Reviews For Echoes of Beljoxa
Please login or register to review.
rainsrabble Reviewed Tree Trunks on November 19, 2017 08:11pm

Dawn and Spike arguing about history books is adorable. 

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Eternal Monkey on November 16, 2017 11:30pm

They worked that just right. Willow loves to learn.

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Old Friends on November 16, 2017 03:58pm

Spike being insightful makes me smile

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Lost Pupil on November 16, 2017 12:54am

I enjoyed the watcher diary entries. they add a whole nother layer to the whole thing

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Pivot Point on November 15, 2017 01:51am

I love that its not all rose garden. buffy and spike have some thorns. 

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Flash Forward on November 15, 2017 01:38am

lovely mither daughter talk. i really like that lone about the baggage. toss it or carry it together. so very buffy/spike

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed True Stories on November 15, 2017 01:18am

oh this was a lovely chapter. buffy standing up to xanders bs shut him down quickly. so glad spike is chipless...

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Heaven Sent on November 14, 2017 09:54pm

I love Spike having a snit and bringing Joyce flowers. So lovely. I am enjoying this so much :)

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Precious Gifts on November 14, 2017 03:44pm

It's amazing what a little honesty and love can do to a situation. This is a lovely fix.

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Freedman's Chains on November 13, 2017 06:48pm

Spike losing his cool at Buffy saying that she committed suicide was golden. This story is so lovely. It's totally interfering with my workday!

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Fair Trades on November 13, 2017 06:31pm

The Joyce thing is coming and it's breaking my heart! I don't know if I will be able to take it. And I love that her friends are not completely oblivious. Xander just gained like 3000 points in my book because at least he wasn't insisting she chase after Riley this time, her obvious reluctance changed his outlook and that is wonderful.

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Time's Colors on November 13, 2017 05:33pm

You do the Giles/Buffy relationship so well it makes me shiver. Lovely chapter. Tara catching on was Gold. It's starting to feel like the usual build up to the Apocalypse, more balls to juggle, more stress.

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Safe House on November 13, 2017 05:16pm

I was hoping for a Joyce fix too...oh my broken heart! I love their little clandestine meetings at the safehouse and the carefully thought out things they need to change. So well done. Buffy picking fights with Riley on purpose is delicious. And Buffy being so not impressed with Dracula...lol.

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Bounce Factors on November 13, 2017 04:45pm

I feel solid solidarity with this future Buffy about being squicked out by Riley. lol. This was a lovely chapter full of depth and details. I loved Buffy being mad at Willow for bouncing her to a kissing spot, and Spike reminding her she prolly didn't do it a purpose. Guilty conscious there makes her quick to blame.

[Report This]
rainsrabble Reviewed Plan B on November 13, 2017 04:12pm

Okay, this line was so perfect and so spot on:

“Trust me, this feels right.” she shrugged. “Besides, it’s a hell of a lot better than Plan A.”

He eyed her warily. “Glad you didn’t let Red try that one. Fixing an unnatural slayer problem by making more unnatural slayers was about the most hare-brained scheme ever.”

The attention to detail in this first chapter was a rare treat and well done. I especially liked the tension between Buffy and Giles. I so rarely see the consequences of his repeated betrayals of Buffy's trust in fanfiction. She loves him like a father, but he can't be relied upon to read her in, to trust her. It's so true to life it makes my heart ache and I love seeing it written well with no bashing. This is such a lovely first chapter and I'm so excited to read the rest.

 

[Report This]
paalme Reviewed And Always on October 17, 2017 03:15pm Liked

This fic... where do I even begin? The last few days, every spare moment I had I've been reading it (including some not so spare moments that were supposed to be for sleep). I was sucked in so deep that I didn't really notice time passing, I just needed to know what happened next. You have crafted such an amazing story and I love everything about it from the character/relationship development to all the little in-jokes they have. Great job, thank you so much for sharing it! 

[Report This]
paalme Reviewed Resident Strangers on October 16, 2017 12:16pm Liked

[Report This]
nmcil Reviewed Dance Partners on September 09, 2017 08:13pm

You did an admirable treatment for the Buffy and Giles separation - it works just right with your treatment thus farfor them in this story.  Tara is another outstanding character variation to the series events.  

I am enjoying reading this again very much.   

[Report This]
Pencilcomet Reviewed And Always on August 19, 2017 01:37pm Liked

 You're really good at creating a complex and intriguing plot. I could barely put this story down.

[Report This]
zabjade Reviewed And Always on July 26, 2017 09:43pm Liked

This is one of my favorite stories (though it left me many a sleepless night as I worried about the ultimate fate of all of those pillows :P ). You did a fantastic job with this, really building a relationship with nuances and depth. Great job.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed And Always on July 26, 2017 04:08pm

I really enjoyed my re-read of this long story! And I will for sure be reading the sequel. I'm looking forward to it.

Things I really enjoyed:

--the basic premise of the story: namely, that the solution for the First Evil provided in Chosen doesn't make sense, and that something else has to be done

--the slow build of trust for Spuffy, especially Henry. I hope he has plot things to do in subsequent stories.

--the Spuffy kids

A few other thoughts:

--treatment of Willow. Honestly, she was shunned so hard, I bet she'd be evil by now. You could drive someone into it, and if i were her, I'd kill them all. I don't mind Willow being dealt with that way, but it felt like they chose to act a certain way towards her and never suffered the inevitable fallout.

--the in-jokes and code between our main characters, while cute at first, eventually become a bit annoying for me. Essentially, I need some kind of code solution spreadsheet to have the least idea about what they're talking about, even in heavily plotted scenes. It started to become hard to buy that anyone would talk that way, even a couple with intimacy issues.

--the final chapters sort of dropped new plot threads on us without adding much to the story. They almost felt like their own separate thing. And the final conflict between Buffy and Spike (she was mad at him for dying) seemed awfully overblown, with both Buffy and Angel acting like it was a big revealable secret. I'm not sure the ending worked for me structurally.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Dead Languages on July 26, 2017 12:16pm

I think that instead of this story I'd like to read porn where Henry picks up some girl in New York, intending a one-night stand, but there's something about her, and this time, he falls in love, and can't handle it, and screws up terribly, and breaks his heart. Maybe he'll get her in the end, or not; I don't really care. Also, in their sex scene, he must use his super strength to have sex with her standing up.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Battle Ready on July 25, 2017 11:16pm

 "The house thee has built with her will stand."

So... that's wrong. But I'm talking to you in chat and you say there's an explanation for the thee/thou mixup in a later story. So I'll wait for that.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Slipped Words on July 25, 2017 06:02pm

... I honestly don't really get all the timey-wimey theorizing in this chapter; it got too abstract. Willow can magic a pregnancy? But now she won't? But they may have to go back in time to the past when she does it? But she hasn't done it yet? But WHAAAAAAAAAAA

Why can't they just wait for the Glory thing to be over, Willow to be trained, and then they can say, oh hey Willow, can you help us with a magical pregnancy? OR if they're not allowed to suggest it, Buffy could say, gosh, I sure wish I could have kids.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Surprise Preview on July 25, 2017 05:50pm

 I liked the visit with the kids! Immortal Spuffy, handsome kids, it all seems a little Bittersweets-ish but without the angst!

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Past Revelations on July 25, 2017 05:09pm

 "All that slayer power running loose would make the crack in the door from the resurrection spell turn into a wide open gate, complete with red carpet."

Yeah, really. That's sort of the problem with Chosen, isn't it? It makes literally no sense as a plot.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed True Stories on July 24, 2017 06:54pm

 Super great chapter. Love their interactions here.

[Report This]
MichelleZed Reviewed Plan B on July 24, 2017 01:48pm

"Fixing an unnatural slayer problem by making more unnatural slayers was about the most hare-brained scheme ever.”

Pretty much.

[Report This]
Chrissel Reviewed Opened Locks on July 05, 2017 01:27pm Liked

Even the third time reading, this chapter has me bawling.

[Report This]
NickaML Reviewed And Always on April 07, 2017 11:27am

 Incredible I'm up Was at last my bedtime to finish this

[Report This]
Please login or register to review.