too much about the Giles issues, except to say that -like everything else- it isn't simple. I'm glad you're enjoying set up! I hope you like the follow through!

[Report This]
kittyfajitas Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 05:25pm Liked

Oh, this is getting good!  I am really worried about what Giles is going to do.  He's going to have a hard time accepting that Buffy knows what she's doing.  I can't help but think that even Dawn is in danger from Giles...

Really loving this story!  I love time travel, and it is nice to know that you've already got it written.  I never understood how long and how much work it takes to write a story until I started writing my own. 

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 05:48pm

When I first put this story down, I had written up to what is now chapter 5, with a few other scattered notes. When I picked this story up again, a lot of work went into editing/adding to the existing material, while I was writing the rest. (Whenever I'd get frustrated with writing a chapter, I'd take a break by going back to read it all from chapter one, editing as I went.) From the time I picked up this long abandoned story to the day I felt it was ready to begin posting was about six months, with itty bitty Diary of Days being my only other writing project during that time. It's taken for freakin' ever to get this monster slayed, and I'm still making little edits and tweaks to later chapters as I post these early ones, making sure I'm happy with each chapter before it gets too close to its posting date. You're totally right: It's hard to understand what goes into the writing until you do it. My appreciation for prolific authors has deepened considerably in the last six months.

Thanks for your support! Also, it hasn't gotten good yet. That is to say, we still haven't even hit the first of my (admittedly many) favorite scenes. We're still in the warm up stages.

[Report This]
hng23 Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 04:43pm

Excellent excellent chapter! Buffy stands up for Spike & doesn't take any crap from Giles; I think she's finally learned. I hope Giles is smart enough to leave it alone.

I am really enjoying this story, looking forward to more.

N

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 05:52pm

I'm thrilled so many people are interested in the direction things will go with Giles. When I first started writing Year 2000 Giles stuff, even I had no idea how it would play out. It ended up being far more interesting than expected. Thanks for reviewing! More soon!

[Report This]
Barthanes Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 04:42pm

Wonderful chapter. Great angst with Giles

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 05:53pm

Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying it!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Time's Colors on May 04, 2015 04:42pm Liked

So Tara is being adorably Tara and Giles is being annoyingly Giles. I htink Giles is in for a little re-education.....

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 05:55pm

Uh-huh. *zips lips* If you guys had any idea how much effort it's taking me to not spoil everything, you'd be surprised I'm answering reviews at all. :P Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.