Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
rainsrabble Reviewed Safe House on November 13, 2017 05:16pm

I was hoping for a Joyce fix too...oh my broken heart! I love their little clandestine meetings at the safehouse and the carefully thought out things they need to change. So well done. Buffy picking fights with Riley on purpose is delicious. And Buffy being so not impressed with Dracula...lol.

[Report This]
alive_or_dead Reviewed Safe House on January 23, 2016 10:20pm Liked

There's this thing that happens when I read something that I really really love. I sorta shake and I can't stop grinning. It's happening now :D

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed Safe House on January 22, 2016 05:43am Liked

I'm glad they're still snuggling. And for once Wistler did something remotely useful.

[Report This]
thenewbuzwuzz Reviewed Safe House on October 18, 2015 04:37pm Liked

I loved the whole story, but I remember stopping to admire this sentence from this chapter: "Human memory is too fallible for time travel work." I think it's the matter-of-fact way Whistler says it that gets me, and the implications: time travel is a kind of work that happens, it has its established requirements... there are creatures with much better memory than humans... I enjoyed the feeling that a whole lot of amazing things and possibilities exist in the background.

As for the rest of the story, I'm in complete awe of the way you've written Spike and Buffy's relationship, and the impact of time travel on people, both for the same general reasons: it's complex, multilayered, and it feels true.

Thank you a lot for creating this very cool thing! :)

Author's Response on October 18, 2015 09:11pm

The 'human memory' bit was one of those things that appeared in first drafts and stayed, completely unedited. I wanted a one-shot method of shoring up their memories, and Whistler's little blue zap was just the ticket. What he said about and around it showed up without planning and seemed to hit all the right notes -including the implucations you got from it- so I left it alone. We don't know much about Whistler, either in canon or in Echoes. For all we know, he's been at this game for centuries and has seen a LOT of time travel happen.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks bunches for reviewing!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Safe House on October 16, 2015 09:57pm Liked

Poor Spike. He has to feel lonely. The last part  is nice because Buffy thinks that home is where there's Spike.

 

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Safe House on September 08, 2015 08:34pm Liked

It's so sad that Buffy has to lose Joyce again - excellent use of Whistler - hope he shows up throughout the story. 

Author's Response on September 10, 2015 12:38pm

Oh, there will be more Whistler. And eventually, you'll share Buffy's slightly irrational feelings toward him.

[Report This]
SoaringClaws Reviewed Safe House on August 17, 2015 06:51am

The last two lines kind of hit me in the feels. The safe house is home to her because Spike is there! *crying sappy tears*

[Report This]
MrsTattooedButterfly Reviewed Safe House on June 21, 2015 07:25am Liked

Read

Heart

Devil

Popcorn

 

Author's Response on June 21, 2015 11:10am

Smile

[Report This]
13th Blackbird Reviewed Safe House on May 31, 2015 03:20am Liked

I adore Spike picking the house they trashed as thier safehouse. And Whistler. *snicker* Love it.

Author's Response on May 31, 2015 03:42am

I still crack up everytime I think of her staring up at that chandelier and asking if it's going to eventually end up in the basement.  Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
spiked_love Reviewed Safe House on May 04, 2015 03:08am

That is too freaking adorable...... I Loved it!!!! Bow

the whole exchange at the end with finding out that she has been cuddling Spike at night, and Spike looking around the house as he if saying that this is home. And Joyce, god I love that women and the by play with them all is the best. 

I can't wait for more!!! You are amazing 

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 12:41pm

Yea, yea. You got me. I have a schmoopy streak. There will be occasional cuteness. But like everything else, it's a roller coaster. And yea, the adorable moments you mentioned will have pay offs. Thanks for the kind review!

[Report This]
gill Reviewed Safe House on May 03, 2015 07:10pm Liked

fantastic to see all the hard work that should go into going back in time and not messing with the timeline! So was already loving it, but that last scene and line made me melt. So grateful for your frequent updates!

Author's Response on May 03, 2015 11:25pm

Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying it! As for not messing with the timeline, I'm not sure Spike and Buffy can be trusted to follow the rules. :P

[Report This]
gonnaregretthis Reviewed Safe House on May 03, 2015 02:49pm Liked

I'm enjoying the hell out of this.  I'm so frustrated on their behalf!  Keep it coming!

Author's Response on May 03, 2015 11:29pm

Just wait until they settle in and things start getting interesting. We're almost there! Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
xblacklilyx Reviewed Safe House on May 03, 2015 01:03pm Liked

Insanely loving this fic! Can't wait to see what changes they make 

Author's Response on May 03, 2015 11:30pm

Thanks! More soon!

[Report This]
magnus374 Reviewed Safe House on May 03, 2015 09:00am

It does make sense that Whistler would show up. They have thought about having to act normally, but they have to deal with the problem of not changing some things. One of the hardest problem with time travel must be the things you don't change, knowing what will happen, but also that it must happen. Buffy won't stop trying to save Joyce whatever Whistler is saying. It should be several possibilities to change that thing though, just having the operation another day could lead to a difference. We could also see how this situation with the soul make things more troublesome for Spike. Too bad he won't dare to spend time with Clem, he could need a friend.

It was good to see Joyce and Spiie interact. She could see some difference in both Buffy and Spike, so the others will probably start to notice things too. I also wonder how Dru will react, she should see how different he is.

Author's Response on May 03, 2015 11:38pm

The 'things you change on accident' can get travelers into trouble. Also, the baggage travelers bring with them... Among other possiblt problems. The interpersonal relationships could all change, because the Buffy and Spike they have aren't the ones they knew. Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
knightowl Reviewed Safe House on May 03, 2015 05:49am Liked

Squee

Author's Response on May 03, 2015 11:39pm

Woohoo! Enthusiastic happy dancing continues!!!

[Report This]
djjd Reviewed Safe House on May 03, 2015 04:37am

I so love this! Awesome writing! Great plot, loving me some time travel!

 

Author's Response on May 03, 2015 11:40pm

And we're just getting warmed up! Thanks for the review!

[Report This]
pfeifferpack Reviewed Safe House on May 03, 2015 04:03am Liked

Lovely!  Glad he and Joyce are getting on well (kinda wish they'd confide in her...give her an idea of what she'll miss.  Sorry she's going to die but some things are meant to be.  I think she'd find comfort knowing her girls would have Spike in their lives.).

Ahhh up to Dracula and Xander being a butt monkey.  Glad Whistler made those memories more etched, less chance for a mix up.

Kathleen

Author's Response on May 03, 2015 11:41pm

There will be more Joyce stuff coming. I think you'll enjoy it. Glad to know you're still reading!

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed Safe House on May 03, 2015 03:38am Liked

This is interesting. Thanks!

Author's Response on May 03, 2015 11:42pm

And thank you for the review!

[Report This]
zanthinegirl Reviewed Safe House on May 03, 2015 02:46am

Ooh!  Whistler!  I like this twist. It does make logical sense, and it neatly ties up a loose plot point.  And loving the location of their safe house!  Very clever!

looking forward to the next chapter!

 

 

Author's Response on May 03, 2015 11:54pm

I've seen season five time travel stories/rewrites that have Spike off Ben really early, erasing the Big Bad of the season. I didn't want to do that, but I felt I had to acknowledge that Spike would obviously have thought of it. As for the safe house, I just thought that would be a lot funnier than some random abandoned building. Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
ginar369 Reviewed Safe House on May 02, 2015 11:05pm Liked

I guess they thought they'd jump back and fix everything lickety split. No such luck. Some things have to play out just as slowly as they did before. Poor Spike, he's even more alone than before they came back. He really doesn't have anyone. At least he can spend time with Joyce. That's something.

Author's Response on May 03, 2015 11:58pm

Yea, the magic reset button is apparently a myth. Who knew? ;) Thanks for reviewing!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed Safe House on May 02, 2015 09:09pm Liked

I like the way Whistler popped in to help and more or less told them they'd had a good idea.

Shame that he had to tell them that they couldn't do anything about Joyce dying. I suppose that was to prepare Buffy. Not sure it'll stop her from trying though...

Buffy being a little self-centred as usual, poor lonely Spike...

Yes, trying to decide what to change and what they have to leave alone is going to be very tricky...

Author's Response on May 04, 2015 12:02am

I'm glad you're enjoying it! (Fighting the urge to converse with you about the points you made because I have a tendency to talk too much. I don't want to spoil my own story.)

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.