Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
MichelleZed Reviewed Plan B on July 24, 2017 01:48pm

"Fixing an unnatural slayer problem by making more unnatural slayers was about the most hare-brained scheme ever.”

Pretty much.

[Report This]
porn_girl Reviewed Plan B on February 23, 2017 07:18am

Just took my time rereading this tale for the umpteenth time.  Thank you for writing and sharing!!!

[Report This]
Katt Reviewed Plan B on September 01, 2016 01:58pm Liked

Can't WAIT for the long (I hope) sequel!!! This and the tidbits are completely awesome!!! You've definitely had this story added to my top five favorite time travel fics.. So freakin good!!!!

Katt

 

[Report This]
sosa lola Reviewed Plan B on June 21, 2016 08:16pm

I have really enjoyed this fic. What a ride! I have a soft spot for Time Travel fics and yours didn't disappoint at all. What I loved the most was how fair you wrote all the characters, you made us understand where they're coming from and they were real and true to their canon versions. I felt so bad for Willow throughout the fic. I enjoyed every single character here and how the story unfolded. 

I agree with you about S5 Xander being level-headed and open-minded. Fanfic writers seem to forget that Xander didn't judge Buffy when he thought she was sleeping with Spike in Intervention, that he sympathized with Spike and tried to lessen Buffy's anger towards him in the end of the episode, that he lit Spike's cigarette when Spike's hand was injured... even S6 where Xander was at his most anti-Spike stage had Xander telling Buffy that he felt sad for Spike because he understood having an unrequited love for Buffy, Spike was invited to Xander's wedding, Xander didn't object to having Spike at Buffy's birthday party and even played cards with him. So, he's not the hopeless case Spuffy fics portray him as. He just needs a little nudge. 

[Report This]
Vampyric Squirrel Reviewed Plan B on April 20, 2016 05:28pm

This in an amazing story. It is probably the best (and most confusing in a good way) time travel stories I have read. You were very thorough in your story. I love the twists and turns the plot took and I love how Buffy and Spike had to work for a relationship and didn't just fall into each others arms. I also liked that Joyce died because it pointed out that not everything can be changed and sacrfices will always have to be made. All in all a fantastic story. Great Job!

Anna

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Plan B on February 15, 2016 05:35pm

 Doing a refresher reading - I love this work - such an outstanding time travel treatment - 

[Report This]
alive_or_dead Reviewed Plan B on January 23, 2016 09:38pm Liked

Love this! I'm already getting those excited jumpy feelings I get when I'm reading a real fucking good story! :D

[Report This]
Sigyn Reviewed Plan B on January 22, 2016 04:34am Liked

What, is Giles only just realizing he screwed the pooch, and it's really hard to get that pooch unscrewed?

Good start of course. Yes, I was lonely and frustrated and my story was frozen, so I figured I'd dive in.

[Report This]
Bjarka99 Reviewed Plan B on November 18, 2015 10:08pm

I loved reading this story. I followed it as you published it and it brightened up so many hard mornings. Thank you very much for that!

Author's Response on November 22, 2015 11:16pm

Aww! Thank you! It's nice to know my work made your days better! I hope I can do that again for you!

[Report This]
annamatte Reviewed Plan B on October 16, 2015 04:10pm Liked

Great first chapter! I like it! The plan is very hard because many thing can be unintentionally changed, but it's their chance to make a better future.

[Report This]
Niamh Reviewed Plan B on September 17, 2015 12:06pm Liked

I rarely leave reviews. I rarely re-read stories right after I finish reading the story the first time, but in this case I have too. This story is just that bloody good. I'm struck with both jealousy and relief. Glad that I didn't write it and therefore have to match its excellence with the follow-up; and that it wasn't written when I was more active, because I would have been ridiculously intimidated.  This is a must read for any fan of the show -- whether the ship Spuffy or not. I can't begin to convey how spectacular I think this story is. I am excited to see what else you have in store for us. 

Author's Response on October 19, 2015 12:41am

I don't know how to respond to glowing reviews like yours. They leave me torn between scuffing my toes in the dirt, saying "Aw, shucks," and wanting to grab you in a soppy, teary hug, whispering "Thank you" in your ear over and over. This is my first novel-length story, and I'm ridiculously attached to it, as well as the universe it creates. I can't wait to continue it. (The only thing holding me back is the multiple plot bunny attack I'm suffering. I'm currently writing three different stories, working every day to get closer to getting them out of my head so I can focus on Echoes 2.)

I'm thrilled you liked this story enough to justify such a wonderful review. I can't thank you enough.

[Report This]
Lynnie_1 Reviewed Plan B on August 15, 2015 07:33pm Liked

Really enjoyed reading this complex but compelling story..Loved the nicknames and Spuffy code speak. A well thought out and executed plot that bought together all the main characters equally along with a couple of surprises. William's sister was a nice add. Looking forward to the sequal. 

[Report This]
490440 Reviewed Plan B on August 11, 2015 04:37pm

Wow. Great story and some interesting takes on the PTB.

Looking forward to your sequel.

Author's Response on August 12, 2015 11:40pm

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

I think the idea of the PTB as straight-up good guys makes for handy plot devices, but really isn't all that interesting. My PTB are more about balance and their own agenda. Their goals frequently fall into the "save the world from the big evil" range, so they default toward good, but not for moral reasons, not intentionally. Ambiguity is fun. :)

[Report This]
brovic Reviewed Plan B on August 09, 2015 11:27pm

Such an amazing story! Didn't want it to end. Disappointed there was no claiming as there was so much build up for it. Definitely looking forward to a sequel.... I normally don't read anything til I know it's all complete cuz I'm so impatient lol. Best read I've had in ages

Author's Response on August 10, 2015 12:28am

The claim is for the sequel. This one was less about the claim itself and more about getting Buffy ready for the giant super-commitment of it.

I'm glad you enjoyed Echoes! Thanks so much for reading!

[Report This]
Torrilin Reviewed Plan B on August 09, 2015 05:17pm Liked

Yeah, I really liked that reveal when it hit me over the head. It spawned some meta too coz that sub episode was such a waste. I think if they'd had the idea for it in an earlier season (coz really, the dramatic tension if it were a S3 Buffy episode instead of an Angel one?) it could have been a lot better.

Oh well. The ME writers wasted a lot of good ideas and good characters. Very sad. But there is fanfic to fix!

[Report This]
djjd Reviewed Plan B on August 08, 2015 01:51am

Great ride!  Looking forward to the next one!

Author's Response on August 08, 2015 09:24am

Thank you!

[Report This]
SM2001 Reviewed Plan B on August 05, 2015 04:46pm Liked

Awesome story! I began reading when Chapter 29 came out. I wanted to wait until the story was finished so I could read it all at once. Now I find myself going back and rereading because of key points and hidden sub plots I missed. 

Author's Response on August 05, 2015 09:26pm

Almost finished! (Finally!) But in your rereads, you've probably noticed a lot of little typos and such. I'll have to go back and work on that stuff later. BTW, I freakin' LOVE that Echoes is a story people have found worth rereading before it's even finished. There are a lot of little layers and long threads in this story, and it does my heart good to see people noticing and appreciating them. THANK YOU! Heart

[Report This]
djjd Reviewed Plan B on July 30, 2015 11:14pm

Still reading, still riding, still loving this story!

Author's Response on July 31, 2015 01:18am

Thanks bunches!

[Report This]
tucker_t Reviewed Plan B on July 28, 2015 09:13am

Just found this and read all chapters in one go - fabulous experience but now I have to wait for updates  :(   Am loving the ride !!

Author's Response on July 28, 2015 05:09pm

Fortunately, the waits are short. Approximately 48 hours between chapters, usually. I'm glad you've enjoyed it thus far!

[Report This]
Kimbersdm Reviewed Plan B on July 20, 2015 07:42pm Liked

I am a lurker.  I almost never post reviews.  Usually can't think of what to say beyond "Good story, more please.".  But you, you have.. well, I've laughed, growled, smirked, and I've cried.  I've also gone back repeatedly to see the "clues" I've missed.  I think I've read every chapter at least twice, and more than that on several key chapters.  Analyzing them. Great job. 

I even like your Xander.

Something (contingency plans) has occurred to me from the last couple of chapters (in a general, not specific way). And I could be wrong but, will we see Dru (I think maybe she did see) again soon? And did Tara save Spike's ashes? And is the bond still...yeah. Dusty, but not completely gone, ties and links. Hmm.  

Author's Response on July 21, 2015 03:12pm

Well, you have my apologies for the rereads. I haven't yet gone back to correct all the typos and associated goofs in the posted chapters, and some of the early ones really are a mess. But the compliment to the content is accepted graciously. If I'm putting you through a roller coaster of emotions and making you think, then I've done the story in my head a reasonable amount of justice. Thank you for saying so.

Poor Xander. He takes such a beating in Spuffy fics. I was kind to him. I gave him opportunities to change his perspective and he took them with surprising eagerness. But I still could have done better for him. I kept him on the edges of things, gradually moving toward the dynamic we started defining in Opened Locks: He's not a Time Scooby, and he's not going to be classified as such. He's a Slayer Scooby, who just happens to be close buds with the Time Scoobies. It's like I said to him, "Yeah, yeah. You're all cool and nice now, but you're still not in the core cast club. Buzz off."

With Dru, there are a lot of questions. Did she foresee Spike getting dusted? If so, why didn't she say so? If not, what did she think was going to happen? Is she on a killing rampage right now, like Angel suspects? Where is she? And why?

Kimbersdm Replied on July 21, 2015 05:11pm

No apologies needed.  I enjoyed going back to discover the clever details I had missed the first time.  You are doing a great job.

Dru is a seer... somethings have to happen just the way they happen?

I'm thinking about the changing of the OW prints. Buffy changed them twice; once in Battle Ready and again in Stripped Away.

Author's Response on July 21, 2015 07:00pm

Have another look at the Wilde print switches. Buffy switched them in Broken Armor, commenting that it would be a 'welcome home' for Spike (came home from the bunker, she assumed). Spike switched them back in Battle Ready, after noticing she'd done a switch during the lock box run. She has just switched them again, putting his 'welcome home' back in place. Hope?

Kimbersdm Replied on July 21, 2015 09:40pm

Ahhh.  I knew I missed something.  Thank you.

[Report This]
kimbosliceoflife Reviewed Plan B on July 18, 2015 03:54am

Whistler is such a dick...

This story is like crack. More please.

Author's Response on July 18, 2015 02:54pm

Anyone up for a game of Knock the Snot Out of the PTB Agent? *looks at sea of raised hands* I think that's kind of everyone, right now.

Next fix on the 20th.

[Report This]
jlh120 Reviewed Plan B on July 17, 2015 12:06am

oh my god

 

I really enjoy when time travel fics don't result in super-easy resolution.  Sure, sometimes it's nice wish fulfillment to read about some Scooby or another going back and saving everyone from Jesse to Amanda.  But then it's not the kind of story you think about and rewrite in your own head.  This story is the kind I'm still thinking about (and rewriting in my head--not because you didn't write it well but because it's so.damned.painful.)

Which is a long-winded(ish) way of saying this chapter was amazing.  I definitely didn't see that one coming!

Love the scene with Spike and the priest.  Love the reworking of the conversation amongst the Scoobies before the final battle.

Author's Response on July 17, 2015 12:59pm

I WILL NOT take 'rewriting in your head' as an insult. I promise. It's mental fanfic of my story. *looks around at where we're having this conversation* We all know fanfic is a compliment to the original work, right?

Wish fulfillment fics are fun, and I do enjoy reading them. But no, they don't make you think. I like making you think. I like making *me* think. That's a much deeper level of fun.

The scene with Spike and the priest was meant in part as a warning, to flip the switch of this possibility on in your head, and change your perspective for the duration of the chapter. Of course, it's the kind of detail that probably doesn't get noticed until the second time through the chapter. But on the second reading? The warnings are all over it:

The priest scene was a confession, Spike laying out a simple summary of his life story in about 30 seconds to a man of the cloth in a candlelit church.

The chapter echoes The Gift heavily throughout, but it has some bits of Chosen mixed into it, too. Giles climbs up to the crypt with 'The earth is definitely doomed' on his lips, and there's a "what do you want to do this summer" chat.

The scene at the house has Buffy calling Spike 'William, Lieutanant, and Sparky' in quick succession. The scene at the Magic Box (immediately after Buffy makes a 'dusting Spike' joke) includes Spike calling her 'Slayer, General, and love' in quick succession. A reminder of connected roles, of importance to each other.

The "previous act" isn't just about the Henry V quotes, or making a time travel joke, though that's what the characters mean by it. The previous act wasn't season 5. It was season 7. And how did THAT end?

[Report This]
kimbosliceoflife Reviewed Plan B on July 16, 2015 02:17pm Liked

But... he... it... what...

Good job, it took me awhile to pick my jaw up off the floor. It's been a loooong time since a fix did that to me. It's also the first time I've been compelled to write a review.

Pls update. Pls.

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 12:19pm

Incoherent? Jaw on the floor? Writing your first ever EF review to say so? Good. My work here is done.

Oh. Wait. You want me to tell the rest of the story, don't you? *shrug* I guess I can do that. The next chapter will appear on the 18th. See you then!

[Report This]
djjd Reviewed Plan B on July 16, 2015 12:36pm

Wow!!  Hanging on tight, wasn't ready for this loop, hope you have another up your sleve. 

Author's Response on July 16, 2015 12:12pm

I warned you about this roller coaster, didn't I? It's a wild one, for sure. Wink

Don't lose your grip, now!

[Report This]
devilscrayon Reviewed Plan B on July 15, 2015 01:20am

Simply loving this story.  Very sad to see Eddie go.  And very very happy to know a sequel is in the works; as I've mentioned maybe a few times, I adore your writing style.  I can't wait to see how post-Glory life will unfold for our time travelers.

Particularly loved the construction of this line:

“Some days, it is, Eddie. But others? You're sneaking into your own house, and hoping to get back to a cemetery alive.”

Author's Response on July 15, 2015 08:40pm

I think you've told me you love my writing, but I don't know if you've specified my style. THANK YOU. You've probably seen me say this before, but my background is in the theater. Pair that with my stripped-down, 'minimal unnecessary data' approach, and you get stories that are told almost entirely through dialogue, with some stage direction thrown in. There's very little actual narration in my narrative prose, only as much as I have to have, really.

I've got a brain full of ideas for the sequel. I'm so excited to sink my teeth into writing it. But we still have to wrap up Echoes 1, so it will have to wait for a bit. *whine* Why can't all these edits finish themselves? I want to go play in the connected sandbox already!

I spent a lot of time staring at that line you quoted. It always felt a bit clunky to me, but I never could figure out how to smooth it out. It's an interesting commentary on how twisted and backward this situation is in comparison to 'normal' life, and sisters up nicely with Willow's comment a couple of minutes before, showing how backward the situation is in comparison to even a SLAYER'S normal life. The line does its job, but I always thought it could have done so more smoothly.

[Report This]
djjd Reviewed Plan B on July 14, 2015 01:54pm

You know I love reading the reviews and your replies almost as much as reading the story.  Good to hear that this story is not ending soon.  Really happy that I don't have to wait to long between updates.  Love your work, thank you!!!

Author's Response on July 15, 2015 07:56pm

When Echoes began posting, I wasn't expecting such a huge reaction to it. I thought I'd have maybe 10 mostly one-liner reviews per chapter, at most. I've turned out to be averaging nearly twice that, with the vast majority being engaging conversations, with a heavy focus on character analysis (which I obviously adore). It's been overwhelming, but in a good way. The review pages for Echoes aren't just comments, they're discussions.

It's been hard to keep up with it all, to not leave any reviewer hanging, and try to vary my commentary on the same points (as many come up repeatedly), but it's been worthwhile. This level of reader engagement is amazing to experience, and a compliment unto itself, besides. I don't want to ever leave the impression I'm not very, very appreciative of the fact that my story is not only being read and liked, it's being THOUGHT ABOUT.

You guys rock.

[Report This]
juggler Reviewed Plan B on July 06, 2015 09:03pm

Well, I for one am enjoying the ride. Chapters with more than one tone don't usually bother me , and I do like longish chapters. Thanks again.

Author's Response on July 09, 2015 12:49pm

In that case, you're definitely reading the right story! Echoes is emotionally all over the place, sometimes on a scene to scene basis!

[Report This]
djjd Reviewed Plan B on July 06, 2015 12:43pm

I don't know why but I always thought 'death' was Spike and this time it might make sense.  Loving this as always.

 

Author's Response on July 06, 2015 02:57pm

Eventually, you'll understand every word the spirit guide said to Buffy. I can't say more just now. Glad you're still enjoying it!

[Report This]
djjd Reviewed Plan B on July 02, 2015 12:39pm

so so so good!!!!! Have I told you how much I love this story?

Author's Response on July 03, 2015 01:15am

A few times. But I don't get tired of hearing it. Big Grin Thanks!

[Report This]
jhiz Reviewed Plan B on June 30, 2015 04:31pm

"hardcore monogamist"... I love it.  That does describe Spike so eloquantly.  Since Buffy and Spike have been whisked back to the pasty-present (not sure how to refer to it since you have so many timelines covered), I hope that we will still get to see a bit more of Anne and Henry (not to mention getting to find our who exactly Joy belongs to... did I miss that somewhere?)

Author's Response on June 30, 2015 10:37pm

"Hardcore monogamist" was part of a Buffy made at the end of Tree Trunks that Xander echoed in Power Shifts. So I can't claim to have thought of it on the fly (when I was answering your review). Yup, Buffy and Spike have been sent back to their own time, as of the end of the porch scene at the Folly. We'll see them back in 2001 in the next chapter.

You won't meet Joy and RJ until the sequel, unfortunately. As of right now, the sequel is nothing more than a dozen or so scenes, a rough outline that could easily be drastically altered, and a partially filled-in timeline spreadsheet. I plan to take a break from the Echoes 'verse when this one is finished, and to have the sequel at least mostly finished before it begins posting, so it will be a while before you see it.

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.