Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
nmcil Reviewed Dance Partners on September 09, 2017 08:13pm

You did an admirable treatment for the Buffy and Giles separation - it works just right with your treatment thus farfor them in this story.  Tara is another outstanding character variation to the series events.  

I am enjoying reading this again very much.   

[Report This]
Pencilcomet Reviewed And Always on August 19, 2017 01:37pm Liked

 You're really good at creating a complex and intriguing plot. I could barely put this story down.

[Report This]
zabjade Reviewed And Always on July 26, 2017 09:43pm Liked

This is one of my favorite stories (though it left me many a sleepless night as I worried about the ultimate fate of all of those pillows :P ). You did a fantastic job with this, really building a relationship with nuances and depth. Great job.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed And Always on July 26, 2017 04:08pm

I really enjoyed my re-read of this long story! And I will for sure be reading the sequel. I'm looking forward to it.

Things I really enjoyed:

--the basic premise of the story: namely, that the solution for the First Evil provided in Chosen doesn't make sense, and that something else has to be done

--the slow build of trust for Spuffy, especially Henry. I hope he has plot things to do in subsequent stories.

--the Spuffy kids

A few other thoughts:

--treatment of Willow. Honestly, she was shunned so hard, I bet she'd be evil by now. You could drive someone into it, and if i were her, I'd kill them all. I don't mind Willow being dealt with that way, but it felt like they chose to act a certain way towards her and never suffered the inevitable fallout.

--the in-jokes and code between our main characters, while cute at first, eventually become a bit annoying for me. Essentially, I need some kind of code solution spreadsheet to have the least idea about what they're talking about, even in heavily plotted scenes. It started to become hard to buy that anyone would talk that way, even a couple with intimacy issues.

--the final chapters sort of dropped new plot threads on us without adding much to the story. They almost felt like their own separate thing. And the final conflict between Buffy and Spike (she was mad at him for dying) seemed awfully overblown, with both Buffy and Angel acting like it was a big revealable secret. I'm not sure the ending worked for me structurally.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Dead Languages on July 26, 2017 12:16pm

I think that instead of this story I'd like to read porn where Henry picks up some girl in New York, intending a one-night stand, but there's something about her, and this time, he falls in love, and can't handle it, and screws up terribly, and breaks his heart. Maybe he'll get her in the end, or not; I don't really care. Also, in their sex scene, he must use his super strength to have sex with her standing up.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Battle Ready on July 25, 2017 11:16pm

 "The house thee has built with her will stand."

So... that's wrong. But I'm talking to you in chat and you say there's an explanation for the thee/thou mixup in a later story. So I'll wait for that.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Slipped Words on July 25, 2017 06:02pm

... I honestly don't really get all the timey-wimey theorizing in this chapter; it got too abstract. Willow can magic a pregnancy? But now she won't? But they may have to go back in time to the past when she does it? But she hasn't done it yet? But WHAAAAAAAAAAA

Why can't they just wait for the Glory thing to be over, Willow to be trained, and then they can say, oh hey Willow, can you help us with a magical pregnancy? OR if they're not allowed to suggest it, Buffy could say, gosh, I sure wish I could have kids.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Surprise Preview on July 25, 2017 05:50pm

 I liked the visit with the kids! Immortal Spuffy, handsome kids, it all seems a little Bittersweets-ish but without the angst!

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Past Revelations on July 25, 2017 05:09pm

 "All that slayer power running loose would make the crack in the door from the resurrection spell turn into a wide open gate, complete with red carpet."

Yeah, really. That's sort of the problem with Chosen, isn't it? It makes literally no sense as a plot.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed True Stories on July 24, 2017 06:54pm

 Super great chapter. Love their interactions here.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Plan B on July 24, 2017 01:48pm

"Fixing an unnatural slayer problem by making more unnatural slayers was about the most hare-brained scheme ever.”

Pretty much.

[Report This]
Chrissel Reviewed Opened Locks on July 05, 2017 01:27pm Liked

Even the third time reading, this chapter has me bawling.

[Report This]
NickaML Reviewed And Always on April 07, 2017 11:27am

 Incredible I'm up Was at last my bedtime to finish this

[Report This]
Its all fluffy Reviewed And Always on March 13, 2017 11:41pm Liked

I was expecting a comedic romp and got a drama filled adventure. Dam good show. while I have read quite a few time travel fix it fics I do believe this is the first that had the act of going back affect the future of the characters. Now that sounds contradictory but what I mean by it is that the act of going back actually opened up plot lines beyond the end of the show. A lot of the time travel stories have the traveler going back and fixing the things they want changed, but the repercussions of the act never affect the 'Buffy' world beyond the shows ending. I'm probably not explaining it right... but I can't think of a better way to at the moment. So I'll leave it be. On to the Review.

The concept of the story is not original, in that it is about going back in time to stop the rise of The First. The use of Whistler was done very well. A lot of people tend to have him as a throw away character but you built a wonderful backstory around this character. It opened up a path that no one knew 'could' have existed. And he introduced a way to continue the shows narrative past its ending. Agents of the PTB would be an profound paradigm shift for Buffy's life. While the similarities between watchers and the PTB might seem similar the scale on which the two entities operate is so fundamentally different that it actually took me by surprise. The scene when Whistler is explaining 'catching the stones', and later when Buffy realizes that they were in Willow's 'pond'. It really brought into focus the types of games the Powers were playing. It went beyond battle fields and into a realm where metaphor wasn't just a colorful way to express a thought or idea but as literal interpretation of reality. Where being cryptic isn't just for mystery but because there is quite literally no better way to tell someone what it is that's going to happen or needs to happen. Now I'm fanboying it up just a bit but I can't help it. I 'am' a fan. Not only of the show but of you as well. I shall look for other stories you've written, and read those that have been finished. Until next time. Thank you for the story.

[Report This]
porn_girl Reviewed Plan B on February 23, 2017 07:18am

Just took my time rereading this tale for the umpteenth time.  Thank you for writing and sharing!!!

[Report This]
hannahlivi Reviewed And Always on January 21, 2017 09:20am

Just re-read. What a wonderful story

[Report This]
jadeunicorn Reviewed And Always on January 11, 2017 05:17pm

just read this for the second time I not good with words so I want to re-read it and get my thoughts together :) I love this story I thought it was great! and can't wait for the next installment. the only thing was well I know buffy loves Spike I mean she fought the power for him but it still seem like Spike love Buffy more then she love him. though I really loved this story and will be reading it again :)

[Report This]
Glumski Reviewed And Always on December 14, 2016 03:49pm Liked

I absolutely love this from start to finish. I'm not sure if it's your unique spin on the whole Spuffy thing or the compelling style of writing, or maybe the confusing time travel plot with far too many references that suddenly all make perfect sense, but this story is beautiful and definitely one of my favourites. And that much actually was obvious to me after only a few chapters. This is seriously great.

I'm a little conflicted about the characterizations though, or at least about Buffy's characterization. That's not to say that she was portrayed in a bad way - the exact opposite is the case - but I somewhat felt that she wasn't really like I would expect her to be after season 7. Maybe it's just me seeing things differently because I find this Buffy far more believable (and interesting) than the image I had in my mind. Or maybe there was a little more creative freedom involved than I thought it'd be, which again is perfectly fine.

Because this story is great. And I love it. So, so much. Wow.

Author's Response on December 15, 2016 08:19am

The Buffy characterization stems primarily from two things: I yanked her out of season seven just before that final, definitive fight and I then gave her the unheard of (in canon) gift of time to reflect and breathe by dumping her in season five. Pretty much everything else grew from that. That approach does admittedly lead to a characterization that simultaneously feels both in and out of canon. Ditto for Spike, really.

This story shouts "Season Five Fix It Fic!" from its rooftop, but the framing of the house is "what happens if the season seven versions of those two characters can (sort of) relax in the relative safety of an old, familiar situation?" Echoes was always more about rewriting Chosen than the The Gift, in both characterization and plot (hence the heavy use of Chosen references at key points, particularly leading into the Glory showdown, and that showdown ending as it did).

Thanks so much for the kind words. Echoes was my first completed multi-chapter fic, and thus holds a special place in my heart, despite the parts of it that make me cringe today. I love that you love it.

[Report This]
DizzyB Reviewed And Always on October 31, 2016 10:10pm Liked

One of the best stories I've read in a long time. Compelling storyline, lots of twists to keep you on your toes, great insights into character motivation ... loved the natural growth of the characters as opposed to the sudden "epiphany and instant change" some authors opt for instead ... eagerly anticipating the sequel. 

[Report This]
katana_fleet Reviewed And Always on October 26, 2016 12:18am

 I've been reading this story over the past week and I have no words aside from you are a BRILLIANT human being and this story is absolutely AMAZING. Absolutely fantastic.

[Report This]
spuffy chick Reviewed And Always on October 11, 2016 01:35pm Liked

Loved it!

[Report This]
All4Spike Reviewed And Always on October 07, 2016 05:59pm

I just spent a few enjoyable evenings re-reading this masterful story. Still one of my all-time favourite epics.

It's been over a year...still waiting for the promised sequel... {hint hint}

[Report This]
LavenderBlue Reviewed And Always on September 27, 2016 12:33am Liked

 I really love this world you have created; I am looking forward to what comes next.

Great Job!!  flowers

[Report This]
Katt Reviewed Plan B on September 01, 2016 01:58pm Liked

Can't WAIT for the long (I hope) sequel!!! This and the tidbits are completely awesome!!! You've definitely had this story added to my top five favorite time travel fics.. So freakin good!!!!

Katt

 

[Report This]
sosa lola Reviewed Plan B on June 21, 2016 08:16pm

I have really enjoyed this fic. What a ride! I have a soft spot for Time Travel fics and yours didn't disappoint at all. What I loved the most was how fair you wrote all the characters, you made us understand where they're coming from and they were real and true to their canon versions. I felt so bad for Willow throughout the fic. I enjoyed every single character here and how the story unfolded. 

I agree with you about S5 Xander being level-headed and open-minded. Fanfic writers seem to forget that Xander didn't judge Buffy when he thought she was sleeping with Spike in Intervention, that he sympathized with Spike and tried to lessen Buffy's anger towards him in the end of the episode, that he lit Spike's cigarette when Spike's hand was injured... even S6 where Xander was at his most anti-Spike stage had Xander telling Buffy that he felt sad for Spike because he understood having an unrequited love for Buffy, Spike was invited to Xander's wedding, Xander didn't object to having Spike at Buffy's birthday party and even played cards with him. So, he's not the hopeless case Spuffy fics portray him as. He just needs a little nudge. 

[Report This]
Lakitalover Reviewed Distant Travelers on May 28, 2016 02:38pm

Damn! You sure know how to hit readers right in the feels. TT TT I need to hug all the characters now.

[Report This]
Lakitalover Reviewed Stripped Away on May 28, 2016 02:35am

Even knowing you'd fix things somehow this chapter still made me cry. It confused me a bit too, but I think it's supposed to. Also, I love how Buffy and Spike keep switching the quotes around no matter what else is going on.

[Report This]
Lakitalover Reviewed Power Shifts on May 26, 2016 02:21am

I love the ending of this chapter. You have a real talent for creating great scooby moments that I wish we saw more of on screen (the deli one was great too.)

[Report This]
jenndifurry Reviewed And Always on May 24, 2016 03:46pm

As this story is at anoon end might want to fix this copy as a completed story.

Author's Response on May 26, 2016 12:40am

*confused* It's been tagged as completed since the last chapter posted. Or did you mean something else?

[Report This]
Kellydofc Reviewed And Always on May 03, 2016 07:12am Liked

Really wonderful story! I can't wait to read the sequel especially after the teaser that is. Christmas at the Folly. So many questions and potential theories are running through my head. You have made several days of being sick in bed infinitely more enjoyable.  Keep up the great work and I look forward to reading more in the future. 

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.